Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Astronomy

Online Astronomy Resources

Online Science Databases

Astronomy Journals



Featured Books


Hubble: the mirror on the universe
by Kerrod, Robin; Stott, Carole

9781554079728Robin Kerrod; Carole Stott; David S. Leckrone (Foreword by)Hubble: The Mirror on the Universe The latest images from the Hubble Space Telescope's recent discoveries and fascinating updates. In its 20 years of viewing the heavens NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has traveled 2.8 billion miles, made more than 930,000 observations and snapped over 570,000 images of 30,000 celestial objects. It has forever changed how we view the universe and our place in it. This third edition of Hubble picks up the journey where the last edition left off. It includes a fascinating discussion on how the latest discoveries are revising scientific understanding of the universe, such as: The first direct observation of an "exiled" star. For every 100 million stars in the galaxy there is perhaps one hypervelocity star. A long-exposure image that captured the faint details of spiral galaxy NGC 4911 within the Coma Cluster of galaxies, which is 320 million light-years from Earth. A composite "mash-up" image of two colliding galaxies located about 62 million light-years from Earth, taken by the Hubble Space Telescope along with the Chandra X-ray Observatory and the Spitzer Space Telescope. Since the 2007 edition of Hubble , the Hubble Space Telescope has clocked millions more miles and taken thousands more images. This new edition describes how, like the Hubble Space Telescope's missions, our view of the universe is a constantly evolving journey. - Description from Syndetics
GCC North - GENERAL - QB500.268 .K47 2011
Hubble: the mirror on the universe Book Cover




Astronomy: a self-teaching guide
by Moché, Dinah L

9781620459904Dinah L. MochéAstronomy: A Self-Teaching GuideFor a generation, Astronomy: A Self-Teaching Guide has introduced hundreds of thousands of readers worldwide to the night sky. Now this classic beginner's guide has been completely revised to bring it up to date with the latest discoveries. Updated with the latest, most accurate information, new online resources, and more than 100 new graphics and photos, this Eighth Edition features: #65533;Website addresses throughout for the best color images and astronomy resources online #65533;Technical ideas made simple without mathematics #65533;A beautiful updated full-color, glossy insert with spectacular images #65533;An interactive format with learning goals, reviews, self-tests, and answers for fast learning - Description from Syndetics
GCC North & Online - GENERAL - QB45.2 .M63 2014
Astronomy: a self-teaching guide Book Cover




How I killed Pluto and why it had it coming
by Brown, Mike

9780385531092Mike BrownHow I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It ComingThe solar system most of us grew up with included nine planets, with Mercury closest to the sun and Pluto at the outer edge. Then, in 2005, astronomer Mike Brown made the discovery of a lifetime: a tenth planet, Eris, slightly bigger than Pluto. But instead of adding one more planet to our solar system, Brown's find ignited a firestorm of controversy that culminated in the demotion of Pluto from real planet to the newly coined category of "dwarf" planet. Suddenly Brown was receiving hate mail from schoolchildren and being bombarded by TV reporters--all because of the discovery he had spent years searching for and a lifetime dreaming about. A heartfelt and personal journey filled with both humor and drama, How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming is the book for anyone, young or old, who has ever imagined exploring the universe--and who among us hasn't? - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North - GENERAL - QB701 .B77 2010
How I killed Pluto and why it had it coming Book Cover




Space atlas: mapping the universe and beyond
by Trefil, James S

9781426209710James Trefil; Buzz Aldrin (Foreword by)Space Atlas: Mapping the Universe and BeyondCombining the cartographic power of National Geographic and the breathtaking imagery of Hubble, Space Atlas is a one-stop guide to the planets in the solar system and the outer reaches of the known universe, using the most up-to-date information and the latest imagery and mapping technology. From maps of the moon to diagrams of multiple universes based on the newest ideas in string theory--this volume takes the concept of an atlas and blasts it into outer space! With spectacularly colorful and awe-inspiring imagery from all the exciting space telescopes and probes, together with meticulously drafted and labeled maps of nearby planets and even some of their moons, Space Atlas is a wonder to behold and a volume to treasure. Prolific author James Trefil, an endowed professor of physics and veteran writer of science books, guides us through our solar system, then our Milky Way galaxy, and out beyond, at each stage offering pictures, maps, and diagrams, many conveying the newest information about the universe, never-before-presented in an atlas.   - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - REF - QB65 .T74 2012
Space atlas: mapping the universe and beyond Book Cover




