Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Book & Background Resources

Book Search


  
   

         




Reference Databases

Credo Reference

Provides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.

Salem History

PRIMARY SOURCES & ENCYCLOPEDIC ARTICLES: Includes content from printed reference sets including the Decades collections, Defining Documents, Great Lives, etc.




Featured Books


Arizona firestorm: global immigration realities, national media, and provincial politics
by Santa Ana, Otto; González de Bustamante, Celeste

9781442214156Otto Santa Ana (Editor); Celeste Gonzalez de BustamanteArizona Firestorm: Global Immigration Realities, National Media, and Provincial PoliticsIn 2010, the governor of Arizona signed a controversial immigration bill (SB 1070) that led to a news media frenzy, copycat bills in twenty-two states, and a U.S. Supreme Court battle that put Arizona at the cross-hairs of the immigration debate. Arizona Firestorm brings together well-respected experts from across the political spectrum to examine and contextualize the political, economic, historical, and legal issues prompted by this and other anti-Latino and anti-immigrant legislation and state actions. It also addresses the news media's role in shaping immigration discourse in Arizona and around the globe. Arizona is a case study of the roots and impact of the 21st century immigration challenge. Arizona Firestorm will be of interest to scholars and students in communication, public policy, state politics, federalism, and anyone interested in immigration policy or Latino politics. - Description from Syndetics
Online and at GCC Main - GENERAL - JV6912 .A85 2012
Arizona firestorm: global immigration realities, national media, and provincial politics Book Cover




Gender, race, and class in media: a critical reader
by Dines, Gail; Humez, Jean McMahon

9781452259062Gail Dines; Jean M. Humez (Editor)Gender, Race, and Class in Media: A Critical ReaderIncisive analyses of mass media - including such forms as talk shows, MTV, the Internet, soap operas, television sitcoms, dramatic series, pornography, and advertising - enable this provocative new edition of Gender, Race and Class in Media to engage students in critical mass media scholarship. Issues of power related to gender, race, and class are integrated into a wide range of articles examining the economic and cultural implications of mass media as institutions, including the political economy of media production, textual analysis, and media consumption. Throughout, Gender, Race and Class in Media examines the mass media as economic and cultural institutions that shape our social identities, especially in regard to gender, race, and class. A comprehensive introductory section outlines the book's integrated approach to media studies, which incorporates three distinct but related areas of investigation: the political economy of production, textual analysis, and audience response. All new and classic readings in this Fourth Edition have been edited for maximum accessibility. Together with new section introductions by Dines and Humez, the readings provide a comprehensive critical introduction to media studies. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - P94.65 .U6 G46 2015
Gender, race, and class in media: a critical reader Book Cover




Making Hispanics: how activists, bureaucrats, and media constructed a new American
by Mora, G. Cristina

9780226033839G. Cristina MoraMaking Hispanics: How Activists, Bureaucrats, and Media Constructed a New AmericanHow did Puerto Ricans, Mexicans, and Cubans become known as "Hispanics" and "Latinos" in the United States? How did several distinct cultures and nationalities become portrayed as one? Cristina Mora answers both these questions and details the scope of this phenomenon innbsp; Making Hispanics . She uses an organizational lens and traces how activists, bureaucrats, and media executives in the 1970s and '80s created a new identity category--and by doing so, permanently changed the racial and political landscape of the nation. Some argue that these cultures are fundamentally similar and that the Spanish language is a natural basis for a unified Hispanic identity. But Mora shows very clearly that the idea of ethnic grouping was historically constructed and institutionalized in the United States. During the 1960 census, reports classified Latin American immigrants as "white," grouping them with European Americans. Not only was this decision controversial, but also Latino activists claimed that this classification hindered their ability to portray their constituents as underrepresented minorities. Therefore, they called for a separate classification: Hispanic. Once these populations could be quantified, businesses saw opportunities and the media responded. Spanish-language television began to expand its reach to serve the now large, and newly unified, Hispanic community with news and entertainment programming. Through archival research, oral histories, and interviews, Mora reveals the broad, national-level process that led to the emergence of Hispanicity in America. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - E184.S75 M663 2014
Making Hispanics: how activists, bureaucrats, and media constructed a new American Book Cover




