Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

World Religions

Featured Titles from World Religions

Find additional books by searching the Religion Book Resources section of this guide.



The Oxford handbook of Sikh studies
by Pashaura Singh; Fenech, Louis E

9780198745082Pashaura Singh; Louis E. FenechThe Oxford Handbook of Sikh StudiesThe Oxford Handbook of Sikh Studies innovatively combines the ways in which scholars from fields as diverse as philosophy, psychology, religious studies, literary studies, history, sociology, anthropology, political science, and economics have integrated the study of Sikhism within a widerange of critical and postcolonial perspectives on the nature of religion, violence, gender, ethno-nationalism, and revisionist historiography. A number of essays within this collection also provide a more practical dimension, written by artists and practitioners of the tradition. The Handbook is divided into eight thematic sections that explore different "expressions" of Sikhism. Historical, literary, ideological, institutional, and artistic expressions are considered in turn, followed by discussion of Sikhs in the Diaspora, and of caste and gender in the Panth. Each sectionbegins with an essay by a prominent scholar in the field, providing an overview of the topic. Further essays provide detail and further treat the fluid, multivocal nature of both the Sikh past and the present. The Handbook concludes with a section considering future directions in SikhStudies. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- REF - BL2018 .O94 2014
The Oxford handbook of Sikh studies Book Cover




The everlasting flame: Zoroastrianism in history and imagination
by Stewart, Sarah; Mistree, Firoza Punthakey; Sims-Williams, Ursula

9781780768090Sarah Stewart (Editor)The Everlasting Flame: Zoroastrianism in History and ImaginationWith such ancient beginnings, Zoroastrianism is as remarkably enduring as it is venerable. It has also been influential beyond its own followers, interacting with other, younger faiths: especially their views on evil, messianic notions and ideas about the last days. The power of its sacred scriptures, the Gathas, and the resonance of the message of its founder, Zarathustra (or Zoroaster) transformed it from small beginnings into the principal religion of Iran until the advent of Islam. This richly illustrated book explores the chief themes of Zoroastrianism: its rise during the second millennium BCE; its doctrines, rituals and teachings; its growth into the foremost faith of the Achaemenid and Parthian empires; its consolidation under the Sasanians; its expansion east to China; and the impact it had on Judaism, Christianity and Islam. From Iran to the west coast of India, the story continues with the maritime exodus of the Zoroastrians and their settlement as an immigrant community (now called 'Parsis') under British colonial rule. With chapters by world-leading authorities, this is a vital record of the arts, literatures and cultures of one of the world's most fascinating religious traditions. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - BL1575 .E94 2013
The everlasting flame: Zoroastrianism in history and imagination Book Cover




A year in the life of a Shinto shrine
by Nelson, John K

9780295975009John K. NelsonA Year in the Life of a Shinto ShrineWhat we today call Shinto has been at the heart of Japanese culture for almost as long as there has been a political entity distinguishing itself as Japan. A Year in the Life of a Shinto Shrine describes the ritual cycle at Suwa Shrine, Nagasaki's major Shinto shrine. Conversations with priests, other shrine personnel, and people attending shrine functions supplement John K. Nelson's observations of over fifty shrine rituals and festivals. He elicits their views on the meaning and personal relevance of the religious events and the place of Shinto and Suwa Shrine in Japanese society, culture, and politics. Nelson focuses on the very human side of an ancient institution and provides a detailed look at beliefs and practices that, although grounded in natural cycles, are nonetheless meaningful in late-twentieth-century Japanese society. Nelson explains the history of Suwa Shrine, basic Shinto concepts, and the Shinto worldview, including a discussion of the Kami, supernatural forces that pervade the universe. He explores the meaning of ritual in Japanese culture and society and examines the symbols, gestures, dances, and meanings of a typical shrine ceremony. He then describes the cycle of activities at the shrine during a calendar year: the seasonal rituals and festivals and the petitionary, propitiary, and rite-of-passage ceremonies performed for individuals and specific groups. Among them are the Dolls' Day festival, in which young women participate in a procession and worship service wearing Heian period costumes; the autumn Okunchi festival, which attracts participants from all over Japan and even brings emigrants home for a visit; the ritual invoking the blessing of the Kami for young children; and the ritual sanctifying the earth before a building is constructed. The author also describes the many roles women play in Shinto and includes an interview with a female priest. Shinto has always been attentive to the protection of communities from unpredictable human and divine forces and has imbued its ritual practices with techniques and strategies to aid human life. By observing the Nagasaki shrine's traditions and rituals, the people who make it work, and their interactions with the community at large, the author shows that cosmologies from the past are still very much a part of the cultural codes utilized by the nation and its people to meet the challenges of today. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - BL2225.N2552 S883 1996
A year in the life of a Shinto shrine Book Cover




