Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Hispanic American Resources

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Mexican Americans in Literature
  • American Literature--Mexican Americans
Library of Congress Classification:
  • E 184 .S76:
  • PS 508 .H57 - PS 508 .M4: Latino/Hispanic literature anthologies, general area. For specific writers, search the catalog by last name.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Atlas of Hispanic-American History
    Ref E 184 .S75 O287 2001 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide
    Ref PS 153 .M5 C46 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Contemporary Hispanic Biography
    Ref E 184 .S76 C66 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Chicano Writers
    Ref PS 21 .D5 v.82 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Chicano Writers, Second Series
    Ref PS 21 .D5 v.122 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Chicano Writers, Third Series
    Ref PS 21 .D5 v.209 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Mexican-American History
    Ref E 184 .M5 M453 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
    Ref E 184 .S75 E59 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement
    Ref E 184 .M5 M458 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
    Ref PS 153 .H56 G74 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
    Ref E 184 .S75 H365 1993 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Hispanic American Almanac
    Ref E 184 .S75 H557 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Hispanic Firsts
    Ref E 184 .S75 K36 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television
    Ref PN 1995.9 .H47 R49 1994 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Latino American Experience (db)

  • Latino Encyclopedia
    Ref E 184 .S75 L357 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Latinos in Science, Math, and the Professions
    Ref Q 141 .N46 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States
    Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Reference Library of Hispanic America
    Ref E 184 .S75 R44 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists resources in the LMC related to Hispanic American history, culture, and contemporary affairs. It includes books, videos, databases, web sites, and other sources.




Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013