Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Cultural Geography

Cultural Geography Databases

Global Road Warrior

This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.

National Geographic Virtual Library

Now National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine  every page of every issue  along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.




Featured Cultural Geography titles

Go to the Book Search section of this guide to search for additional book titles.




The Wiley-Blackwell companion to cultural geography
by Schein, Richard H; Winders, Jamie; Johnson, Nuala Christina

9780470655597Nuala C. Johnson; Richard H. Schein; Jamie WindersThe Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography∗∗Named a 2014 Choice Outstanding Academic Title∗∗ Combining coverage of key themes and debates from a variety of historical and theoretical perspectives, this authoritative reference volume offers the most up-to-date and substantive analysis of cultural geography currently available.  A significantly revised new edition covering a number of new topics such as biotechnology, rural, food, media and tech, borders and tourism, whilst also reflecting developments in established subjects including animal geographies Edited and written by the leading authorities in this fast-developing discipline, and features a host of new contributors to the second edition Traces the historical evolution of cultural geography through to the very latest research Provides an international perspective, reflecting the advancing academic traditions of non-Western institutions, especially in Asia Features a thematic structure, with sections exploring topics such as identities, nature and culture, and flows and mobility - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - REF - GF41 .W534 2013
The Wiley-Blackwell companion to cultural geography Book Cover




Placing Latin America: contemporary themes in geography
by Jackiewicz, Ed; Bosco, Fernando J

9781442212442Ed Jackiewicz; Fernando J. BoscoPlacing Latin America: Contemporary Themes in GeographyThis comprehensive study offers a thematic approach to Latin America, focusing on the dynamic connections between people, places, and environments rather than on pre-defined notions about the region. The book s well-rounded and accessible analysis includes discussions of borders and migration; transnationalism and globalization; urbanization and the material, environmental and social landscapes of cities; and the connections between economic development and political change. The authors also explore social and cultural themes such as the illegal drug trade, tourism, children, and cinema. Offering a nuanced and clear perspective, this book will be a valuable resource for all those interested in the politics, economy, and society of a rapidly globalizing continent. Contributions by Fernando J. Bosco, J. Christopher Brown, James Craine, Altha J. Cravey, Giorgio Hadi Curti, James Hayes, Edward L. Jackiewicz, Thomas Klak, Mirek Lipinski, Regan M. Maas, Araceli Masterson-Algar, Kent Mathewson, Sarah A. Moore, Linda Quiquivix, Zia Salim, Kate Swanson, and Benjamin Timms." - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - GF514 .P53 2012
Placing Latin America: contemporary themes in geography Book Cover







Human geography: the basics
by Jones, Andrew

9780203118009Andrew JonesHuman GeographyHuman Geography: The Basics is a concise introduction to the study of the role that humankind plays in shaping the world around us. Whether it's environmental concerns, the cities we live in or the globalization of the economy, these are issues which affect us all. This book introduces these topics and more including: global environment issues and development cities, firms and regions migration, immigration and asylum landscape, culture and identity travel, mobility and tourism agriculture and food. Featuring an overview of theory, end of chapter summaries, case study boxes, further reading lists and a glossary, this book is the ideal introduction for anybody new to the study of human geography. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - GF41 .J65 2012
Human geography: the basics Book Cover




Elixir: a history of water and humankind
by Fagan, Brian M

9781608190034Brian M. FaganElixir: A History of Water and HumankindElixir spans five millennia, from ancient Mesopotamia to the parched present of the Sun Belt. As Brian Fagan shows, every human society has been shaped by its relationship toour most essential resource. Fagan's sweeping narrative moves across the world, from ancient Greece and Rome, whose mighty aqueducts still supply modern cities, to China, where emperors marshaled armies of laborers in a centuries-long struggle to tame powerful rivers. He sets out three ages of water: In the first age, lasting thousands of years, water was scarce or at best unpredictable-so precious that it became sacred in almost every culture. By the time of the Industrial Revolution, human ingenuity had made water flow even in the most arid landscapes.This was the second age: water was no longer a mystical force to be worshipped and husbanded, but a commodity to be exploited. The American desert glittered with swimming pools- with little regard for sustainability. Today, we are entering a third age of water: As the earth's population approaches nine billion and ancient aquifers run dry,we will have to learn once again to show humility, even reverence, for this vital liquid. To solve the water crises of the future, we may need to adapt the water ethos of our ancestors. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North - GENERAL - GB671 .F34 2011
Elixir: a history of water and humankind Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District