Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Physical Geography

Physical Geography Databases

Gale Reference - Science

This resource is a collection of scientific reference titles from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

General Science Collection

With the General Science Collection, you can stay current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Nature International Weekly

Science-related online access to full-text articles dating 1997 to the current. Additionally, various online methods are available, such as RSS feeds, blogs, and other timely technologies that provide current scientific information.

Salem Science

Salem Science is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets related to science.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.

Scientific American 1993-

The archive currently contains the entire editorial contents of Scientific American magazine, with fulltext and graphics, from January 1993 through to the present.




Featured Physical Geography Books

Go to the Book Search section of this guide to search for additional book titles.




Landscape evolution in the United States: an introduction to the geography, geology, and natural history
by DiPietro, Joseph A

9780123977991Joseph A. DiPietroLandscape Evolution in the United States: An Introduction to the Geography, Geology, and Natural History Landscape Evolution in the United States is an accessible text that balances interdisciplinary theory and application within the physical geography, geology, geomorphology, and climatology of the United States. Landscape evolution refers to the changing terrain of any given area of the Earth's crust over time. Common causes of evolution (or geomorphology-land morphing into a different size or shape over time) are glacial erosion and deposition, volcanism, earthquakes, tsunamis, tornadoes, sediment transport into rivers, landslides, climate change, and other surface processes. The book is divided into three main parts covering landscape components and how they are affected by climactic, tectonic and ocean systems; varying structural provinces including the Cascadia Volcanic Arc and California Transpressional System; and the formation and collapse of mountain systems. The vast diversity of terrain and landscapes across the United States makes this an ideal tool for geoscientists worldwide who are researching the country's geological evolution over the past several billion years. Presents the complexities of physical geography, geology, geomorphology, and climatology of the United States through an interdisciplinary, highly accessible approach Offers more than 250 full-color figures, maps and photographs that capture the systematic interaction of land, rock, rivers, glaciers, global wind patterns and climate Provides a thorough assessment of the logic, rationale, and tools required to understand how to interpret landscape and the geological history of the Earth Features exercises that conclude each chapter, aiding in the retention of key concepts - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - QH76 .D56 2013
Landscape evolution in the United States: an introduction to the geography, geology, and natural history Book Cover




21st Century Geography, 2012
by Joseph P. Stoltman

9781412974646Joseph P. Stoltman (Editor)21st Century Geography: A Reference HandbookVia approximately 80 entries, the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on geography highlights the most important topics, issues, questions and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field need to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter. Key features: - Curricular-driven to provide students with initial footholds on topics of interest in writing essays and dissertations, in consulting to determine directions to take in pursuing a senior thesis, graduate degree and so on - Comprehensive to offer full coverage of major subthemes and subfields within the discipline of geography, including regional geography, physical geography, global change, human and cultural geography, economic geography and locational analysis, political geography, geospatial technology, cartography, spatial thinking, research methodology, geographical education and more. - Uniform in chapter structure to make it easy for students to locate key information, with a more-or-less common chapter format of Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography and Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References. - Available in print and electronic formats to provide students with convenient, easy access. - Description from Syndetics
Online
21st Century Geography, 2012 Book Cover




The revenge of geography: what the map tells us about coming conflicts and the battle against fate
by Kaplan, Robert D

9781400069835Robert D. KaplanThe Revenge of Geography: What the Map Tells Us about Coming Conflicts and the Battle Against FateIn this provocative, startling book, Robert D. Kaplan, the bestselling author of Monsoon and Balkan Ghosts, offers a revelatory new prism through which to view global upheavals and to understand what lies ahead for continents and countries around the world.   In The Revenge of Geography, Kaplan builds on the insights, discoveries, and theories of great geographers and geopolitical thinkers of the near and distant past to look back at critical pivots in history and then to look forward at the evolving global scene. Kaplan traces the history of the world's hot spots by examining their climates, topographies, and proximities to other embattled lands. The Russian steppe's pitiless climate and limited vegetation bred hard and cruel men bent on destruction, for example, while Nazi geopoliticians distorted geopolitics entirely, calculating that space on the globe used by the British Empire and the Soviet Union could be swallowed by a greater German homeland.   Kaplan then applies the lessons learned to the present crises in Europe, Russia, China, the Indian subcontinent, Turkey, Iran, and the Arab Middle East. The result is a holistic interpretation of the next cycle of conflict throughout Eurasia. Remarkably, the future can be understood in the context of temperature, land allotment, and other physical certainties: China, able to feed only 23 percent of its people from land that is only 7 percent arable, has sought energy, minerals, and metals from such brutal regimes as Burma, Iran, and Zimbabwe, putting it in moral conflict with the United States. Afghanistan's porous borders will keep it the principal invasion route into India, and a vital rear base for Pakistan, India's main enemy. Iran will exploit the advantage of being the only country that straddles both energy-producing areas of the Persian Gulf and the Caspian Sea. Finally, Kaplan posits that the United States might rue engaging in far-flung conflicts with Iraq and Afghanistan rather than tending to its direct neighbor Mexico, which is on the verge of becoming a semifailed state due to drug cartel carnage.   A brilliant rebuttal to thinkers who suggest that globalism will trump geography, this indispensable work shows how timeless truths and natural facts can help prevent this century's looming cataclysms. Praise for The Revenge of Geography   "[An] ambitious and challenging new book . . . [ The Revenge of Geography ] displays a formidable grasp of contemporary world politics and serves as a powerful reminder that it has been the planet's geophysical configurations, as much as the flow of competing religions and ideologies, that have shaped human conflicts, past and present."--Malise Ruthven, The New York Review of Books   "Robert D. Kaplan, the world-traveling reporter and intellectual whose fourteen books constitute a bedrock of penetrating exposition and analysis on the post-Cold War world . . . strips away much of the cant that suffuses public discourse these days on global developments and gets to a fundamental reality: that geography remains today, as it has been throughout history, one of the most powerful drivers of world events."-- The National Interest   "Kaplan plunges into a planetary review that is often thrilling in its sheer scale . . . encyclopedic."-- The New Yorker   "[ The Revenge of Geography ] serves the facts straight up. . . . Kaplan's realism and willingness to face hard facts make The Revenge of Geography a valuable antidote to the feel-good manifestoes that often masquerade as strategic thought."--The Daily Beast - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- GENERAL - JC319 .K335 2012
The revenge of geography: what the map tells us about coming conflicts and the battle against fate Book Cover




Geography and Vision : Seeing, Imagining and Representing the World
by Cosgrove, Denis E.

9781850438465Denis CosgroveGeography and Vision: Seeing, Imagining and Representing the WorldGeography and Vision is a series of personal reflections by leading cultural geographer, Denis Cosgrove, on the complex connections between seeing, imagining and representing the world geographically.  Ranging historically from the sixteenth century to the present day, the essays include reflections upon discovery and the role of imagination in giving it meaning; colonisation and sixteenth century gardening; the shaping of American landscapes; wilderness, imperial mappings and masculinity; urban cartography and utopian visions; conceptions of the Pacific; the cartography of John Ruskin; and the imaginative grip of the Equator. Extensively illustrated, this engaging work reveals the richness and complexity of the geographical imagination as expressed over the past five centuries. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Geography and Vision : Seeing, Imagining and Representing the World Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District