Dimensions of Racism in Advertising : From Slavery to the Twenty-First Century
by Wonkeryor, Edward Lama

9781433115486Edward Lama Wonkeryor (Editor)Dimensions of Racism in Advertising: From Slavery to the Twenty-First CenturyAdvertising has had a racial dimension from slavery to the present. Contributors to this book explore the role of institutionalized racism and bigotry in multicultural marketing since its inception in the 1920s. Promoting ethnic diversity in the advertising industry is not just an important regulatory issue but essential for representation of ethnic images in marketing. Dimensions of Racism in Advertising will be useful for both research and teaching purposes. It can be used as a textbook in upper-level courses in African American studies, ethnic studies, advertising, mass media, public policy, sociology, and history. For policy makers, it will provide an alternative explanation for the stereotypical portrayal of Africans and African Americans in the United States and elsewhere. It will be similarly useful for nongovernmental organizations in fighting institutional racism and the marginalization of ethnic and racial groups in advertising and marketing. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Dimensions of Racism in Advertising : From Slavery to the Twenty-First Century Book Cover




How racism and sexism killed traditional media: why the future of journalism depends on women and people of color
by Sanders, Joshunda

9781440830815Joshunda V. SandersHow Racism and Sexism Killed Traditional Media: Why the Future of Journalism Depends on Women and People of ColorAn evaluative examination that challenges the media to rise above the systematic racism and sexism that persists across all channels, despite efforts to integrate. * Gives a thorough background on the history of minority-produced media * Highlights ideas for improving hiring practices and coverage for minorities * Identifies the growing number of news consumers who are people of color * Provides a chronology of diversity efforts in legacy newsrooms * Includes material derived from interviews with experts like Dori J. Maynard with the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and veteran journalists like Ellis Cose and Danyel Smith - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - - GENERAL - P94.5.M552 U665 2015
How racism and sexism killed traditional media: why the future of journalism depends on women and people of color Book Cover




Media Portrayals of Religion and the Secular Sacred : Representation and Change
by Knott, Kim, Taira, Teemu, Poole, Elizabeth

9781409448068Kim Knott; Elizabeth Poole; Teemu TairaMedia Portrayals of Religion and the Secular Sacred: Representation and ChangeIs it true that Christianity is being marginalised by the secular media, at the expense of Islam? Are the mass media Islamophobic? Is atheism on the rise in media coverage? Media Portrayals of Religion and the Secular Sacred explores such questions and argues that television and newspapers remain key sources of popular information about religion. They are particularly significant at a time when religious participation in Europe is declining yet the public visibility and influence of religions seems to be increasing. Based on analysis of mainstream media, the book is set in the context of wider debates about the sociology of religion and media representation. The authors draw on research conducted in the 1980s and 2008-10 to examine British media coverage and representation of religion and contemporary secular values, and to consider what has changed in the last 25 years. Exploring the portrayal of Christianity and public life, Islam and religious diversity, atheism and secularism, and popular beliefs and practices, several media events are also examined in detail: the Papal visit to the UK in 2010 and the ban of the controversial Dutch MP, Geert Wilders, in 2009. Religion is shown to be deeply embedded in the language and images of the press and television, and present in all types of coverage from news and documentaries to entertainment, sports reporting and advertising. A final chapter engages with global debates about religion and media. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Media Portrayals of Religion and the Secular Sacred : Representation and Change Book Cover




The Routledge companion to media and gender
by Carter, Cynthia; Steiner, Linda; McLaughlin, Lisa

