Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Art- Techniques

Digital Art


Digital art revolution: creating fine art with Photoshop
by Ligon, Scott

9780823095360Scott LigonDigital Art Revolution: Creating Fine Art with PhotoshopThere's no question that applications like Photoshop have changed the art world forever. Master digital artists already use these tools to create masterpieces that stretch the limits of the imagination--but you don't have to be a master to create your own digital art. Whether you're a beginner who's never picked up a pen or paintbrush, or a traditional artist who wants to explore everything a digital canvas might inspire, digital artist and arts educator Scott Ligon guides you and inspires you with clear instructions and exercises that explore all the visual and technical possibilities. Featuring the work of 40 of the finest digital artists working today, Digital Art Revolution is your primary resource for creating amazing artwork using your computer. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - N7433.8 .L54 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - N7433.8 .L54 2010
Digital art revolution: creating fine art with Photoshop Book Cover




Digital mayhem 3D landscape techniques: where inspiration, techniques, and digital art meet
by Evans, Duncan

9780240525983Duncan Evans (Editor)Digital Mayhem 3D Landscape Techniques: Where Inspiration, Techniques and Digital Art MeetThe secrets to creating stunning landscapes are at your fingertips with Digital Mayhem 3D Landscapes Techniques . Compiled by Duncan Evans, launch Editor of 3D Artist Magazine , Digital Mayhem features a variety of beautiful art from some of the finest digital artists working today. Inspiration and technique meet here as you learn how to create every type of landscape from harsh desert savannahs to icy tundra. Using a blend of showcase images, step-by-step and long-form tutorials, you will be guided through the featured artist's process so you can incorporate their techniques and workflow into your own projects. Not just another button-pushing manual or coffee table book, Digital Mayhem will help develop your critical eye for composition, choice of camera lens, lighting, rendering, and post production, allowing you to work more intuitively. With insight from some of the best digital artists in the world, Digital Mayhem will have you creating your own masterpiece in no time! Unique coverage on a variety of software allows you to hone your skills across different platforms. Illustrious and colorful artwork coupled with artist insight will both inspire and inform your creative decisions. Comprehensive companion website offers additional resources for you to further expand your skillset. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TR660 .D54 2013
Digital mayhem 3D landscape techniques: where inspiration, techniques, and digital art meet Book Cover




Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book: the official training workbook
by Chavez, Conrad

9780321822604Adobe Creative Team Staff; Adobe Creative TeamAdobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a BookCreative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Creative Suite 6 choose Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a Book from the Adobe Creative Team at Adobe Press. The 6 project-based lessons show readers step-by-step the key techniques for working with the applications in the Creative Suite. Readers learn what they need to know to create engaging layouts for print or web publishing. This completely revised Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium edition covers new tools and essential performance and workflow enhancements, including how to set up basic assets in Bridge CS6, use Content-Aware tools on images and edit video in Photoshop CS6, create accurate image tracings in Illustrator CS6, design print layouts and documents for mobile devices in InDesign CS6, and protoype and build a website in Dreamweaver CS6. nbsp; The companion DVD includes all the lesson files readers need to work along with the book. Each chapter contains a single project that builds on the reader's growing knowledge of the suite and how to use the suite applications together. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - NC1764 .L68 2014
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book: the official training workbook Book Cover




The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type
by White, Alex W

9781581157628Alex W. WhiteThe Elements of Graphic DesignThis very popular design book has been wholly revised and expanded to feature a new dimension of inspiring and counterintuitive ideas to thinking about graphic design relationships. The Elements of Graphic Design, Second Edition is now in full color in a larger, 8 x 10-inch trim size, and contains 40 percent more content and over 750 images to enhance and better clarify the concepts in this thought-provoking resource. The second edition also includes a new section on web design and new discussions of modularity, framing, motion and time, rules of randomness, and numerous quotes supported by images and biographies. This pioneering work provides designers, art directors, and students--regardless of experience--with a unique approach to successful design. Veteran designer and educator Alex. W. White has assembled a wealth of information and examples in his exploration of what makes visual design stunning and easy to read. Readers will discover White's four elements of graphic design, including how to: define and reveal dominant images, words, and concepts; use scale, color, and position to guide the viewer through levels of importance; employ white space as a significant component of design and not merely as background; and use display and text type for maximum comprehension and value to the reader. Offering a new way to think about and use the four design elements, this book is certain to inspire better design.Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - Z246 .W56 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - Z246 .W56 2011
The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type Book Cover




