Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Islam

Online Islamic Religion Resources

Online Religion Databases at the Library

Online Islam Journals at the Library

The Noble Quran

Online version of the Quran in both English and Arabic, includes Arabic recordings verses and several translations of the original text.



Featured Islam Titles

Find additional books by searching the Religion Book Resources section of this guide.



The Quran

9780814727232Majid Fakhry (Translator)An Interpretation of the Qur'an: English Translation of the MeaningsTo followers of Islam, the Qur'an is the literal word of God, revealed through Muhammad, the last of the line of prophets, containing all that is necessary to lead a life of righteousness. This new bilingual edition, approved by Al-Azhar University, the chief center of Islamic and Arabic learning in the world, offers a comprehensive and accurate rendering of the Qur'an into modern English. The clear, rigorous translation, one of the only English translations available by a native Arabic speaker, is laid out here in dual column format directly opposing the Arabic text to allow the reader to make careful verse by verse comparisons. * approved by Al-Azhar University, Cairo * easy-to-read translation into modern English * index of surahs (chapters) * English and Arabic headers * verse numbers within text in English and Arabic * explanatory footnotes in English - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- BP109
The Quran Book Cover




If the oceans were ink: an unlikely friendship and a journey to the heart of the Qur'an
by Power, Carla

9780805098198Carla PowerIf the Oceans Were Ink: An Unlikely Friendship and a Journey to the Heart of the QuranIf the Oceans Were Ink is Carla Power's eye-opening story of how she and her longtime friend Sheikh Mohammad Akram Nadwi found a way to confront ugly stereotypes and persistent misperceptions that were cleaving their communities. Their friendship-between a secular American and a madrasa-trained sheikh-had always seemed unlikely, but now they were frustrated and bewildered by the battles being fought in their names. Both knew that a close look at the Quran would reveal a faith that preached peace and not mass murder; respect for women and not oppression. And so they embarked on a yearlong journey through the controversial text.A journalist who grew up in the Midwest and the Middle East, Power offers her unique vantage point on the Quran's most provocative verses as she debates with Akram at cafes, family gatherings, and packed lecture halls, conversations filled with both good humor and powerful insights. Their story takes them to madrasas in India and pilgrimage sites in Mecca, as they encounter politicians and jihadis, feminist activists and conservative scholars. Armed with a new understanding of each other's worldviews, Power and Akram offer eye-opening perspectives, destroy long-held myths, and reveal startling connections between worlds that have seemed hopelessly divided for far too long. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- LEIREAD - BP80.P69 P695 2015
If the oceans were ink: an unlikely friendship and a journey to the heart of the Qur'an Book Cover




After the prophet: the epic story of the Shia-Sunni split in Islam
by Hazleton, Lesley

9780385523936Lesley HazletonAfter the Prophet: The Epic Story of the Shia-Sunni Split in IslamNarrative history at its most compelling,After the Prophetallows readers to grasp the power and depth of the Shia-Sunni split as never before. Even as Muhammad lay dying, the battle over who would succeed him as the ruler of the Muslim people had begun. And as Lesley Hazleton shows in her gripping historyAfter the Prophet, the battle has never ended. This is the foundation story of the Shia-Sunni split in Islam, a magnificent tale of power, intrigue, assassination, and passionate faith. Starting in Arabia in the year 632 and reaching its terrible breaking point fifty years later in Iraq, it still shapes modern headlines from Iran's Islamic Revolution to the Iraq civil war. The succession crisis set Muhammad's son-in-law, the philosopher-warrior Ali, in opposition to the controversial Aisha, Muhammad's favorite wife. She would defy all expectations by leading an army against Ali, urging on her warriors in the thick of battle. The ultimate breaking point came when soldiers of the first Sunni dynasty massacred seventy-two warriors led by Ali's son, Hussein, at Karbala in Iraq, forging the Shia-Sunni split in blood. Hussein's ordeal would quickly become the Passion story at the core of Shia Islam, and history would be transformed into sacred history. Balancing past and present, Lesley Hazleton shows how this story is alive in Middle Eastern hearts and minds today, as though it had just happened. Even as she tells what happened in the seventh century, she never lets the reader lose sight of where those events have left us, and why they matter so much now as the struggle for dominance in the Muslim world plays out in the cities and mountains of Iraq and Iran, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Placed squarely at the volatile intersection of religion and politics, history and current events, the vividly narratedAfter the Prophetis compulsive reading-and an emotional and political revelation for Western readers. From the Hardcover edition. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - BP55 .H42 2009
After the prophet: the epic story of the Shia-Sunni split in Islam Book Cover