9780415527699Cynthia Carter (Editor); Linda Steiner (Editor); Lisa McLaughlin (Editor)Routledge Companion to Media and GenderThe Routledge Companion to Media and Gender offers a comprehensive examination of media and gender studies, charting its histories, investigating ongoing controversies, and assessing future trends. The 59 chapters in this volume, written by leading researchers from around the world, provide scholars and students with an engaging and authoritative survey of current thinking in media and gender research. The Companion includes the following features: With each chapter addressing a distinct, concrete set of issues, the volume includes research from around the world to engage readers in a broad array of global and transnational issues and intersectional perspectives. Authors address a series of important questions that have consequences for current and future thinking in the field, including postfeminism, sexual violence, masculinity, media industries, queer identities, video games, digital policy, media activism, sexualization, docusoaps, teen drama, cosmetic surgery, media Islamophobia, sport, telenovelas, news audiences, pornography, and social and mobile media. A range of academic disciplines inform exploration of key issues around production and policymaking, representation, audience engagement, and the place of gender in media studies. The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender is an essential guide to the central ideas, concepts and debates currently shaping media and gender research. - Description from Syndetics
Reference - P96 .S5 R68 2014
The Routledge companion to media and gender Book Cover




Racism in American popular media: from Aunt Jemima to the Frito Bandito
by Behnken, Brian D; Smithers, Gregory D

9781440829765Brian D. Behnken; Gregory D. SmithersRacism in American Popular Media: From Aunt Jemima to the Frito BanditoThis book examines how the media-including advertising, motion pictures, cartoons, and popular fiction-has used racist images and stereotypes as marketing tools that malign and debase African Americans, Latinos, American Indians, and Asian Americans in the United States. * Addresses the current and important subject of how the powerful and pervasive messages in the media communicate and reinforce common racial stereotypes about people of color to vast audiences-especially children * Examines popular depictions of people of color going back to the 1880s and details how those depictions have changed * Explores "fun" subject matter that student readers find interesting-pop culture and how it shapes our daily experiences-with an analytical, critical edge - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North - GENERAL - P94.5.M552 U625 2015
Racism in American popular media: from Aunt Jemima to the Frito Bandito Book Cover




Black demons: the media's depiction of the African American male criminal stereotype
by Rome, Dennis

9780313051432Dennis RomeBlack Demons: The Media's Depiction of the African American Male Criminal StereotypeThe stereotype of the African American male as a criminal element in society continues to be a major obstacle to greater racial harmony and the elimination of discrimination and racism on all levels in the United States. Often, this criminal stereotype is internalized by African American youth, so they are made to feel as though delinquent behavior is expected from them, and many fall into this trap. Black Demons examines this stereotype and contends that much of the blame for its perpetuation comes from U.S. mass media's negative depictions of African American males. Rome argues that these images foster the myths that help to deepen and strengthen the stereotypes that have plagued the African American community since colonial times. By examining the origins of this criminal stereotype, how it has been used historically, and how it is presently employed, Rome reveals a dangerous current in media depictions of African Americans, one that threatens that community and taints U.S. society as it tries to overcome the legacy of racism.The African American male criminal stereotype continues to be used to justify covert and overt racism in contemporary U.S. society. From television to cinema, music to news coverage, mass media continue to depict African American males running from the law, committing crimes, victimizing women, and generally engaging in illegal behavior. Here, Rome examines those images and offers an explanation for this phenomenon. He discusses the impact of these images on both the African American community and on U.S. society in general. He considers the notion that there is a black pathology, a fundamental weakness in African American families that can be traced back to their experiences as slaves. Finally, he concludes that both the news media and entertainment outlets must discontinue their practice of equating young African American males with aggressiveness, lawlessness, and violence if racism is every to be truly abolished in the United States. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & Online - GENERAL - P94.5.A37 R66 2004
Black demons: the media's depiction of the African American male criminal stereotype Book Cover