Learning web design: a beginner's guide to HTML, CSS, Javascript, and web graphics
by Niederst Robbins, Jennifer

9781449319274Jennifer Niederst RobbinsLearning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web GraphicsDo you want to build web pages, but have no previous experience? This friendly guide is the perfect place to start. You'll begin at square one, learning how the Web and web pages work, and then steadily build from there. By the end of the book, you'll have the skills to create a simple site with multi-column pages that adapt for mobile devices. Learn how to use the latest techniques, best practices, and current web standards--including HTML5 and CSS3. Each chapter provides exercises to help you to learn various techniques, and short quizzes to make sure you understand key concepts. This thoroughly revised edition is ideal for students and professionals of all backgrounds and skill levels, whether you're a beginner or brushing up on existing skills. Build HTML pages with text, links, images, tables, and forms Use style sheets (CSS) for colors, backgrounds, formatting text, page layout, and even simple animation effects Learn about the new HTML5 elements, APIs, and CSS3 properties that are changing what you can do with web pages Make your pages display well on mobile devices by creating a responsive web design Learn how JavaScript works--and why the language is so important in web design Create and optimize web graphics so they'll download as quickly as possible - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TK5105.888 .N489 2012
Learning web design: a beginner's guide to HTML, CSS, Javascript, and web graphics Book Cover




Books on Drawing








Drawing for the absolute beginner: a clear & easy guide to successful drawing
by Willenbrink, Mark; Willenbrink, Mary

9781581807899035313334658Mark Willenbrink; Mary WillenbrinkDrawing for the Absolute Beginner: A Clear and Easy Guide to Successful DrawingThis inspiring book makes drawing in a realistic style easier than you may think and more fun than you ever imagined! Authors Mark and Mary Willenbrink ( Watercolor for the Absolute Beginner ) cover it all--from choosing materials and the correct way to hold your pencil, to expert advice on the tricky stuff, like getting proportions and perspective right, drawing reflections, and designing strong compositions. (It's not as scary as it sounds...not with Mark and Mary as your guide!) At the heart of this book, a series of fun, hands-on exercises help you practice and perfect your strokes--24 mini-demos lead up to 9 full step-by-step demos. Each exercise builds on the previous one as you develop your skills, build your confidence, and enjoy yourself along the way. The lessons you learn by drawing simple subjects such as coffee mugs, clouds and trees will help you take on progressively more challenging matter like animals, still lifes, landscapes and portraits...the kinds of subjects and scenes you've always dreamt of drawing. This book is just the ticket for budding artists of any age. It's never too early and never too late to discover the pure joy of drawing! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - NC730 .W4885 2006
Drawing for the absolute beginner: a clear & easy guide to successful drawing Book Cover