The Lives of Muhammad
by Ali, Kecia

9780674050600Kecia AliThe Lives of MuhammadRecent outbursts sparked by a viral video and controversial cartoons powerfully illustrate the passions and sensitivities that continue to surround the depiction of the seventh-century founder of Islam. The Lives of Muhammad delves into the many ways the Prophet's life story has been told from the earliest days of Islam to the present, by both Muslims and non-Muslims. Emphasizing the major transformations since the nineteenth century, Kecia Ali shows that far from being mutually opposed, these various perspectives have become increasingly interdependent. Since the nineteenth century, two separate streams of writing, one hagiographic and the other polemical, have merged into a single, contentious story about the life of Muhammad. Protestant missionaries, European Orientalists, Indian and Egyptian modernists, and American voices across the spectrum, including preachers, scholars, Islamophobes, journalists, academics, and new-age gurus, debated Muhammad's character and the facts of his life. In the process, texts written symbolically came to be read literally. Muhammad's accomplishments as a religious and political leader, his military encounters with Meccans and Medinan Jews, and--a subject of perennial interest--his relationships with women, including his young wife Aisha, are among the key subjects writers engaged, repurposing early materials for new circumstances. Many of the ideas about Muhammad that Muslims embrace today--Muhammad the social reformer, Muhammad the consummate leader, Muhammad the ideal husband--arose in tandem and in tension with Western depictions. These were in turn shaped by new ideas about religion, sexuality, and human accomplishments. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - BP75.3 .A454 2014
The Lives of Muhammad Book Cover




The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy
by Leaman, Oliver

9781472569448Oliver Leaman (Editor)The Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic PhilosophyPhilosophy flourished in the Islamic world for many centuries, and continues to be a significant feature of cultural life today. Now available in paperback, The Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy covers all the major and many minor philosophers, theologians, and mystics who contributed to its development. With entries on over 300 thinkers and key concepts in Islamic philosophy, this updated landmark work also includes a timeline, glossary and detailed bibliography. It goes beyond philosophy to reference all kinds of theoretical inquiry which were often linked with philosophy, such as the Islamic sciences, grammar, theology, law, and traditions. Every major school of thought, from classical Peripatetic philosophy to Sufi mysticism, is represented, and entries range across time from the early years of the faith to the modern period. Featuring an international group of authors from South East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent, the Middle East and North Africa, Europe and North America, The Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy provides access to the ideas and people comprising almost 1400 years of Islamic philosophical tradition. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- REF - B741 .B56 2015
The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy Book Cover




The Qur¼an: an encyclopedia
by Leaman, Oliver

9780415326391Oliver Leaman (Editor)The Qur'an: An EncyclopediaA RUSA 2007 Outstanding Reference Title The Qur'an is the source of inspiration for one of the world's major religions, followed today by over a billion people. It plays a central role in Islam and ever since it appeared fourteen hundred years ago has been the subject of intense debate. Some of this has been carried out by Muslims and some by those hostile or indifferent to Islam, producing a very wide range of views. Authored by forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopediais to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception. Islam and the Qur'an are much in the news today and there is a public debate going on in which things are said about the Qur'an without much knowledge or understanding of the book. Every effort has been made to help the reader use the Encyclopediaas an investigative tool in Quranic studies. The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible. Entries are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies. There is a full index. The readership will include those seeking basic information on the Qur'an, however the substantial number of longer entries means that it will also be used by specialists. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- REF - BP133 .Q87 2006
The Qur¼an: an encyclopedia Book Cover




Misquoting Muhammad: the challenge and choices of interpreting the Prophet's legacy
by Brown, Jonathan

9781780747828Jonathan A. C. BrownMisquoting Muhammad: The Challenge and Choices of Interpreting the Prophet's Legacy" Misquoting Muhammad is a book I wish I had the money to buy for all my friends and colleagues, because it presents readers with a guide to Islamic thought that portrays it not as a fixed entity but as a complex product of utterly human machinations... Ultimately, Brown teaches a simple, if vital, lesson: Authenticity is elusive in religion, and those who claim it tend not to be searching for the truth but grasping for power." -- Pacific Standard Sometimes rumor, sometimes based on fact and often misunderstood, the tenets of Islamic law and dogma were not set in the religion's founding moments. They were developed, like in other world religions, over centuries by the clerical class of Muslim scholars. Misquoting Muhammad takes the reader back in time through Islamic civilization and traces how and why such controversies developed, offering an inside view into how key and controversial aspects of Islam took shape. Misquoting Muhammad lays out how Muslim intellectuals have sought to balance reason and revelation, weigh science and religion, and negotiate the eternal truths of scripture amid shifting values. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- BP161.3 .B77 2015
Misquoting Muhammad: the challenge and choices of interpreting the Prophet's legacy Book Cover




