Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Online Geography Library Resources

Search for Online Geography Resources


  
   

Limit to Geography

      



General Reference Resources

Credo Reference

Provides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.

Global Road Warrior

This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.




Geography Article Databases

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.

GALE PowerSearch (Gateway)

A comprehensive periodical resource that includes 5,156 full-text titles with more than 39 million databases records. It includes both popular magazines, specialized journals, newspapers, and wireservices. Former title: Expanded Academic ASAP.

JSTOR

JOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.




Sustainability Database

GreenFILE

GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.




Physical Geography Sources

General Science Collection

With the General Science Collection, you can stay current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas.

Nature International Weekly

Science-related online access to full-text articles dating 1997 to the current. Additionally, various online methods are available, such as RSS feeds, blogs, and other timely technologies that provide current scientific information.

Science Magazine

Leading weekly general scientific journal, publishing primary peer-reviewed research and breaking science news.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.

Scientific American 1993-

The archive currently contains the entire editorial contents of Scientific American magazine, with fulltext and graphics, from January 1993 through to the present.




Cultural Geography Databases

Global Road Warrior

This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.

National Geographic Virtual Library

Now National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine  every page of every issue  along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.




Geography Journals at the GCC Library

List of Geography Journals



Video Resources

Films On Demand

Provides access to more than 6000 films in various subjects from Films for the Humanities & Sciences and other leading educational film vendors.

Kanopy

An on demand streaming video service providing more than 26,000 educational films each year. It contains works from distributors such as BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection and more.





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District