Jains in the world: religious values and ideology in India
by Cort, John E

9780199796649John E. CortJains in the World: Religious Values and Ideology in India"There is no doubt that the wealth of new data and ideas offered in this exquisite book provides the deepest insights yet into the contemporary religious world of Jain laity. It will serve for some time as a paradigmatic monograph for future empirical studies of Jain religious life." --Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies "Jains in the World is a significant and welcome ethnography of contemporary Jains in western India by the most prominent scholar of Jainism in North America. This book is a must for scholars of South Asian religions and will provide scholars of Hindu traditions fine grounding both in a central dialectic of Jain thought and in contemporary Jain praxis." --International Journal of Hindu Studies "A valuable addition to the literature on Jainism as a living faith. Since it has the additional merits of being clearly written, attractively illustrated, and free of unnecessary theoretical baggage, it should serve as a good introduction to this tradition for college students." --Journal of the American Oriental Society "A must-read for understanding, by and large, the ritual world of the Jains. He has succeeded in proving that the concept of well-being is as central to the Jains' moral universe as their more entrenched pursuit of the goal of liberation of soul from karmic bondage."--History of Religions "An essential read for students and scholars of Jainism. . . . it identifies and defines a realm of value in Jainism strongly alluded to by recent scholarship, but which, until now, had not been explicitly stated. For this reason Jains in the World will doubtless prove to be a fundamental turning point in the development of Jaina studies."-- The Journal of Religion This book presents a detailed fieldwork-based study of the ancient Indian religion of Jainism. Drawing on field research in northern Gujarat and on the study of both ancient Sanskrit and Prakrit and modern vernacular Jain religious literature, John Cort provides a rounded portrait of the religion as it is practiced today. - Description from Syndetics
GCC North -- GENERAL - BL1356 .C67 2011
Jains in the world: religious values and ideology in India Book Cover




Tradition, performance, and religion in native America: ancestral ways, modern selves
by Kelley, Dennis F

9780415823630Dennis KelleyTradition, Performance, and Religion in Native America: Ancestral Ways, Modern SelvesIn contemporary Indian Country, many of the people who identify as "American Indian" fall into the "urban Indian" category: away from traditional lands and communities, in cities and towns wherein the opportunities to live one's identity as Native can be restricted, and even more so for American Indian religious practice and activity. Tradition, Performance, and Religion in Native America: Ancestral Ways, Modern Selves explores a possible theoretical model for discussing the religious nature of urbanized Indians. It uses aspects of contemporary pantribal practices such as the inter-tribal pow wow, substance abuse recovery programs such as the Wellbriety Movement, and political involvement to provide insights into contemporary Native religious identity. Simply put, this book addresses the question what does it mean to be an Indigenous American in the 21st century, and how does one express that indigeneity religiously? It proposes that practices and ideologies appropriate to the pan-Indian context provide much of the foundation for maintaining a sense of aboriginal spiritual identity within modernity. Individuals and families who identify themselves as Native American can participate in activities associated with a broad network of other Native people, in effect performing their Indian identity and enacting the values that are connected to that identity. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - E98 .E85 K45 2014
Tradition, performance, and religion in native America: ancestral ways, modern selves Book Cover




Gods of the Maya, Aztecs, and Incas
by Roberts, Timothy Roland

9781567993516Timothy R. RobertsCentral and South AmericaWith their universal themes of love, loss, and justice, myths, which define the values and customs of a particular society, continue to have meaning for us hundreds and even thousands of years after they were first told. The lavishly illustratd volumes in this series of mythological tales and beliefs from around the world explore the cultures of ancient Greece; Scandinavia; Ireland, Scotland, England, and Wales; the Far East; Native America; Africa, and Central and South America.Gods of the Maya, Aztecs, and Incas reveals how the divine powers influenced the ancient civilizations of Central and South America. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - F1435.3.R3 R63 1996
Gods of the Maya, Aztecs, and Incas Book Cover




African Traditional Religion in the Modern World (2nd Edition)
by Thomas, Douglas E

9780786496075Douglas E. ThomasAfrican Traditional Religion in the Modern World, 2d EdAfrican traditional religion encompasses a variety of non-dogmatic, spiritual practices followed by millions around the world. Some scholars argue it is related to the Nubian religion of Egypt's Dynastic Period. In an expanded second edition, this book examines the nature of African traditional religion and describes common attributes of various cultural belief systems, with an emphasis on West Africa. Principal elements studied include sacrifice, salvation and culture, modes of revelation, divination, and African resilience in the face of invasion and colonization. The religious experiences of black people throughout the Americas are also covered. The author finds the cosmology, symbolism and rituals of the Yoruba culture to be the fundamental bases of African traditional religion, and draws similarities between the oral and written literature of West Africans and that of New World practitioners. The influence of Islam and Christianity is also discussed. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here . - Description from Syndetics
Online
African Traditional Religion in the Modern World (2nd Edition) Book Cover




