Reference Sources
Some specialized Encyclopedias and Handbooks include:
- African Folklore: an Encyclopedia (Ref GR350 .A33 2004)
- American Folktales: from the Collections of the Library of Congress (Ref GR105.5 .A44 2004) 2 vols.
- American Regional Folklore (Ref GR 105.34 .M66 2004)
- Chicano Folklore: a Guide to the Folktales, Traditions, Rituals and Religious Practices of Mexican Americans (Ref GR111 .M49 C37 2001)
- Folk and Fairy Tales: a Handbook (Ref GR550 .A77 2004)
- Folklore of the North American Indians (Ref Z1209 .U4)
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore (Ref GR 111 .A47 G74 2006) 3 vols.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife (Ref GR 35 .G75 2006) 4 vols.
- Greenwood Library of American Folktales (Ref GR 105 .G75 2005) 4 vols.
- Medieval Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs (Ref GR35 .M43 2000) 2 vols.
- Motif-index of Folk-literature: a Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-Books, and Local Legends (Ref GR67.T53) 6 vols.
- South Asian Folklore: an Encyclopedia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka (Ref GR 302 .S68 2003)
Books and Media Materials
Use "Books & Media" in the library database to locate books and media items in the GCC collection as well as other libraries in the MCCCD system. Search for your topic as a SUBJECT. Typical subject headings include:
- Folktales
- Folktale
- Folk Tales
- Folk Tale
- Folklore
- Tales
- Folk Literature
- Storytelling
- Fairy Tales
- Myths
- Legends
Library of Congress Classification Ranges
Here are just a few of the places folktales can be found at the GCC Library Media Center :
- E 98/99-Native American Tales
- GR- Folklore
- GR74 World Folklore
- GR98 Jewish Folklore
- GR111 African-American Folklore
- GR111 Hispanic Folklore
- GR115 Folklore- Mexico
- GR141 Tales- England
- GR161 Folklore- France
- GR166 Tales- Germany
- GR176 Tales- Italy
- GR202 Tales- Russia
- GR250 Tales- Balkan Peninsula
- GR305.5 Tales- India -Tamil Nadu
- GR308.5 Hmong (Asian People)-Folklore
- GR312 Tales- Thailand GR335 Tales- China
- GR338 Tales- Taiwan
- GR340 Tales-Japan
- GR342 Tales- Korea
- GR350.3 West African Folktales
- PS-American Literature (includes Tall Tales and Legends)
- PZ-Various folktales, both collections and individual tales, are located throughout the Juvenile Literature Collection. Examples include:
- Dillon, Leo and Diane. The People Could Fly: American Black Folktales (PZ8.1 .H154 Pe)
- Haley, Gail E. A Story, a Story: an African Tale (PZ8.1 .H139 St)
- McDermott, Gerald. Arrow to the Sun: a Pueblo Indian Tale (E99 .P9 M25 2004)
- Robbins, Ruth. Baboushka and the Three Kings (PZ8.1 .R5 Bab)
- Zemach, Margot. It Could Always Be Worse: a Yiddish Tale (PZ8.1 .Z4)
Magazine, Journal, and Newspaper Articles
These can by located using our databases. Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library's home page to get to the full list of the LMC's subscription databases. The above-listed subject headings for locating books usually will be appropriate for searching the databases as well. The General category of databases can be the best place to start.
Journal Subscriptions
Some folktale/folklore journals can be found only in specific databases. Below is a sampling of some of those journal titles with the dates of database coverage. Journal coverage in the databases is subject to change.
Asian Folklore Studies:
From 4/01/1992 to 2007 in Academic OneFile
From 10/01/2000 to 2007 in Academic Search Premier and Religion & Philosophy collection
From 1963 to 2007 in JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
Cricket ( La Salle ):
From 05/01/1990 to present in MasterFILE Premier
Journal of Folklore Research:
From 01/01/2000 to present in Academic OneFile and
From 01/01/1995 to present in Literary Reference Center
From 01/01/2003 to present in Project Muse
Websites
General Folktale Websites
These web sites provide links to many other web sites.
Texts Online
Fables
Fairy Tales
Hans Christian Andersen
Grimm Brothers
Myths
Legends
Tall Tales and Folktales
Trickster and Noodlehead Tales
Prepared by Shelley Mosley.
Updated by Allison Ringness, Fall 2012. |
|