|
Help > Guides > Drama, Theatre, Monologs
Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)
Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page.
GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases:
Biographical Sources
- Contemporary Gay American Poets and Playwrights
Ref PS 325 .C656 2003
[Catalog Record]
- Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television
Ref PN 2285 .C58
[Catalog Record]
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: Twentieth Century American Dramatists
Ref PS 21 .D5 1978, v.7, pts. 1-2
[Catalog Record]
Books and Media Materials
Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
- [search catalog for individual plays, actors, dramatists]
- Monologues
- Method (Acting)
- Acting
- American Drama--
Library of Congress Classifications:
- PN 1660-3307: Drama
- PN 1993-1999: Motion Pictures
(includes DVD,VHS collection of films, plus books about specific films)
- PN 2000-3307: Dramatic Representaiton, Theatre
- PN 2080 and PN 4305: Monologs (see Primary Sources section below)
- PR 2754-3094: Shakespeare
Collections of Literary Criticism
These print resources contain essays about specific plays and dramatists.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries
Journal Subscriptions
Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page.
Primary Sources - Original Texts
These books provide indexes to locating texts of plays and monolgues and scenes from popular plays in a variety of categories.
The general areas to locate books containing scripts and monologues is:
Using the following subject terms and genre headings can also help:
In order to find plays / scripts by particular playwrights, you must search by author.
- 100 Great Monologs: A Versatile Collection of Monologs, Duologs, and Triologs for Student Actors
PN 2080 .Y65 2005
[Catalog Record]
- Actors Guide to Scenes
PN 1655 .G783
[Catalog Record]
- Best American Plays
PS 634 .B4
[Catalog Record]
- Best plays
PN 6112 .B45
[Catalog Record]
- For Women: Monologues They Haven't Heard
PN 4305 .M6 P66 1983
[Catalog Record]
- Index to Full-Length Plays
Ref PN 1655 .I54 1988
[Catalog Record]
- Index to One-Act Plays
Ref PN 1655 .L83
[Catalog Record]
- One on One: The Best Men's Monologues for the Nineties
PN 2080 .O57 1993
[Catalog Record]
- One on One: The Best Women's Monologues for the 21st Century
PN 2080 .C585 2007
[Catalog Record]
- One on One: The Best Women's Monologues for the Nineties
PN 2080 .O58 1993
[Catalog Record]
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
Ref PN 1655 .O85 1988
[Catalog Record]
- Play Index
Ref PN 1655 .P55
[Catalog Record]
- Playwright's Center Monologues for Men
PN 2080 .P62 2005
[Catalog Record]
- Playwrights' Center monologues for women
PN 2080 .P6215 2005
[Catalog Record]
- Two-minute monologs : original audition scenes for professional actors
PN 2080 .A447 1998
[Catalog Record]
- Voices of color : scenes and monologues from the Black American theatre
PN 2080 .V65 1994
[Catalog Record]
Web Sites
|
Order by:
Title
|
Category
Limit to:
Databases
|
Online
|
No Limits
Display Detail:
List Only
|
Brief
Location:
North
|
Main
|
No Limits
|