Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Meteorology / Climatology

Meteorology / Climatology Databases

Gale Reference - Science

This resource is a collection of scientific reference titles from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

General Science Collection

With the General Science Collection, you can stay current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas.

Nature International Weekly

Science-related online access to full-text articles dating 1997 to the current. Additionally, various online methods are available, such as RSS feeds, blogs, and other timely technologies that provide current scientific information.

Salem Science

Salem Science is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets related to science.

Science Magazine

Leading weekly general scientific journal, publishing primary peer-reviewed research and breaking science news.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.

Scientific American 1993-

The archive currently contains the entire editorial contents of Scientific American magazine, with fulltext and graphics, from January 1993 through to the present.




Featured Meteorology / Climatology Books

Go to the Book Search section of this guide to search for additional book titles.




Meteorology: understanding the atmosphere
by Ackerman, Steven A; Knox, John

9781449631758Steven A. Ackerman; John A. KnoxMeteorology: Understanding the AtmosphereEvery new copy of this title includes an online access code to the Meteorology, Third Edition Interactive Study Guide. Written for the undergraduate, non-majors course, the Third Edition engages students with real-world examples and a captivating narrative. It highlights how we observe the atmosphere and then uses those discoveries to explain atmospheric phenomena. Early chapters discuss the primary atmospheric variables involved in the formation of weather: pressure, temperature, moisture, clouds, and precipitation, and include practical information on weather maps and weather observation. The remainder of the book focuses on weather and climate topics such as the interaction between atmosphere and ocean, severe/extreme weather, and climate change. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - QC861.3 .A34 2012
Meteorology: understanding the atmosphere Book Cover




Atmosphere, clouds, and climate
by Randall, David A

9780691143743David RandallAtmosphere, Clouds, and ClimateThe atmosphere is critical to climate change. It can amplify shifts in the climate system, and also mitigate them. This primer offers a short, reader-friendly introduction to these atmospheric processes and how they work, written by a leading expert on the subject. Giving readers an overview of key atmospheric processes, David Randall looks at how our climate system receives energy from the sun and sheds it by emitting infrared radiation back into space. The atmosphere regulates these radiative energy flows and transports energy through weather systems such as thunderstorms, monsoons, hurricanes, and winter storms. Randall explains how these processes work, and also how precipitation, cloud formation, and other phase changes of water strongly influence weather and climate. He discusses how atmospheric feedbacks affect climate change, how the large-scale atmospheric circulation works, how predicting the weather and the climate are fundamentally different challenges, and much more. This is the ideal introduction for students and nonspecialists. No prior experience in atmospheric science is needed, only basic college physics. Authoritative and concise, Atmosphere, Clouds, and Climate features a glossary of terms, suggestions for further reading, and easy-to-follow explanations of a few key equations. This accessible primer is the essential introduction to atmospheric processes and the vital role they play in our climate system. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - QC981 .R36 2012
Atmosphere, clouds, and climate Book Cover




Climate change: biological and human aspects
by Cowie, Jonathan

9781107603561Jonathan CowieClimate Change: Biological and Human AspectsThe second edition of this acclaimed text has been fully updated and substantially expanded to include the considerable developments (since publication of the first edition) in our understanding of the science of climate change, its impacts on biological and human systems, and developments in climate policy. Written in an accessible style, it provides a broad review of past, present and likely future climate change from the viewpoints of biology, ecology, human ecology and Earth system science. It will again prove to be invaluable to a wide range of readers, from students in the life sciences who need a brief overview of the basics of climate science, to atmospheric science, geography, geoscience and environmental science students who need to understand the biological and human ecological implications of climate change. It is also a valuable reference text for those involved in environmental monitoring, conservation and policy making. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - QH543 .C69 2013
Climate change: biological and human aspects Book Cover




The Goldilocks planet: the four billion year story of Earth's climate
by Zalasiewicz, J. A; Williams, Mark

9780199593576Jan Zalasiewicz; Mark WilliamsThe Goldilocks Planet: The 4 Billion Year Story of Earth's ClimateClimate change is a major topic of concern today, scientifically, socially, and politically. It will undoubtedly continue to be so for the foreseeable future, as predicted changes in global temperatures, rainfall, and sea level take place, and as human society adapts to these changes.In this remarkable new work, Jan Zalasiewicz and Mark Williams demonstrate how the Earth's climate has continuously altered over its 4.5 billion-year history. The story can be read from clues preserved in the Earth's strata - the evidence is abundant, though always incomplete, and also oftenbaffling, puzzling, infuriating, tantalizing, seemingly contradictory. Geologists, though, are becoming ever more ingenious at interrogating this evidence, and the story of the Earth's climate is now being reconstructed in ever-greater detail - maybe even providing us with clues to the future ofcontemporary climate change.The history is dramatic and often abrupt. Changes in global and regional climate range from bitterly cold to sweltering hot, from arid to humid, and they have impacted hugely upon the planet's evolving animal and plant communities, and upon its physical landscapes of the Earth. And yet, through allof this, the Earth has remained consistently habitable for life for over three billion years - in stark contrast to its planetary neighbours. Not too hot, not too cold; not too dry, not too wet, it is aptly known as "the Goldilocks planet". - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & Online - GENERAL - QC884 .Z35 2012
The Goldilocks planet: the four billion year story of Earth's climate Book Cover




Climate and the oceans
by Vallis, Geoffrey K

9780691144672Geoffrey VallisClimate and the Oceans The oceans exert a vital moderating influence on the Earth's climate system. They provide inertia to the global climate, essentially acting as the pacemaker of climate variability and change, and they provide heat to high latitudes, keeping them habitable. Climate and the Oceans offers a short, self-contained introduction to the subject. This illustrated primer begins by briefly describing the world's climate system and ocean circulation and goes on to explain the important ways that the oceans influence climate. Topics covered include the oceans' effects on the seasons, heat transport between equator and pole, climate variability, and global warming. The book also features a glossary of terms, suggestions for further reading, and easy-to-follow mathematical treatments. Climate and the Oceans is the first place to turn to get the essential facts about this crucial aspect of the Earth's climate system. Ideal for students and nonspecialists alike, this primer offers the most concise and up-to-date overview of the subject available. The best primer on the oceans and climate Succinct and self-contained Accessible to students and nonspecialists Serves as a bridge to more advanced material - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & Online - GENERAL - GC190.2 .V35 2010
Climate and the oceans Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District