American Indians and the mass media
by Carstarphen, Meta G; Sanchez, John P

9780806142340Meta G. Carstarphen (Editor); John P. Sanchez (Editor)American Indians and the Mass MediaMention "American Indian," and the first image that comes to most people's minds is likely to be a figment of the American mass media: A war-bonneted chief. The Land O' Lakes maiden. Most American Indians in the twenty-first century live in urban areas, so why do the mass media still rely on Indian imagery stuck in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries? How can more accurate views of contemporary Indian cultures replace such stereotypes? These and similar questions ground the essays collected in American Indians and the Mass Media, which explores Native experience and the mainstream media's impact on American Indian histories, cultures, and communities. Chronicling milestones in the relationship between Indians and the media, some of the chapters employ a historical perspective, and others focus on contemporary practices and new technologies. All foreground American Indian perspectives missing in other books on mass communication. The historical studies examine treatment of Indians in America's first newspaper, published in seventeenth-century Boston, and in early Cherokee newspapers; Life magazine's depictions of Indians, including the famous photograph of Ira Hayes raising the flag at Iwo Jima; and the syndicated feature stories of Elmo Scott Watson. Among the chapters on more contemporary issues, one discusses campaigns to change offensive place-names and sports team mascots, and another looks at recent movies such as Smoke Signals and television programs that are gradually overturning the "movie Indian" stereotypes of the twentieth century. Particularly valuable are the essays highlighting authentic tribal voices in current and future media. Mark Trahant chronicles the formation of the Native American Journalists Association, perhaps the most important early Indian advocacy organization, which he helped found. As the contributions on new media point out, American Indians with access to a computer can tell their own stories--instantly to millions of people--making social networking and other Internet tools effective means for combating stereotypes. Including discussion questions for each essay and an extensive bibliography, American Indians and the Mass Media is a unique educational resource. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main -- - GENERAL - P94.5.I53 A64 2012
American Indians and the mass media Book Cover




Diversity in U.S. Mass Media
by Luther, Catherine A; Lepre, Carolyn Ringer; Clark, Naeemah

9781405187930Catherine A. Luther; Carolyn Ringer Lepre; Naeemah ClarkDiversity in U. S. Mass MediaDiversity in U.S. Mass Media provides comprehensive coverage of the evolution and issues surrounding portrayals of social groups within the mass media of the United States. Focuses on past and current mass media representations of social groups Provides an overview of key theories that have guided research in mass media representations and stereotyping Discusses the impact new media has on representation and how technology is giving a new voice to various social groups Includes a chapter on how mass media industries are addressing diversity, complete with specially-commissioned interviews with media professionals Offers helpful supplementary features such as a glossary, questions for reflection, suggestions for projects related to diversity in mass media, and online resources for both instructors and students Accompanying website provides a glossary, links to related sites, recommendations of films to watch in the classroom, ideas for research projects, and an instructor′s manual with sample syllabi - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & North - - GENERAL - P94.5.M552 U6515 2012
Diversity in U.S. Mass Media Book Cover




Television in black-and-white America: race and national identity
by Nadel, Alan

9780700613984Alan NadelTelevision in Black-and-White America: Race and National IdentityAlan Nadel's provocative new book reminds us that most of the images on early TV were decidedly Caucasian and directed at predominantly white audiences. Television did not invent whiteness for America, but it did reinforce it as the norm--particularly during the Cold War years. Nadel now shows just how instrumental it was in constructing a narrow, conservative, and very white vision of America. Nadel depicts a time when television effectively hijacked and monopolized the nation's vision of itself to create a virtual but severely distorted civic space. On Cold War TV's three channels there were no double beds, no liberated housewives, no social criticism, and no homosexuality. And the few available black faces overwhelmingly belonged to athletes, musical entertainers, and actors playing menial roles. Even America's beloved Walt Disney promoted his highly popular TV and theme-park versions of society as utterly homogeneous representations of reality. During this era, prime-time TV was dominated by "adult westerns," with heroes like The Rebel 's Johnny Yuma reincarnating southern values and Bonanza 's Cartwright family reinforcing the notion of white patriarchy--programs that, Nadel shows, bristled with Cold War messages even as they spoke to the nation's mythology. America had become visually reconfigured as a vast Ponderosa, crisscrossed by concrete highways designed to carry suburban white drivers beyond the moral challenge of racism and racial poverty and increasingly vocal civil rights demands. Television in Black-and-White America revisits a time and space that some might miss for its simplicity and relative innocence. Nadel, however, entreats us to look beyond such nostalgia to see how, even in its earliest days, television had already become a powerful mediator of social norms that both controlled and warped our sense of reality. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main - GENERAL - PN1992.8.A34 N33 2005
Television in black-and-white America: race and national identity Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District