Experimental drawing
by Kaupelis, Robert

9780823016228Robert KaupelisExperimental Drawing: Creative Exercises Illustrated by Old and New MastersStimulating exercises to help beginner to advanced students push the boundaries of traditional drawing. As with most art forms, it's best to comprehend traditional drawing techniques before you break the rules. But once you've mastered the basics, you may find that you gravitate to more abstract ways of rendering everything from still lifes to figures. However, this book is not only about avant-garde sty≤ it is experimental in that it forces the artist out of his or her comfort zone, whatever that might be. In this book, renowned New York University professor, Robert Kaupelis, shares the tutorials that he used with his students, offering illustrations of drawings and paintings from old masters to contemporary artists (and even some outstanding works from his students) to explain techniques. Covering everything from creating form through contour drawings to drawing with new technology, Experimental Drawing helps you zero in on concepts and form ideas that may take your work to a new and more intriguing level. Some of the innovative exercises you'll find here include:     * Drawing models while blindfolded    * Engaging in group drawing sessions popularized during the Dada era    * Utilizing different drawing materials like glass, plastic, feathers, string, sponges, metal dust, and more    * Reducing a post's brushstroke from six to one    * Using cross-contour lines for a more abstract still life    * Integrating a grid system on a carefully rendered scene to create an illusion of distorted space and movement    * And much more... This classic volume's inventive and stimulating projects will help serious artists develop their own vision and their own way to draw. Includes more than 200 spectacular drawings by old and modern masters from Michelangelo to Jasper Johns. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - NC660 .K34 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - NC660 .K34 2010
Experimental drawing Book Cover




Fashion drawing: illustration techniques for fashion designers
by Bryant, Michele Wesen

9780135094242Michele Wesen BryantFashion Drawing: Illustration Techniques for Fashion DesignersAppropriate for courses in Fashion Illustration and Introduction to Fashion. This book is a comprehensive, practical guide to fashion drawing for students and designers looking to improve their skills. With a contemporary and comprehensive approach, the book offers step-by-step guidance and shows how drawing is an integral function of the garment design process. Illustrated throughout with a wide range of images from key illustrators and designers, Fashion Drawing provides the instruction necessary to allow students to develop their own illustration style. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TT509 .B79 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - TT509 .B79 2011
Fashion drawing: illustration techniques for fashion designers Book Cover




Painting





Art fundamentals: color, light, composition, anatomy, perspective and depth
by Newell, Jennifer

9781909414006Gilles Beloeil; Andrei Riabovitchev; Roberto F. Castro; 3Dtotal.com (Firm) Staff (Editor)Art Fundamentals: Color, Light, Composition, Anatomy, Perspective and DepthA broad understanding of the fundamental concepts, conventions, and theories of art is essential when it comes to producing a successful piece of work. Art Fundamentals addresses key basic subjects such as color and light, composition, perspective and depth, anatomy, and portraying emotions in a series of insightful chapters. Find out about color relationships and how to choose colors that work well together. Learn about the Rule of Thirds, Rule of Odds, Golden Triangle, and Divine Proportions, all of which are key when it comes to creating a realistic and dynamic composition. Discover the power of storytelling in an image and how the slightest tilt of aneyebrow can transform happiness into anger. Written by some of the most experienced artists in the games and film industries, including Gilles Beloeil ( Assassin's Creed series) and Andrei Riabovitchev ( Prometheus and X-Men: First Class ), this title gives newcomers the tools they need to get them started on their artistic journey and offers veterans a chance to brush up on their theory. Gilles Beloeil is a senior concept artist and matte painter at Ubisoft Montreal who has spent the last several years working on titles in the best-selling Assassin's Creed video game series. Andrei Riabovitchev works for MPC in the United Kingdom as a concept artist and has an impressive r#65533;sum#65533; that includes Prometheus , X-Men: First Class , and Snow White and the Huntsman . - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - N7430 .A6967 2013
Art fundamentals: color, light, composition, anatomy, perspective and depth Book Cover







Acrylic Fusion : Experimenting with Alternative Methods for Painting, Collage, and Mixed Media
by Tranberg, Dan

9781592537525080665008009Dan TranbergAcrylic Fusion: Experimenting with Alternative Methods for Painting, Collage, and Mixed MediaThis unique reference book is designed to excite and motivate you to push beyond traditional techniques and to explore new approaches to painting. Acrylic Fusion frees you from traditional approaches to painting by exposing you to a diverse range of alternative techniques, unconventional processes, and the integration of unique materials that stimulate creativity and encourage experimentation. It's a must-have resource aimed at artists who make paintings, and it is also a great reference for any crafters, makers, and DIYers who use paint in their work, whether they make art journals, design greeting cards, or refinish furniture because the techniques can easily be adapted for many different kinds of projects and applications. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Acrylic Fusion : Experimenting with Alternative Methods for Painting, Collage, and Mixed Media Book Cover







