Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Nursing Career Information

Nursing Career Links

 Nursing final.jpg

Nurses - Occupational Outlook Handbook

For an overview of a Registered Nursing Career along with similar other careers, check out the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Search for both career information and jobs through Ferguson's Career Guidance Center.

American Nurses Association

This is a link to the American Nurses Association, a nursing professional network.

Arizona Nurses Association

This is another professional nursing organization, specifically for nurses in Arizona.

National Student Nurses Association

This organization is for student nurses.

Nursing Career and College Page

Also see our Nursing page on our Career and College guide.



Featured Nursing Career Books in the Library


201 careers in nursing
by Fitzpatrick, Joyce J; Ea, Emerson E

9780826133823Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Emerson E. Ea201 Careers in NursingFew professions have evolved as much as nursing has, or offer as much variety, opportunity for growth, and potential for great personal and professional satisfaction. 201 Careers in Nursing , the new edition significantly expanding, updating and revising 101 Careers in Nursing , is your guide to careers in nursing practice, education, research, and so much more. Comprehensive in scope and for nurses at all levels, each career description includes educational requirements, core competencies, and required skills. Interviews with nurses working in a variety of roles and settings bring to life the breadth of opportunities available to nurses today. Important tips within the book will help when making your career choices, along with compensation range per degree, certification requirements, and earning potential for each career. 201 Careers in Nursing is an essential resource for nurses entering the profession, nurses considering a career change, and counselors facilitating career choices. Key Features: Includes 201 careers, each with career description, educational requirements, core competencies, and requisite skills Reformatted for ease of use Provides compensation range per degree, certification requirements, and earning potential for each career Features interviews with nurses in different careers in academia and practice settings Useful for students and nurses at all levels Sample Careers: Addictions Counselor Military Nurse Childbirth Educator Clinical Research Nurse Family Nurse Practitioner Medical-Surgical Nurse Telehealth Nurse Consultant Cruise Ship/Resort Nurse Disaster/Bioterrorism Nurse Fraud and Abuse Investigator Genetics Counselor Health Policy Analyst/Lobbyist Media Consultant - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - RT82 .F58 2012
201 careers in nursing Book Cover







Building your nursing career: a guide for students
by Waddell, Janice; Donner, Gail J; Wheeler, Mary M

9781897422151Janice Waddell; Gail J. Donner; Mary M. WheelerBuilding Your Nursing Career: A Guide for StudentsThe only career planning book available in Canada developed specifically for nursing students! This specialized workbook has been written specifically for nursing students as a tool to assist them in the process of planning their future career. Following the Donner-Wheeler "Career Planning and Development Model", the book aims to provide students with practical advice on how to get the most from their education, and subsequently, their careers. Students will learn how to: Develop a clinical learning plan Appropriately select courses Determine a foci for course assignments Balance extracurricular activities Establish a sense of control and direction over their academic career Develop a plan for future success Building on the success of the previous two editions, the fully-updated Third Edition of Building Your Nursing Career will serve as a valuable aid to any nursing student, no matter if they are just entering school or are close to graduating. "This inexpensive text is used from year one to fourth year...The self-assessment and reality check are great for preparing the students and compiling the work they've done in the program. When students interview, I get phone calls and rave reviews on the students because they are interviewing so well. Students are being offered jobs six weeks into senior practicum! Students have said this book is the most valuable book to have!" - Nursing instructor Kathryn Hyndman, Brandon University "I spent hours trying to decide what area of nursing I wanted to go into, as well as where I wanted my career to lead me. These have always been questions that I have found hard to answer. With so many different career options how could I choose? [This book] uses questions to encourage you to reflect about the things that you enjoy most, and ways in which you currently spend your time. This challenges you to consider ways in which you want to progress through your nursing education to gain the end result of a career that is right for you. It asks you many questions, with plenty of space to write your answers. The final chapter contains information about choosing your first job as a registered nurse, as well as interview technique and some of the possible questions that you may be asked. As a 3rd year approaching interview time I have certainly found this section handy! This is a good, valid resource tool, which is very useful when considering and challenging your personal future nursing career." - Nursing student Helen Rowe, Bournemouth University . Enhanced discussion of "Visioning" - a fundamental step in the Donner-Wheeler Career Planning and Development Model . Broader focus on learning styles and the importance of determining one's own style as a part of the Self-Assessment process . Practical advice on how to market yourself and be aware of your own projected image, including a discussion on social networking sites (Facebook, MySpace, etc.) and their new role in the hiring process . New content on e-portfolios and electronic resumes, and the importance of utilizing them as a tool in the career planning and development process . Updated discussion on mentors and their role in a student's academic career . Plenty of student examples and further resources - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - RT82 W32 2008
Building your nursing career: a guide for students Book Cover




A career in nursing: is it right for me?
by Katz, Janet R

9780323046336Janet R. KatzA Career in Nursing: Is It Right for Me?For anyone considering a career in nursing, this book is a must-read resource providing a unique look at the nursing profession. Personal accounts from men and women at all stages and in all specialties of nursing provide practical advice and realistic, often humorous perspectives on what it's really like to be a nurse. Simple, proven, common-sense tips, tactics and survival strategies cover every stage, from deciding to be a nurse, to choosing and being admitted to nursing school, succeeding academically, getting the first job, and thriving in a nursing career. Anecdotes and interviews with practicing nurses highlight the human side of nursing. The direct, conversational, and humorous writing style makes it easy to read. Dispels the myths, misconceptions, and stereotypes of the nursing profession. Includes the most recent data and statistics regarding the nursing shortage, job trends, health care systems, policy development and more. Explores the many aspects of college life. Advice helps you establish and achieve personal goals for success. Appendices direct you to print and online resources for educational information, ways to pay for college, and nursing-related organizations. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RT82 .K38 2007
A career in nursing: is it right for me? Book Cover




