Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Criminal Justice Books

Search for Criminal Justice Books

  
   

         




Featured Criminal Justice Books


The Routledge guide to working in criminal justice
by Ragonese, Ester; Rees, Anne; Ives, Jo; Dray, Terry

9780415810715Ester Ragonese; Anne Rees; Jo Ives; Terry DrayThe Routledge Guide to Working in Criminal Justice: Employability Skills and Careers in the Criminal Justice SectorEvery year thousands of people compete for employment in the UK. Employability and the ability to demonstrate the skills, attributes and behaviours required in a full-time job have become integral to securing employment and developing a career. This book aims to offer a one-stop guide to becoming employable and to careers in the Criminal Justice Sector and beyond, exploring the key organizations and employers in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, explaining how they operate and detailing how they are changing. Written in an engaging and accessible style by four experts on employability and the Criminal Justice Sector, this book combines useful hints on becoming employable with helpful insights from those working in specific sectors. The book covers careers in: probation, the police, prisons, the courts, prosecution services and advocacy, youth justice. Packed with hints and tips, advice from current students, useful web links and lists of recommended reading, this book provides a clear guide to the career decision-making and transition processes and covers the essential elements required to making the first step towards securing a job in the above sectors. It will be essential reading for those who want to forge a successful career in any area of the Criminal Justice Sector. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- CARCOLL - HV7419 .R346 2015
The Routledge guide to working in criminal justice Book Cover




Introduction to policing
by Cox, Steven M; McCamey, William; Scaramella, Gene L

9781452256610Gene L. Scaramella; William P. McCamey; Steven M. CoxIntroduction to PolicingAn informative and entertaining text that prepares readers for the unique challenges of 21st century policingFocusing on the thought-provoking, contemporary issues that underscore the challenging world of policing, this easy-to-understand text balances theory, research, and practice to give students a comprehensive overview of both the foundations of policing and the expanded role of today#65533;s police officers. The engaging writing style and stories from the field, coupled with unique coverage of the issues of policing in multicultural communities the impact of globalization on policing, make this book a must have for policing courses. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HV8139 .S32 2014
Introduction to policing Book Cover




Responding to domestic violence: the integration of criminal justice and human services
by Buzawa, Eva Schlesinger; Buzawa, Carl G; Stark, Evan

9781412956406Evan Stark; Eve S. Buzawa; Carl G. BuzawaResponding to Domestic Violence: The Integration of Criminal Justice and Human ServicesThis new edition explores the response to domestic violence today, not only by the criminal justice system, but also by social service and health care agencies. After providing a brief theoretical overview of the causes of domestic violence and its prevalence in our society, the authors cover such key topics as barriers to intervention, variations in arrest practices, the role of state and federal legislation, and case prosecution. Focusing on both victims and offenders, the book includes unique chapters on models for judicial intervention, domestic violence and health, and children and domestic violence. New to This Edition: #65533; An overview of public and non-profit social services and health care interventions is integrated with coverage of criminal justice responses. #65533; New student-friendly features include"Sidebars", victim and offender case studies, along with relevant figures and photos . #65533; New learning aids include summaries and review questions at the end of every chapter. #65533; A new online Student Study Site includes SAGE journal articles organized by chapter. Features: #65533; Both victim and offender's perspectives on domestic violence are explored. #65533; Coverage of diversity among victims helps readers understand how diversity impacts victim needs, preferences, and attitudes, as well as the effectiveness of interventions. #65533; Coverage of diversity among batterers explores how diversity affects the efficacy of various intervention strategies. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - HV6626.2 .B89 2012
Responding to domestic violence: the integration of criminal justice and human services Book Cover




Police officer exam
by Schroeder, Donald J; Lombardo, Frank A

9781438001333Donald Schroeder; Frank LombardoBarron's Police Officer Exam, 9th EditionThis updated manual presents information, practice tests, and strategies for the different question types used by police departments throughout the country. It includes-- Four full-length practice exams with all questions answered and explained Two official exams given by a large metropolitan police department Strategies for taking computer-based multiple-choice tests, as well as for the traditional paper/pencil multiple-choice exam New reading comprehension question type with word selection questions, plus strategies for answering these questions New, up-to-date sample forms and new illustrations An additional diagnostic exam presents questions like those that have appeared on recent entry-level exams used by police departments across the country. Also included are test-taking tips for all question types, suggested rules for effective study, and a detailed description of a police officer's duties. Updated chapters take into account the recent trend by police departments to rely on oral interviews and computerized testing when selecting police officers. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- CARCOLL - HV8143 .S34 2013
Police officer exam Book Cover