Photography

Photography careers: finding your true path
by Jenkinson, Mark

9781138780293Mark JenkinsonPhotography Careers: Finding Your True PathPhotography Careersoffers students an indispensable guide to beginning their professional journeys as photographers. This book presents the variety of career options available to those entering the competitive and comprehensive world of photography. With the insight and advice from industry mavens and the author himself, Photography Careers will help you change the way you evaluate your strengths as an artist and find your place in the photography community. Features include: Interviews with successful young professional photographer in a wide range of photographic specialties, from fashion photography to cinematography, and other industry related fields such as retouching, fine art sales, and photo editing Tips for how to find unique approaches in a saturated market Best practices for student looking at graduate programs, a budding career, and as a personal business - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - TR154 .J46 2016
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - TR154 .J46 2016
Photography careers: finding your true path Book Cover




Photography: the new complete guide to taking photographs : from basic composition to the latest digital techniques
by Freeman, John

9781843402701John FreemanPhotography: The New Complete Guide to Taking PhotographsMany of the vast number of camera owners today aspire to taking better pictures than the occasional snapshot and yet most are often disappointed with the results. Photography leads and teaches by example with each technique examined in depth and accompanied by a clear and jargon-free text. Divided into sixteen modules, it teaches the correct approach to great picture making from holding the camera properly to manipulating images shot on the latest digital cameras. The step-by-step approach to popular themes-such as holidays, children, pets and the nude - are covered in depth. Inspiring creativity at the same time as providing easy-to-understand technical knowledge, manipulating a camera will become as much second nature as handling a car. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TR154 .F74 2005
Photography: the new complete guide to taking photographs : from basic composition to the latest digital techniques Book Cover




Digital nature photography: the art and the science
by Gerlach, John; Gerlach, Barbara

9780415742429John and Barbara GerlachDigital Nature Photography: The Art and the ScienceIdentifying a beautiful image in nature is easy, but capturing it is often challenging. To truly seize the essence of a photograph shot out of the studio and in the world requires an artistic eye and impeccable set of photographic techniques. John and Barbara Gerlach have been teaching photographers how to master the craft of photographing nature and the outdoors through their workshops and best-selling books for more than twenty years.  Now, equipped with brand new images to share and skills to teach, this celebrated photo team is sharing their latest lessons in the second edition of Digital Nature Photography . Notable revisions in this new edition include introducing the concepts of focus stacking and HDR, as well as expanded discussions of multiple exposure, wireless flash, RGB histograms, live view, shutter priority with auto ISO, hand-held shooting techniques, and the author's equipment selections. The inspiring imagery in this book covers a broader range of subjects than before including ghost towns, the night sky, animals, and sports, in addition to the classic nature photographs we expect from this very talented author team. This book is a comprehensive guide to one of the broadest subjects in photography, explained and dymystified by two respected masters. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TR267 .G475 2015
Digital nature photography: the art and the science Book Cover







Photography: an illustrated history
by Sandler, Martin W

9780195126082Martin W. SandlerPhotography: An Illustrated HistoryPhotography: An Illustrated History is a captivating account of how photography evolved from labor-intensive daguerrotypes in the mid-1800s to one of the most popular hobbies and respected art forms in the world today. Brimming with black-and-white and color photographs from throughout itsmultifaceted history, this volume not only documents technological developments, but also the phenomenal effect the craft has had upon journalism, industry, science, medicine, the military, and beyond. Featuring the accomplishments of pioneers such as Louis Daguerre, George Eastman, Julia MargaretCameron, Alfred Stieglitz, Edward Steichen, Margaret Bourke-White, and others, Photography: An Illustrated History presents an engaging history of photography through some of the most spectacular images ever captured on film. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - TR15 .S23 2002
Photography: an illustrated history Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District