The autobiography of Malcolm X
by X, Malcolm; Haley, Alex

9780345379757Malcolm X; Alex Haley (As told to)The Autobiography of Malcolm XONE OF TIME 'S TEN MOST IMPORTANT NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY In the searing pages of this classic autobiography, originally published in 1964, Malcolm X, the Muslim leader, firebrand, and anti-integrationist, tells the extraordinary story of his life and the growth of the Black Muslim movement. His fascinating perspective on the lies and limitations of the American Dream, and the inherent racism in a society that denies its nonwhite citizens the opportunity to dream, gives extraordinary insight into the most urgent issues of our own time. The Autobiography of Malcolm X stands as the definitive statement of a movement and a man whose work was never completed but whose message is timeless. It is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand America. Praise for The Autobiography of Malcolm X "Malcolm X's autobiography seemed to offer something different. His repeated acts of self-creation spoke to me; the blunt poetry of his words, his unadorned insistence on respect, promised a new and uncompromising order, martial in its discipline, forged through sheer force of will." --Barack Obama, Dreams from My Father "Extraordinary . . . a brilliant, painful, important book." -- The New York Times "A great book . . . Its dead level honesty, its passion, its exalted purpose, will make it stand as a monument to the most painful truth." -- The Nation "The most important book I'll ever read, it changed the way I thought, it changed the way I acted. It has given me courage I didn't know I had inside me. I'm one of hundreds of thousands whose lives were changed for the better." --Spike Lee "This book will have a permanent place in the literature of the Afro-American struggle." --I. F. Stone - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- BP223.Z8 L57943 1992
The autobiography of Malcolm X Book Cover




What is Islamic philosophy?
by Jackson, Roy

9780415632034Roy JacksonWhat Is Islamic Philosophy?What is Islamic Philosophy? offers a broad introduction to Islamic thought, from its origins to the many challenging issues facing Muslims in the contemporary world. The chapters explore early Islamic philosophy and trace its development through key themes and figures up to the twenty-first century. Topics covered include: ethical issues such as just war, abortion, women#65533;s rights, homosexuality and cloning questions in political philosophy regarding what kind of Islamic state could exist and how democratic can (or should) Islam really be the contribution of Islam to #65533;big questions#65533; such as the existence of God, the concept of the soul, and what constitutes truth. This fresh and original book includes a helpful glossary and suggestions for further reading. It is ideal for students coming to the subject for the first time as well as anyone wanting to learn about the philosophical tradition and dilemmas that are part of the Islamic worldview. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - B741 .J29 2014
What is Islamic philosophy? Book Cover




Islam's Jesus
by Saritoprak, Zeki

9780813061788Zeki SaritoprakIslam's Jesus"Accessible and readable. Spotlights an important theological theme in a way that both illuminates its internal development in Islamic thought and presents it as a helpful basis for interreligious discussion. The topic is very much in need of teaching and discussion and is a fine example of 'common ground.'"--John Renard, author of Islam and Christianity nbsp; "Contains valuable and fascinating material about how classical Muslim theologians treated various aspects of Jesus and, in particular, the role of Jesus in Islamic eschatology. nbsp;Saritoprak brings new insights from contemporary Turkish thinkers to bear on the issues raised by the Jesus figure in Islamic narratives about the Last Days."--Marcia Hermansen, author of Shah Wali Allah's Treatises on Islamic Law nbsp; "A refreshingly easy read that makes a complex world of theology and interfaith relations accessible and enjoyable for readers of all backgrounds."--Jonathan Brown, author of Hadith: Muhammad's Legacy in the Medieval and Modern World nbsp; nbsp; Few people realize that Jesus was a prominent messenger of God in Islam and that Muslims believe in the return of Jesus. Even among Muslims, it is not well known that there are diverse interpretations of references to Jesus in the Qur'an and the Hadith. Aiming to remedy this, Islam's Jesus takes a bold yet candid look at the highly charged topic of Jesus's place in Islam, exploring some of the religion's least understood aspects. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Examining multiple intellectual traditions, Zeki Saritoprak makes clear the reality of pluralism in the history of Islamic religious scholarship. Actively engaged in efforts to promote interfaith dialogue and harmony, Saritoprak thoughtfully argues that the shared belief in Jesus presents an excellent opportunity for understanding between Muslims and Christians. Together, they constitute more than half of the world's population, and such understanding may be a foundation for peace. - Description from Syndetics
Online & GCC Main -- GENERAL - BP134 .J37 S27 2015
Islam's Jesus Book Cover




Muslim American women on campus: undergraduate social life and identity
by Mir, Shabana

9781469610788Shabana MirMuslim American Women on Campus: Undergraduate Social Life and IdentityShabana Mir's powerful ethnographic study of women on Washington, D.C., college campuses reveals that being a young female Muslim in post-9/11 America means experiencing double scrutiny--scrutiny from the Muslim community as well as from the dominant non-Muslim community. Muslim American Women on Campus illuminates the processes by which a group of ethnically diverse American college women, all identifying as Muslim and all raised in the United States, construct their identities during one of the most formative times in their lives. Mir, an anthropologist of education, focuses on key leisure practices--drinking, dating, and fashion--to probe how Muslim American students adapt to campus life and build social networks that are seamlessly American, Muslim, and youthful. In this lively and highly accessible book, we hear the women's own often poignant voices as they articulate how they find spaces within campus culture as well as their Muslim student communities to grow and assert themselves as individuals, women, and Americans. Mir concludes, however, that institutions of higher learning continue to have much to learn about fostering religious diversity on campus. - Description from Syndetics
Online & GCC North -- Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HQ1170 .M567 2014
Muslim American women on campus: undergraduate social life and identity Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District