Police and Law Enforcement
by Chambliss, William J

9781412978590William J. Chambliss (Editor)Police and Law EnforcementFrom its beginnings in England as a constabulary, intended only to keep the peace rather than to make arrests, policing has had a tumultuous, controversial history. The police represent an essential law enforcement entity to some, while others see police officers as often corrupt, prone to unfair racial profiling, and quick to use unnecessary force. Police and Law Enforcement examines many aspects of policing in society, including their common duties, legal regulations on those duties, problematic policing practices, and alternatives to traditional policing. Topics in this volume include such hotly debated topics as accountability, arrest practices, bounty hunters, entrapment, Miranda warnings, police privatization, profiling, vigilantes, and zero-tolerance policing. The 20 chapters present the most hotly contested debates and offer solutions to potential and perceived problems. The Series: The five brief, issues-based books in SAGE Reference's Key Issues in Crime & Punishment Series offer examinations of controversial programs, practices, problems or issues from varied perspectives. Volumes correspond to the five central subfields in the Criminal Justice curriculum: Crime & Criminal Behavior, Policing, The Courts, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice. Each volume consists of approximately 20 chapters offering succinct pron examinations, and Recommended Readings conclude each chapter, highlighting different approaches to or perspectives on the issue at hand. As a set, these volumes provide perfect reference support for students writing position papers in undergraduate courses spanning the Criminal Justice curriculum. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main, North, & Online -- GENERAL - HV7921 .P65 2011
Police and Law Enforcement Book Cover




Careers in law, criminal justice & emergency services
by Shally-Jensen, Michael

9781619254756Salem Press (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (General Editor)Careers in Law, Criminal Justice and Emergency ServicesWritten for high school and undergraduate students, this series will help students explore their futures, and set goals in these exciting fields. This title examines 20 occupations in law and criminology. Careers covered in the text include Courts & Court Administration Judge & Attorney Law Enforcement & Investigation Corporate Security Computer Security Corrections Chapters provide an inside-look at the career options within a particular profession, including: Overview: Sphere of Work A Day in the Life Work Environment: Physical, Human, Technological Education & Training: Schooling, Licensing, Adult Job Seekers Earnings & Advancement Areas with the Highest Employment Levels Employment Outlook Associations & Business Contacts to Jumpstart Networking Plus... Famous Firsts, Occupation Specialties, Skills & Abilities, Fun Facts Conversations with Real Professionals, including "What I Wish I Had Known" - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main, North, & Online -- HV9950 .C36 2014
Careers in law, criminal justice & emergency services Book Cover




Law enforcement responder: principles of emergency medicine, rescue, and force protection
by Stair, Randy

9780763781491AAOS; Nelson Tang; Randy G. Stair; Geoff Shapiro; Dwight A. PolkLaw Enforcement Responder: Principles of Emergency Medicine, Rescue, and Force ProtectionThe Essentials of Law Enforcement Emergency Response Public safety professionals and emergency responders today face greater threats than ever before in our history. The traditional role of law enforcement has vastly expanded to require extraordinarily broad-based emergency response capabilities. Law Enforcement Responder: Principles of Emergency Medicine, Rescue, and Force Protection prepares homeland security leaders, law enforcement officers, security professionals, and public safety officials for the wide range of emergency responses they must perform on a daily basis. Law Enforcement Responder explores the vast array of law enforcement demands for emergency responses including resuscitation, trauma, and illness, as well as the essential considerations for special populations such as children and the elderly. The textbook addresses all of the competency statements in the National EMS Education Standards at the Emergency Medical Responder level, as well as additional lifesaving content specific to law enforcement that far exceeds the core curriculum. Law Enforcement Responder accommodates the tremendous diversity in the modern law enforcement mission by providing current and expert emergency medicine content in a highly adaptable format. Nationally recognized experts present key mission-specific topics, including police officer survival, tactical medicine, executive protection, active shooter response, canine first aid, military medicine, travel medicine, in-flight emergencies, ordnance ballistics, less lethal munitions, incarceration and prisoner care, fire-rescue and hazardous materials, and much more. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - RA645.5 .L39 2013
Law enforcement responder: principles of emergency medicine, rescue, and force protection Book Cover




