Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Education Career Information

Online Education Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Education, Training, & Libraries

This page contains career information and data on a wide variety of education careers.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions.



Featured Education Books in the Library


101 careers in Education
by Carlson, John S; Carlson, Richard L

9780826199843John S. Carlson; Richard L. Carlson101 Careers in EducationEducation is a rewarding area of work that provides some of the most diverse career opportunities of any field. Written by educators with real-world knowledge of the profession, this information-packed guide provides the career explorer with concise information on the necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook for over 100 careers in a wide range of education settings. This book describes careers that range from working with very young children to positions in traditional K-12 schools to educating adults in organizational settings. It discusses careers suitable for those who enjoy working with people as well as careers for individuals who are more comfortable with information or ideas. A particularly useful feature is information about alternative paths to working in education for those with degrees in related service professions. Careers outside of traditional settings include work in adult education, independent education, business or government settings, community-based educational services, and part-time opportunities, to name a few. Special attention is paid to positions in STEM and educational technology, one of education's fastest-growing careers, and careers of leadership including management, innovation, and accountability. The authors also provide a guide to self-assessment that helps readers to learn about those careers that best match their interests and temperament. Interviews with education professionals in a variety of arenas, such as middle school foreign language teacher, special education teacher, Head Start coordinator, and college athletic director, offer an in-depth look at different career opportunities. Key Features: Covers 101 careers including necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook Includes career options for new teachers, those changing careers within education, and those seeking education as a second career Includes many career options outside of traditional school settings Presents interviews with 23 individuals in different educational positions Provides self-assessment questions, information pertaining to professional development, and guidance on the job-search process - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - LB1775.2 .C38 2016
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - LB1775.2 .C38 2016
101 careers in Education Book Cover

















Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District