Tao te ching
by Laozi

9780679776192Lao Tzu; Jane English (Translator); Gia-Fu Feng (Translator)Tao Te Ching"No one has done better in conveying Lao Tsu's simple and laconic style of writing, so as to produce an English version almost as suggestive of the many meanings intended.  This is a most useful, as well as beautiful, volume--and what it has to say is exactly what the world, in its present state, needs to hear." - Alan Watts RELIGION/ EASTERN STUDIES     This translation of the Chinese classic, which was first published twenty-five years ago, has sold more copies than any of the others. It offers the essence of each word makes Lao Tsu's teaching immediate and alive.     The philosophy of Lao Tsu is simple: Accept what is in front of you without wanting the situation to be other than it is. Study the natural order of things and work with it rather than against it, for to try to change what is only sets up resistance. Nature provides for all without discrimination--therefore let us present the same face to everyone and treat all men as equals, however they may be have.  If we watch carefully, we will see that work proceeds more quickly and easily if we stop looking for results.  In the clarity of a still and open mind, truth will be reflected.  We will come to appreciate the original meaning of the word "understand," which means "to stand under." We serve whatever or whoever stands before us, without any thought for ourselves. Te-- which may be translated as "virtue" or "strength"--lies always in Tao , or "natural law."  In other words: Simply be. - Description from Syndetics
Online & GCC Main -- BL1900.L3
Tao te ching Book Cover




The inner chapters: the classic Taoist text : a new translation of the Chuang Tzu with commentary
by Zhuangzi; Towler, Solala

9781906787998Solala Towler (Translator); Chuang TzuThe Inner Chapters: The Classic Taoist Text - A New Translation of the Chuang Tzu with CommentaryThe writings of Chuang Tzu stand alongside the Tao Te Ching as foundational classics of Taoism. Dating back to the fourth century BC, The Inner Chapter is full of fantastical tales that both entertain and provide guidance on living a good life-a gigantic fish that becomes a bird, a cook who never sharpens his blade, a magical being who lives in the mountains, and more. And now this heirloom edition preserves all the puns, riddles, and even jokes alongside stunning photographs that capture the tranquility of Chinese thought. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - BL1920 .Z58 2010
The inner chapters: the classic Taoist text : a new translation of the Chuang Tzu with commentary Book Cover




Mythology
by Hamilton, Edith

9780316341141Edith Hamilton; Steele Savage (Illustrator); Aphrodite Trust Staff; Apollo Trust StaffMythologyThe world-renowned classic that has enthralled and delighted millions of readers with its timeless tales of gods and heroes. Edith Hamilton's mythology succeeds like no other book in bringing to life for the modern reader the Greek, Roman and Norse myths that are the keystone of Western culture-the stories of gods and heroes that have inspired human creativity from antiquity to the present. We follow the drama of the Trojan War and the wanderings of Odysseus. We hear the tales of Jason and the Golden Fleece, Cupid and Psyche, and mighty King Midas. We discover the origins of the names of the constellations. And we recognize reference points for countless works for art, literature and culture inquiry-from Freud's Oedipus complex to Wagner's Ring Cycle of operas to Eugene O'Neill's Mourning Becomes Electra Both a reference text for scholars of all ages and a book to simply enjoy, Mythology is a classic not to be missed. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North -- GENERAL - BL310 .H3 1998
Mythology Book Cover







Confucianism as a world religion: contested histories and contemporary realities
by Sun, Anna Xiao Dong

9780691155579Anna SunConfucianism As a World Religion: Contested Histories and Contemporary RealitiesIs Confucianism a religion? If so, why do most Chinese think it isn't? From ancient Confucian temples, to nineteenth-century archives, to the testimony of people interviewed by the author throughout China over a period of more than a decade, this book traces the birth and growth of the idea of Confucianism as a world religion. The book begins at Oxford, in the late nineteenth century, when Friedrich Max M#65533;ller and James Legge classified Confucianism as a world religion in the new discourse of "world religions" and the emerging discipline of comparative religion. Anna Sun shows how that decisive moment continues to influence the understanding of Confucianism in the contemporary world, not only in the West but also in China, where the politics of Confucianism has become important to the present regime in a time of transition. Contested histories of Confucianism are vital signs of social and political change. Sun also examines the revival of Confucianism in contemporary China and the social significance of the ritual practice of Confucian temples. While the Chinese government turns to Confucianism to justify its political agenda, Confucian activists have started a movement to turn Confucianism into a religion. Confucianism as a world religion might have begun as a scholarly construction, but are we witnessing its transformation into a social and political reality? With historical analysis, extensive research, and thoughtful reflection, Confucianism as a World Religion will engage all those interested in religion and global politics at the beginning of the Chinese century. - Description from Syndetics
Online & GCC Main -- GENERAL - BL1853 .S84 2013
Confucianism as a world religion: contested histories and contemporary realities Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District