Law enforcement ethics: classic and contemporary issues
by Fitch, Brian D

9781452258171Brian D. Fitch (Editor)Law Enforcement Ethics: Classic and Contemporary IssuesLaw Enforcement Ethics#65533;is an attempt to be at the forefront of engaging in the conversation about the future of law enforcement ethics, while examining many of the classic, enduring challenges posed by the profession itself. The conversation explores a host of foundational issues that include who should be hired as a law enforcement officer; what training should look like during the basic academy, as well as over the span of one#65533;s career; common ethical challenges, such as force and interrogations; what an ethical promotional process should entail; international best practices and problems; psychology of marginality; role of the media in promoting accountability; and the roles played by social learning, sub-culture, organizational policies, and PTSD in misconduct. 1. Each of the book#65533;s 18 chapters explores some major theoretical aspect of law enforcement ethics, while offering practical advice on what law enforcement agencies at the local, state, and federal level can do to create more ethical organizations.2. The contributing authors include not only academicians but clinical psychologists, professionals trainers, accreditation consultants, ethicists, medical professionals, and law enforcement supervisors and administrators representing a broad cross-section of agencies.3. Rather than relying on a single theoretical framework or discipline (e.g., sociology or criminology), the book takes an interdisciplinary look at the phenomenon of law enforcement ethics by offering contributions from authors in the fields of clinical psychology, medicine, criminology, criminal justice, law, ethics, organizational leadership, sociology, and public policy.4. Chapters begin with an opening vignetter or case study to help motivate the content to come.5. Chapters will conclude with summaries and 4-5 discussion questions. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - HV7924 .F576 2014
Law enforcement ethics: classic and contemporary issues Book Cover




Stress management in law enforcement
by Territo, Leonard; Sewell, James D

9781594603303Leonard Territo; James D. SewellStress Management in Law Enforcement, Second Edition"The newly revised second edition of Stress Management in Law Enforcement by Dr. Leonard Territo and Dr. James Sewell is once again a carefully selected collection of the leading articles on stress and its consequences for police personnel. This edition, incorporating new and relevant material, comprises nine sections which cover the following topics: What is Stress All About?; What Does Stress Mean for Cops?; Are There Ways We Can Tell It's There?; What Are Some of the Bad Effects of Stress on Cops?; How Does Stress Impact a Cop's Family Life?; How Does the Worst of the Worst Affect Cops?; What Are the Tools That a Cop Can Use to Better Handle Stress?; What Support is Available for Cops? and How Can the Bosses Better Help Their Cops?A brief summary precedes each section to assist the reader in readily identifying articles which might be of particular interest. Each article contains end-of-chapter discussion questions which are answered in detail in the instructor's manual. The sections are also accompanied by a glossary of terms and a list of additional recommended readings.This book will specifically interest the criminal justice academic community as an adjunctive resource in police management courses or as the primary text in upper division seminars on the topic of police stress management. This book will also be of considerable interest to police administrators and officers who must deal on a daily basis with the negative side effects of stress. Stress Management in Law Enforcement is relevant for police administrators as well as police psychologists, psychiatrists, counselors, social workers, and other mental health professionals who are called upon to provide guidance and assistance to police officers.This new edition is accompanied by a 200-page instructor's manual which provides the instructor with learning objectives; answers to the end-of-chapter discussion questions; a comprehensive list of videos dealing with police stress and how they can be purchased; and a list of recommended readings. ""It is a worthy addition to the library of any thoughtful student of police behavior and culture."" -Criminal Justice Review, on the first edition " - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - HV7936.J63 S77 2007
Stress management in law enforcement Book Cover




Community policing
by Espejo, Roman

9780737769524Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Gale Editor (Editor); Roman EspejoCommunity PolicingEach title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores community policing, including: what is community policing; effectiveness of community policing and neighborhood watch programs; how community policing can be improved; should citizens have the right to use deadly force?; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- PROCON - HV7936.C83 C6596 2014
Community policing Book Cover




