|
This
guide provides basic resources that can help you identify a career field that
is appropriate for your interests, talents, and desires, locate companies, prepare
resumes, and improve your interviewing skills.
TESTING AND ASSESSMENT GCC's Counseling
Center (CCS Building) Tel: 623-845-3064 or Web: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/counseling/
- the Counseling Center provides a number of services to assist you with career
exploration.
DISCOVER (on GCC Network)
- online service to help you select careers based on your interests, skills,
education, etc. This is accessible through your eGCC account.
Career Services can provide you with more information about this database.
O*NET a web site (see
below) that includes a skills assessment that matches your skills with potential
career fields.
BOOKS: REFERENCE SOURCES and
CIRCULATING COLLECTION
The Library Media Center's collection
includes a number of career-related resources. Below is a selected list of
of standard and popular resources. Books with REF as part of the call number
are Reference books that cannot be checked out.
Careers and Occupations
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
(REF HF 5382.5 .U5 O24) (Also available online; see below); one of the
standard resources for initial job exploration that provides information
on the nature of the occupation, training required, employment prospects,
salary ranges, etc.
- VGM Opportunities Series
(type "VGM Opportunities Series" in the online catalog for 235 career
options) - these circulating books (you can check them out of the library)
provide detailed information on a variety of careers.
- Encyclopedia of Careers
(REF HF 5381.E52 v. 1-4) Similar to the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
- Encyclopedia of Associations
(REF AS 22.E5) - associations often are good sources for current information.
This directory provides basic address information, including web sites and includes information on publications of the association, if any.
- National Trade and Professional
Associations (REF HD 2425 .D53) - provides basic information on approximately
7,400 trade associations - addresses, web sites, etc. It is arranged alphabetically
with subject, geographic, and acronym indexes.
- Career Information Center
(REF HF 5382.5 .U5 C32 v.1-13)
- Careers and Occupations:
Looking to the Future (REF HF 5382.5 .U5 C332) Information Plus
Series
- Vocational Biographies (REF HF 5381 .V622 1999) Provides biographical sketches of people in various careers. Describes the career field, training, daily activities, etc., to give an idea of their experience.
Company Research
- Business Journal's top 25
lists -- Phoenix, Arizona Business Enterprises (REF HF5068.P56 B66 [current ed. at Information Desk])
- provides basic information on the top Phoenix companies in a wide range
of businesses.
- Hoover's Handbook of American
Business (REF HG4057.A28617) - provides basic information on a company:
an overview of its history and business, officers, locations, products,
competitors, and historical financial and stock price information.
Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviewing
Resumes and Cover Letters : browse the HF
5383 call number area; Interviewing: browse the HF 5549.5 .I6 area.
- The Advanced 90 Minute Resume (REF
HF 5383 .S326 1992)
- Resumes That Knock Em Dead
(REF HF 5383 .Y38 2001)
- Cover Letters That Knock Em Dead (REF HF 5383 .Y378 2003)
- The Five Minute Interview
(HF 5549.5 .I6 B39 1998)
- The Essential Book of Interviewing:
Everything You Need to Know from Both Sides of the Table
(HF 5549.5 I6
K358 1995)
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER articles are an excellent source for recent information about a company or an industry. These articles can be located and retrieved using
the library's databases. These can be accessed from the Library
Home Page/"Articles and Databases". Search for your career as a SUBJECT
to locate articles in the databases. Some good databases to use include EBSCOhost
Business Source Plus, General OneFile, and EBSCOhost
MasterFile Premier.
WEB SITES Some web sites
that you may want to consult include the following:
Careers, Occupations, Job
Postings, Interviews, etc.
- Occupational
Outlook Handbook - http://www.bls.gov/oco/ - online version of the reference
book mentioned above
- O*NET
- http://online.onetcenter.org - the Occupational Information Network, is
a database system developed by the U.S. Department of Labor to replace the
publication Dictionary of Occupational Titles (REF HF 2595 .U543 1991).
You can use this for career exploration - find occupations, skills search/assessment,
related occupations.
- America's
Job Bank - http://www.ajb.dni.us/
- Best
Jobs in the USA Today - http://www.Bestjobsusa.com/
- Bureau
of Labor Statistics - http://www.bls.gov/
- TrueCareers
- http://www.careercity.com
- Career
Voyages [http://www.careervoyages.gov/index.cfm] - From the site: "This
web site is the result of a collaboration between the U.S. Department of
Labor and the U.S. Department of Education. It is designed to provide information
on high-growth, high-demand occupations along with the skills and education
needed to attain those jobs."
- Careerperfect.com
- http://www.careerperfect.com/content/home-index/ - provides expert resume advice and an e-resume
tutorial
- GCC's
Career Services - http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/career/aim.htm
- Collegegrad.com
- (resumes) - http://www.collegegrad.com/resumes/index.shtml - sample resumes
and templates
- Collegegrad.com
- (interviews) - http://www.collegegrad.com/intv/index.shtml - reviews interviewing
skills, including nonverbal communication cues
- The Educator's Reference Desk - http://www.eduref.org
Company Research
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/career.html
Last modified: Thursday December 18 2008
|