Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Early Historical Resources

Important Timelines

Below are several timelines of different diverse groups in the United States.  These timelines include information on immigration and the history of each group and can provide important touchstone events important in examining the history of each of these groups.  Once you find a touchstone event you wish to research further, you can begin exploring these in some of the Historic Articles, Video, and Book Resources below:

Immigration Timeline into the United States

Here is a timeline of immigration to the United States that spans multiple ethnic groups and nationalities.

Immigration to the United States Harvard Timeline

Here is another timeline of immigration to the United States from Harvard University.

Latin American History and the United States Timeline

This timeline focuses upon important milestones in the history of Latin American and the United States.

African American Historical Timeline

This timeline focuses upon African American History.

Asian American Historical Timeline

This timeline focuses upon Asian American history.

LGBT Timeline

An LGBT Timeline of Events



Historic Articles and Magazines

Historic New York Times

Full text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 through 2007. Includes full page images and advertisements

American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historical publications.

Reader's Guide Retrospective

This database provides a comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published from 1890-1982 in the United States, including People Weekly, Vogue, Rolling Stone, and Ladies' Home Journal.



Video Resources

Films on Demand: Archival and News Reels

Hundreds of short archival films from different eras of US history between 1919 and 1968.

Kanopy

An on demand streaming video service providing more than 26,000 educational films each year. It contains works from distributors such as BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection and more. As well, it keeps a number of historic films that can be used for analysis.



References Resources

These reference and history databases are great points to find out more concerning the history of different cultural groups in the United States.

Gale Virtual Reference

Credo Reference

Salem History

History Reference Center

America: History and Life



Modern News Sources

Arizona Republic

Access to The Arizona Republic (1999 - present). Daily newspaper covers the state of Arizona, as well as local, national and international news.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

LexisNexis Academic

Comprehensive database for searching general newspapers (domestic and foreign), law, business, medicine and health.

U.S. Major Dailies

Contains both articles and indexing to articles from the country's leading newspapers--Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District