Featured Reference Titles


The encyclopedia of police science
by Greene, Jack R

9780415970006Jack Raymond Greene (Editor)Encyclopedia of Police ScienceIn 1996, Garland published the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science, edited by the late William G. Bailey. The work covered all the major sectors of policing in the US. Since then much research has been done on policing issues, and there have been significant changes in techniques and in the American police system. Technological advances have refined and generated methods of investigation. Political events, such as the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 in the United States, have created new policing needs while affecting public opinion about law enforcement. These developments appear in the third, expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science. 380 entries examine the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practices. The added coverage makes the Encyclopedia more comprehensive with a greater focus on today's policing issues. Also added are themes such as accountability, the culture of police, and the legal framework that affects police decision. New topics discuss recent issues, such as Internet and crime, international terrorism, airport safety, or racial profiling. Entries are contributed by scholars as well as experts working in police departments, crime labs, and various fields of policing. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale Main & North Libraries -- REF - HV7901 .E53 2007
The encyclopedia of police science Book Cover







Justice statistics: an extended look at crime in the United States
by Hattis, Shana Hertz

9781598887853Shana Hertz-HattisJustice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United StatesBernan Press is pleased to present its first-ever comprehensive collection of justice statistics in the United States. This volume provides valuable information compiled by the Department of Justice, including its subsidiaries, the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Justice Statistics: An Extended Look at Crime in the United States is a special edition of Crime in the United States. It brings together nine key reports that fall under this category. Topics covered include capital punishment, rape and sexual assault among college-age women, correctional populations, crime in the United States, hate crimes, probation, parole, and law enforcement officers killed and assaulted. Tables in this volume provide a comprehensive account of each of these subjects. Each section contains statistical tables and figures highlighting the data, as well as a brief summary of the report's methodology and at-a-glance highlights of the most compelling information. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- REF - HV6787 .J87 2015
Justice statistics: an extended look at crime in the United States Book Cover




Encyclopedia of law enforcement
by Sullivan, Larry E

9781452265322Larry E. Sullivan (Editor); Marie Simonetti Rosen (Editor); Dorothy Moses Schulz (Editor); Maria HaberfeldEncyclopedia of Law EnforcementAlthough there is a plethora of studies on crime and punishment, law enforcement is a relatively new field of serious research. When courts, sentencing, prisons, jails, and other areas of the criminal justice system are studied, often the first point of entry into the system is through police and law enforcement agencies. Unfortunately, understanding of the important issues in law enforcement has little general literature to draw on. Currently available reference works on policing are narrowly focused and sorely out-of-date. To this end, a distinguished roster of authors, representing many years of knowledge and practice in the field, draw on the latest research and methods to delineate, describe, and analyze all areas of law enforcement. This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context. Key Features * Three volumes cover State and Local, Federal, and International law enforcement * More than 250 contributors have composed over 400 essays on all facets of law enforcement * An editorial board of the leading scholars, researchers, and practitioners in the field of law enforcement * Descriptions of United States Federal Agency law enforcement components * Comprehensive and inclusive coverage, exploring concepts and social and legal patterns within the larger topical concern * Global, multidisciplinary analysis Topics Covered * Agencies, Associations, and Organizations * Civilian/Private Involvement * Communications * Crime Statistics * Culture/Media * Drug Enforcement * Federal Agencies/Organizations * International * Investigation, Techniques * Investigation, Types of * Investigative Commissions * Law and Justice * Legislation/Legal Issues * Military * Minority Issues * Personnel Issues * Police Conduct * Police Procedure * Policing Strategies * Safety & Security * Specialized Law Enforcement Agencies * Tactics * Terrorism * Victims/Witnesses - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main, North, & Online -- REF - HV7921 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of law enforcement Book Cover




Encyclopedia of community policing and problem solving
by Peak, Kenneth J

9781452235295Kenneth J. Peak (Editor)Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem SolvingCommunity policing, as a philosophy, supports the systematic use of partnerships and problem-solving techniques to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues, including crime, social disorder, and fear of crime--as opposed to responding to crime after it occurs. Community policing expands the traditional police mandate. It broadens the focus of fighting crime to include solving community problems and forming partnerships with people in the community so average citizens can contribute to the policing process. Originating during police reform efforts of the 1970s, the philosophy of community policing is currently widespread and embraced by many citizens, police administrators, scholars, and local and federal politicians. What sorts of collaborative partnerships have evolved between policing agencies and the individuals and communities they serve? How do police departments engage in systematic examination of identified problems to develop effective responses? How have police departments aligned their organizational structures to best support community partnerships and proactive problem solving? Just how effective have efforts at community policing been? These questions and more are explored within the pages of this new reference work. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & Online -- REF - HV7936 .C83 E53 2013
Encyclopedia of community policing and problem solving Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District