Books available through the LMC @ GCC

Textbooks

The bookstore has booklists and supplies of texts arranged by course and instructor. If you are not sure from the information available at the bookstore, check with your instructor for the text used in your class. Some classes in the same subject may use different text or supplementary readings.

In addition, you can access the Campus Bookstore web site to determine your required textbooks. Use the Textbook Look-up Tool provided on their website.

The library does NOT buy textbooks. However, the library may have books that instructors have placed on reserve at the Circulation desk for library use only. You can use the library website to look-up course related reserve items by class or instructor.

Specialized Book Lists

African-American History Month
Resources about African-Americans: biographies, history, etc.

M.E.Ch.A. Books
Books purchased and donated to the LMC by M.E.Ch.A.

Forum on Teaching and Learning
(Faculty Development Collection)- a special collection of books about educational issues. These are available in the circulating collection.

"Fifty Multicultural Books Every Child Should Know"
Compiled by Ginny Moore Kruse and Kathleen T. Horning of the Cooperative Children's Book Center, School of Education, University of Madison-Wisconsin. [Note: This list is also available at the Reference Desk with call numbers provided for those books in the LMC collection.]

LMC Guide: Literacy Reading
Lists of books suitable for English learners. The list is available by author, title, and subject (call number).

E-books

Books (texts) on the Web:


Authors

Author Yellow Pages - This is a searchable (author, genre) directory of author's official and publisher web sites.


Book Sites

These sites provide information on books, bestsellers, etc.

Addall.com : Compares prices for books by major vendors, including delivery charges and time.

Amazon : Well-known site for book information and prices.

Arizona Book Publishing Association : This site promotes the book publishing industry within Arizona.

BookBrowse.com : An interesting site for comments on recent works. It provides multiple reviews and excerpts. Covers the popular genre and more.

Books-in-Print : Book-in-Print lists books and media (videos, DVDs) currently in print. It also has useful lists and links to different subjects and genre.

Booknotes : A companion web site to C-SPAN's author interview series. Contains transcripts, archives, etc.

Bowker's Books in Print : (on campus access only) The traditional source for book availability, publishers, prices, etc. It also lists bestsellers and numerous book award sites.

Chambal.com : This site enables you to compare prices of new and used books from major online book sellers.

Oprah's Book Club : Books recommended by Oprah Winfrey and featured on her show.

Publisher's Weekly Bestseller Lists : Includes book news, interviews, and other features.

USA Today Books : Includes articles, bestseller lists, and excerpts. The Open Books section features original fiction published in weekly installments.


Best Books

100 Best Novels of the 20th Century - Modern Library Board and Reader's Poll

100 Best Non-Fiction of the 20th Century - Modern Library Board and Reader's Poll

Recommendations from Young Adult Library Services Association of the American Library Association:

Book Browser: Find a Book will help you find popular titles in various genres.

Reviews and Recommendations of popular titles from the Evanston (Ill.) Public Library

The Poisoned Pen provides reviews and suggestions for titles in mystery, literature of the Southwest, popular fiction, etc.

The Locus Index to Science Fiction


Children's Books and Award Winners

Most of these award lists are available through the Award Lists & Featured Titles (Readers Advisory Console) webpage.


General Book Awards Sites

Booker Award (via Amazon.com)
Founded in 1969, the Booker McConnell Prize is given to the best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of the U.K., the Commonwealth, Eire, Pakistan, or South Africa.
 
Bram Stoker
The Bram Stoker Awards are presented annually for horror and dark fantasy writing.

Caldecott Medal and Honor books
(via Amazon.com)
Awarded annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Carnegie Medal (British Library Association)
An annual award by the British Library Association for an outstanding book for children and young people that is first published in the United Kingdom.

Christy Awards (via Amazon.com)
These awards recognize Christian novels of exceptional quality and impact.

Coretta Scott King Awards
From the American Library Association: "Recipients are authors and illustrators of African descent whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the 'American Dream.' " The Award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and honors his widow, Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination in continuing the work for peace and world brotherhood."

Edgar Award (via Amazon.com)
The Mystery Writers of America present these awards for the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. The awards began in 1954.

Hugo Awards (via Amazon.com)
The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society.

Kate Greenaway Medal
British Library Association's annual award for the most distinguished work in the illustration of children's books published in the United Kingdom.

National Book Award (via Amazon.com)
One of the Most prestigious book awards, the National Book Awards are given annually by book publishing groups for exceptional books by Americans.

National Book Critics Circle Awards (via Amazon.com)
Beginning in 1974, these annual awards cover five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography/autobiography, poetry, and criticism.

Nebula Awards (via Amazon.com)
The Nebula Award is presented annually for the best science fiction writing.

Newbery Medal and Honor Books (via Amazon.com)
The Newbery Medal honors the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The medal was established in 1922 and is presented annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The recipient must be a citizen or resident of the United States.

Nobel Prize (via Amazon.com)
Annual award for the most distinguished literary work of an idealistic nature; the award is for the body of work by an author of any nationality.

PEN American Center Literary Awards
(via Amazon.com)
The PEN American Center Literary Awards are an array of literary prizes that recognize excellence among American authors of fiction, nonfiction, drama and poetry; honor the art of literary translation; and highlight the distinctive contributions of literary editors and publishers.
 
PEN/Faulkner Award (via Amazon.com)
Five outstanding books of fiction selected annually by a panel of writers from the international writer's organization.

Pulitzer Prize
(via Amazon.com)
Endowed by journalist Joseph Pulitzer, the annual Pulitzer Prize for letters are given in five categories.

IRITA Awards (via Amazon.com)
Annual awards for Romance novels given by the Romance Writers of America.

Spur Awards

The Spur Awards, given annually by the Western Writers of America for distinguished writing about the American West, began in 1953.

Readers Advisory Services

Do you need help finding something to read?  These sites can help you locate books on topics that interest you.

At the LMC

Try the Award Lists & Featured Titles (Readers Advisory Console) webpage.

Glendale Public Library

Readers Advisory Databases

  1. Access Glendale Public Library Arts, Humanities & Literature web page
  2. Choose one of the following readers advisory guides:
    • Novelist
    • What do I Read Next?

You will need an active GPL library card to access this information from outside the library, but all Glendale residents and currently enrolled GCC students are eligible. See Can I borrow books from GPL for details.

Readers Advisory Webpages (from GPL)

  • Books, Movies, and Music
    Includes best sellers lists and links to recommended reading sites.
  • Newsletter Signup
    Would you like to be on reading lists so you can be notified by e-mail of the latest books in various genres? GPL’s “Bookletters” lets you browse by category and sign up for your particular interest.

Other web sites:

Related Links Box

Related Links Box

Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112
Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 845-4109
Reference: (623) 845-4112

Page maintained by GCC Libraries Web Advisory Team


Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Maricopa County Community College District


Last modified: Monday February 03 2014