| This
guide lists basic, selected resources in education, including books, databases, and web sites.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education (Ref LC 1099 .D53 1997)
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education (Ref LB 15 .G68 2003)
Specialized Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Digest of Education Statistics (Ref L 11 .D48 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development (Ref LB 15 .E473 2005)
- Encyclopedia of American Education (Ref LB 17 .U54 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed. (Ref LB 15 .E47 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Educational Research (Ref LB 15 .E48 1992)
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education (Ref LC 1099.3 .M58 1999)
- Encyclopedia of Special Education, 2nd ed. (Ref LC 4007 .E53 2007)
- Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and Practice (Ref LC 151 .L487 2002)
- World Education Encyclopedia (Ref LB 15 .W87 2001)
- Handbook of Educational Psychology (Ref LB 1051 .H2354)
- Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education (Ref LC 1099 .H35 2001)
- Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia (Ref LB
2822.82 .S82 2001)
- Youth, Education, and Sexualities: An International Encyclopedia (Ref LC 192.6 .Y68 2005)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS Use "Books and Media" to locate books
and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. Search
for your topic as a SUBJECT. Some typical subject headings include:
| Career Education |
Home Schooling |
| Charter Schools |
Multicultural Education |
| Children of Migrant Laborers--Education |
School Choice |
| Education--[subheadings] |
Special Education |
| Education, Bilingual |
Teachers--[subheadings] |
| Education, Elementary |
Wages, Effect of Education
On |
| Education, Secondary |
Women in Education |
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
RANGE:
| LA |
History of Education |
|
LB 1141-1489 |
Kindergarten |
| LB |
Theory
and Practice of Education |
|
LB
1501-1547 |
Primary
Education |
| LB
1050.9-1091 |
Educational
Psychology |
|
LB
1603-1696 |
Secondary
Education. High Schools |
| LB
1101-1139 |
Child
Study |
|
LB
1705 -2286 |
Education
and Training of Teachers |
| LB
1139.2-1139.5 |
Early
Childhood Education |
|
LB
2300-2430 |
Higher
Education |
| LB 1140-1140.5 |
Preschool Education |
|
LC 37-44.3 |
Home Education |
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER
articles.
Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library Home page to get to the list
of the LMC's subscription databases.
- ERIC (Educational Resources
Information Center).
- For educational topics, ERIC is THE source for journal articles, documents,
and digests. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education
information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal
articles on education research and practice. You can access ERIC from
the U.S. Department of Education site [www.eric.ed.gov], The Educator's Reference
Desk [www.eduref.org], or use our subscription databases.
- EBSCOhost ERIC - This is
the database for articles and documents in all fields of education. The benefit to using this version of ERIC is for obtaiing links to the full-text of articles not included in the publicly available version of the database. If full-text is available for the article or document, EBSCO Host
will link to it. If a journal article is not available from EBSCOHost
in full-text, use "Serials Solutions" (on the "Articles" page) to determine
if the journal is available in full-text from other databases.
SELECTED JOURNAL SUBSCRIPTIONS at GCC. See our "Articles & Databases" page, "GCC Subscriptions by Subject " for a full
list. Many education journals are available electronically from our databases,
such EbscoHost ERIC, where you can obtain full text articles.
Some journals in paper format include:
- Childhood Education (paper: 3 yr. + current)
- Education Digest (paper: Sept., 2005- current;microfiche v. 38, 1972 -
May 2003; mfilm: v.26-37, 1960-1972)
- Instructor (paper: v. 108, May 1999 - current)
- Journal of Developmental Education (paper: v.25,n.3, Sp, 2002 - current)(mfiche:
v. 14, no.1, Fall, 1990 - v.30.,n.3, Sp, 2007)
- Journal of Research in Childhood Education (paper: v.4,1989 - )
- NEA Today (paper: 1 yr. + current)
WEB SITES.
There are many web sties related to education, learning, reading, etc. Some
that you may want to consult include the following:
- U.S.
Dept. of Education
- Arizona
Department of Education provides a number of links to Arizona education
information - home schooling , testing, legislation, etc.
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum
, reports on major education policies and advocates sharing best practices.
- Awesome
Library for Teachers - provides information on numerous topics.
- Charter
Schools (Arizona)
- Charter
Schools (US)
- Condition
of Education
College and University Rankings - from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Education and Social Sciences Library - provides links to sites that rank colleges in various categories.
- Current
Issues in Education - a peer-reviewed e-journal from the College of
Education at Arizona State University.
- Digest
of Education Statistics
- Facts in Action: Associated Early Care & Education
- Education
Index provides links to more than 3,000 sites in 66 categories. Sites
are listed by subject, lifestage, and they are summarized and reviewed.
- International
Reading Association - provides information on reading processes and
instruction.
- Kathy
Schrock's Guide for Educators - a popular site for many links that are
useful to teachers.
- National
Center for Education Statistics
- National
Center for Teacher Education
- National
Institute on the Education of At-Risk Students
- Office
of English Language Acquisition
- Rethinking
Schools emphasizes problems facing urban schools, particularly issues
of race, and tries to balance classroom practice with educational theory.
Written by and for teachers, parents, and students, it addresses key policy
issues.
- teachernet.com resources for teachers.
- What Works Clearinghouse -
Federal effort to identify effective "educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies)" for educators and for the general public.
International
- Education
For All - a feature of UNESCO site (see below) that provides information
on educational systems in other countries.
International
Bureau of Education (IBE) - Originally a private, non-governmental organization,
it is now part of UNESCO (see below). IBE provides basic descriptions of
countries around the world and outlines the functioning of their national
education systems. Five databanks are available for online searching, including country-specific "Dossiers."
- United
Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Education - portal. The mission of this UN program is to promote education as a fundamental
right of the people everywhere in the world and to improve the quality of
education worldwide. Of note is the campaign Education for All and its 2000
Assessment in which 180 countries participated and reported results.
- International
Education Indicators. "Education Indicators: An International Perspective
is a compilation of indicators from a multitude of data sources which provides
a rich array of information on the current state of education internationally.
They are intended to provide snapshots of the U.S. education system in comparison
to systems in countries around the world."
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/education.html
Last modified: Thursday December 18 2008
|
|