Encyclopedia of the solar system
by Spohn, T; Johnson, T. V; Breuer, Doris

9780124158450Tilman Spohn (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Torrence V. Johnson (Editor)Encyclopedia of the Solar System The Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Third Edition -winner of the 2015 PROSE Award in Cosmology & Astronomy from the Association of American Publishers-provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact-with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact. The encyclopedia includes the latest explorations and observations, hundreds of color digital images and illustrations, and over 1,000 pages. It stands alone as the definitive work in this field, and will serve as a modern messenger of scientific discovery and provide a look into the future of our solar system. New additions to the third edition reflect the latest progress and growth in the field, including past and present space missions to the terrestrial planets, the outer solar systems and space telescopes used to detect extrasolar planets. Winner of the 2015 PROSE Award in Cosmology & Astronomy from the Association of American Publishers Presents 700 full-color digital images and diagrams from current space missions and observatories, bringing to life the content and aiding in the understanding and retention of key concepts. Includes a substantial appendix containing data on planetary missions, fundamental data of relevance for planets and satellites, and a glossary, providing immediately accessible mission data for ease of use in conducting further research or for use in presentations and instruction. Contains an extensive bibliography, providing a guide for deeper studies into broader aspects of the field and serving as an excellent entry point for graduate students aiming to broaden their study of planetary science. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main, North, & Online - QB501 .E53 2014
Encyclopedia of the solar system Book Cover




Urban astronomy: stargazing from towns & suburbs
by Scagell, Robin

9781770853256Robin ScagellUrban Astronomy: Stargazing from Towns and SuburbsThe ideal introduction to astronomy in the city. These days, skywatchers do not have to live close to a city or town center to suffer from the effects of light pollution. According to the National Park Service, city lights as far as 200 miles away diminish views of night skies. So even in a remote field, the sky above may be part of the "sky glow" of the surrounding city or town. Weather might be an issue too, as it is for all skywatchers. Nevertheless, there are many celestial delights to be seen. Urban Astronomy shows that nighttime lighting and the resultant brightening of the sky can be combatted and demonstrates how to make the best of poor conditions. Although the unaided eye may be able to pick out only a few hundred stars, binoculars or a small telescope will reveal many times that number. A little optical aid can also give you good views of every type of major astronomical object, including star clusters, nebulae and galaxies. For example, there are special filters that let through the light from distant nebulae while blocking out wavelengths infested by unwanted stray light from streetlights. Modern CCDs allow modest amateur telescopes to penetrate the urban sky glow and reveal sights that would have taxed larger instruments 30 years ago. The book also covers: How weather and pollution affect observing Specific tips to combat urban streetlighting The best objects to observe from cities and towns Deep-sky objects visible from urban locations in both the northern and southern hemispheres The range of telescopes and accessories for light-polluted skies CCDs and the rebirth of astronomy from cities and towns How to find dark skies. The book's nine chapters cover the basics of successful urban viewing, its "enemies" -- weather and streetlights -- and explain how to choose viewing targets and arm yourself with the right "weapons and ammunition" to find them. The book also covers indoor astronomy. Urban Astronomy is an ideal guide to skywatching while combating light pollution. It will show you how to get the most out of almost any sky. - Description from Syndetics
GCC North - GENERAL - QB63 .S28 2014
Urban astronomy: stargazing from towns & suburbs Book Cover




The Milky Way: an insider's guide
by Waller, William H

9780691122243William H. WallerMilky WayThis book offers an intimate guide to the Milky Way, taking readers on a grand tour of our home Galaxy's structure, genesis, and evolution, based on the latest astronomical findings. In engaging language, it tells how the Milky Way congealed from blobs of gas and dark matter into a spinning starry abode brimming with diverse planetary systems--some of which may be hosting myriad life forms and perhaps even other technologically communicative species. William Waller vividly describes the Milky Way as it appears in the night sky, acquainting readers with its key components and telling the history of our changing galactic perceptions. The ancients believed the Milky Way was a home for the gods. Today we know it is but one galaxy among billions of others in the observable universe. Within the Milky Way, ground-based and space-borne telescopes have revealed that our Solar System is not alone. Hundreds of other planetary systems share our tiny part of the vast Galaxy. We reside within a galactic ecosystem that is driven by the theatrics of the most massive stars as they blaze through their brilliant lives and dramatic deaths. Similarly effervescent ecosystems of hot young stars and fluorescing nebulae delineate the graceful spiral arms in our Galaxy's swirling disk. Beyond the disk, the spheroidal halo hosts the ponderous--and still mysterious--dark matter that outweighs everything else. Another dark mystery lurks deep in the heart of the Milky Way, where a supermassive black hole has produced bizarre phenomena seen at multiple wavelengths. Waller makes the case that our very existence is inextricably linked to the Galaxy that spawned us. Through this book, readers can become well-informed galactic "insiders"--ready to imagine humanity's next steps as fully engaged citizens of the Milky Way. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - QB857.7 .W34 2013
The Milky Way: an insider's guide Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District