|
|
This
guide lists some basic information resources for films.
FOR A GOOD INTRODUCTION:
- The Film Encyclopedia (Ref PN 1993.45 .K34 1994). This is a comprehensive
encyclopedia of world cinema. It includes biographies, film terms, and countries.
- Oxford History of World Cinema (Ref PN 1993.5 .A1 O96 1996)
- World Cinema Since 1945 (Ref PN 1993.5 .A1 W67 1987). This contains
critical survey articles on the cinema of 30 countries including all aspects
of filmmaking, over 1,400 directors, and 3,300 films.
GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS
- The Columbia Companion to American History on Film (Ref PN 1995.9 .U64 C65 2003)
- Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film (Electronic Resource - ebrary]
- Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television. (Ref PN 2285 .C58 v.1-13,-).
Biographical guide on a wide range of entertainment figures including performers,
directors, writers, producers, designers, managers, chroeographers, technicians,
composers, executives, dancers, and critics.
- Encyclopedia of European Cinema (Ref PN 1993.5 .E8 V56) Overview of Continental films includes brief biographies of stars and directors, historical essays on 26 national cinemas, and index of films by genre entry.
- Encyclopedia of Novels into Films (Ref PN 1997.85 .T54 2005). This two part history of film adaptation describes the original novel and the film version.
- Encyclopedia of Movie Special Effects (Ref TR 858 .N48 2000 & Electronic Resource - ebrary0
- Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film, 3 vols. (Ref PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006)
- Filmography of American History (Ref PN 1995.9 .H5 T73 2002)
- Halliwell's Film, Video, & DVD Guide (Ref PN 1993.45 .H27a)
- History of the American Cinema, 10 vols. (Ref PN 1993.5 U6 H55)
- Magill's Cinema Annual. (Ref PN 1995 .M252). Plot summary yearbook
with brief cast and credit information for films released in the U.S. the
previous year. (GCC has 1982-)
- Motion Picture Guide. (Ref PN 1993 .M4334). THE definitive film
encyclopedia with film synopses, anecdotal information, full cast and credits,
including plot construction and production techniques. 10 volume encyclopedia
covers 1927-1983, annual update.
- Roger Ebert's Video Companion (Ref PN 1995. E318)
- Screen World. (Ref PN 1993.3 .S3). Fully illustrated yearbook of
films released in the U.S. the previous year, including foreign films. Thorough
cast and credits. 1968-
- Silent Films, 1877-1996 (Ref PN 1995.75 .K57 1999)
- Strike the Baby and Kill the Blond: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang (Ref PN 1993.45 .K62 2005 & Electronic Resource - ebrary)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate books and media items in our collection
and other libraries in the MCCCD system.
- First, search by subject. You can locate your subject and other
related subjects will be cross-referenced. It's easy to move from one
subject to another. You can search for general topics such as MOTION
PICTURES or about individuals (search by the person's last name).
- You may prefer to browse on the shelves under these call numbers:
PN 1992 - PN 1998 (Motion Pictures)
TR 845 - TR 899 (Cinematography)
DVD &VHS and Streaming Viedo Collections
- DVD, & VHS and Streaming Video collections
- FMG Films on Demand (70+ titles) by publication date and by subject
- U.S. Government
- PBS Video
- GCC Productions
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER are organized in special subject indexes.
- Databases Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library Home page
to get to the list of the LMC's subscription databases. Some useful ones
are listed here.
EBSCO MasterFile
Premier. This database features over 125 journals in searchable
full-text. Approximately 800 publications are abstracted and indexed, and
coverage of the New York Times is also included.
General OneFile. This database also indexes and abstracts approximately
800 publications, including 200 journals with full-text. There is a backfile
to 1980.
NewsBank.
This is a computer index similar to Infotrac for 1986 - present; earlier
years are available in print and microform. Indexes articles from over 500
U.S. newspapers. Subject and title indexes include reviews, interviews,
and news stories. All of the articles are reproduced on microfiche and are
available in the Microform Room.
- Print (Paper) Indexes
Film Review Index (Ref PN 1995 .F466 1986) Comprehensive index to critical reviews of 7,000
feature films released from 1892 to 1985. (SHELVED IN THE REFERENCE AREA). This is the best first choice for a non-current film review.
New York Times
Index. 1914-1920, 1935 - . Comprehensive index to reviews and articles
in the New York Times. Newspaper is available on microfilm in the
Microforms Room. (INDEX SHELVES - in Microformats Room).
Reader's Guide
to Periodical Literature Look for articles on directors and films. for
film reviews, search under the heading MOVING PICTURE PLAYS in indices prior
to March, 1977; use the heading MOTION PICTURE REVIEWS from March, 1977
to the present. (INDEX SHELVES - in Microformats Room).
INTERNET RESOURCES
An excellent resource is called the Internet Movie Database. Since the
information is added to this database by interested users, carefully evaluate
the source material.
- American Movie Classics - Great Movies...and the stories behind them (www.amctv.com/)
- Docuseek - a search site for independent documentary, social issue, and educational videos. It allows you to search simultaneously several leading film distributors' complete collections, representing the highest quality documentary and instructional media, films, and videos available. ( http://66.167.103.217/wc.dll?docprocess~startsearch )
- FilmFestivals.com - the site provides a great resource about previous and upcoming film festivals from all over the world.
- Internet Movie Database - an excellent site to answer almost any question you have about a movie, such as cast, all the movies an actor or actress appeared in, scriptwriters, trivia, locales, etc. (www.imdb.com/)
- Movie Review Query Guide - a site to find reviews of movies, covering the 1990s to the present (www.mrqe.com/)
- Mr. Showbiz Movie Guide (ABC News) - entertainment news from ABC (www.mrshowbiz.com/reviews/moviereviews/index.html)
- The Official Oscar's Site - for information about the current year's Oscars, nominations and winners, (www.oscar.com/)
- Oscars.org - for information about all the Oscars for every year. (www.oscars.org)
- Roger Ebert's Movie Reviews (rogerebert.suntimes.com)
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu
/lmc/help/guides/CINEMA.html
Last modified:
Thursday December 18 2008
|