A man's guide to a nursing career
by O'Lynn, Chad E

9780826106858Chad E. O'LynnA Man's Guide to a Nursing Career Named a 2013 PROSE Award Honorable Mention in Nursing and Allied Health Sciences Winner of the Dr. Gene Tranbarger Writing Award from the American Assembly for Men in Nursing Though O'Lynn emphasizes a male perspective on becoming a nurse, this book should be required reading for anyone thinking about entering the nursing profession....The section on nursing education from the perspective of both students and instructors is worth the price of the book....Highly recommended."-- Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries "I love this book. It has inspired and motivated me to continue to do something for men in nursing at the college where I teach as well as for men in our delivery rooms and postpartum units. We need to move beyond women and children and include men as fathers to truly promote wellness for families." -- Janet Ierardi , MSN, RNC, CNE Assistant Professor Family Focused Nursing Lawrence Memorial/Regis College Nursing Program This is a nuts and bolts guide to a career in nursing--from the earliest consideration of a nursing career through education and clinical practice--designed specifically for men. Written by the author of Men in Nursing: History, Challenges and Opportunities , it was created at the request of numerous colleagues for a book that addressed the practical needs and concerns of men throughout their nursing career journey. The text presents the numerous career paths available in nursing along with a consideration of their financial benefits, job security, personal fulfillment, and the need for nurses who are adept at information management and high tech-skills. The history of nursing is discussed through biographies of nine remarkable male nurses, offering much needed historical role models. The guide discusses strategies for dealing with a rigorous nursing curriculum compounded by the challenges of anti-male sentiment that is sometimes present. It takes the reader from day one of nursing school through the licensing exam and also addresses the specific needs of second-degree and accelerated program students. The book discusses the obstacles that may result from cross-gender nursing communication and relationships with a focus on teamwork. Also covered are professional development and leadership concerns in light of criticism from some women that men advance for self-serving reasons or "on the backs" of women colleagues. Key Features: Discusses how to navigate the rigors of nursing school along with strategies for success Explains how cope with anti-male sentiment Describes how to create an application that stands out from the pack Helps male students to boost caring skills and touch patients in ways that reflect professionalism, empathy, and skill Includes helpful advice for landing a first job - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RT83 .O59 2013
Online
A man's guide to a nursing career Book Cover







Nursing resume: a job guide for nurses
by S.L. Page; McKinney, Anne

9781494305178S. PageNursing Resume: a Job Guide for Nurses Nursing Resume: A Job Guide for nurses is a complete book package to help nurses find a job. This book is short and to the point, and the entire package includes 10 premium resume templates (see inside book for a preview), 10 premium cover letter templates (they match the resume templates), a few basic traditional resume templates, and a sample resignation (or two weeks' notice) template. All templates are in .docx format and are best edited in the Microsoft Word software. If you do not have Microsoft Word, you can usually download a free trial. Google Docs may also work; however, formatting errors may occur if you use other programs other than Microsoft Word. These templates must be downloaded online using information at the end of this book. Why Do You Need a Custom Resume Template? Your resume is the very first step in getting a job. When you begin searching for a job, you'll ultimately be uploading or submitting resumes to various employers. If you turn in a poorly constructed resume-it could get tossed in the trash. You want a resume that will stand out and grab the hiring manager's attention. That's why I contracted a graphic designer to create 10 professionally designed resumes-all with nursing/healthcare themes. These resumes include all of the major sections. All you have to do is fill in your own information. They are completely customizable, and you can edit the text, add sections, or change them any way you want. You also get the 10 beautifully designed cover letters that match the resumes. You also receive a resignation template-for occasions when you need to leave your current job for a better opportunity. One resume template alone would be worth the price. However, you're going to receive all 10 professionally designed resume covers, along with cover letters and this short job guide. About the Book This book was designed to give you the information you need to strategically find a job. You'll get information on compiling your resume, tips on how and where to submit your resume, tips when sitting for an interview, tips on leaving your old job, and tips on advancing your career. This is not just a book-this is a job tune-up. The guide is short and to the point, and focuses on the information you need to start finding a job immediately. The author, S.L. Page, shares her insights into getting a job. She combines her personal experiences along with the advice of nurse managers she's spoken with through the years. What This Book Package Includes: 10 beautifully designed resume templates 10 matching cover letter templates A resignation/two weeks' notice template The paperback book (to help you find a job). Template Requirements Templates are in .docx format. It is best to use Microsoft Word to edit them. Google Docs, a free alternative, may work okay-but some minor formatting errors may occur. For absolute best results, we recommend using Microsoft Word to edit the templates. Template Licensing Terms The templates may be used an unlimited number of times for your own personal use. You may not resell, redistribute, or give away for free any of the templates included with this package. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - RT86.7 .P34
2013 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RT86.7 .P34 2013
Nursing resume: a job guide for nurses Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District