LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Communication, Speech & Linguistics

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Communication
  • Debates and Debating
  • Elocution
  • Forensics (Public Speaking)
  • Intercultural Communications
  • Language Arts
  • Linguistics
  • Nonverbal Cmmunication
  • Oral Communication
  • Oratory
  • Persuasion
  • Phonetics
  • Public Speaking
  • Rhetoric
  • Speech
  • Speeches, addresses, etc., American
Library of Congresss Classification:
  • P 1 - 1091: Philology. Linguistics.
  • P 87 - 96: Communication. Mass Media.
  • P 94.7: Interpersonal Communication
  • P 95 - 95.6: Oral Communication. Speech.
  • P 99.5 0 99.6: Nonverbal Cmmunication.
  • P 101 - 410: Language. Linguistic Theory. Comparative Grammar.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Battleground : The Media
    P95.8 .B38 2008 [Catalog Record - (GCC North Only)]

  • Atlas of Languages
    Ref P 107 .A87 2003 [Catalog Record]

  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
    Ref P 29 .C64 [Catalog Record]

  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages
    Ref P 371 .C357 2004 [Catalog Record]

  • Communication Yearbook
    Ref P 87 .C5974 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Languages
    Ref P 371 .D35 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Languages [electronic resource] : The Definitive Reference to More Than 400 Languages
    P371 .D35 1998eb [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Media Studies [electronic resource]
    P87.5 .D53 2006eb [Catalog Record]

  • Ethnologue: Languages of the World
    Ref P 371 .E83 2005 [Catalog Record]

  • International Encyclopedia of Communications
    Ref P 87.5 .I5 1989 [Catalog Record]

  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
    Ref P 29 .I58 1992 [Catalog Record]

  • Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics [electronic resource]
    P29 [Catalog Record]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page.
  • Communication Arts
    Paper: curr. yr. + 5 yrs [Catalog Record ]

  • Communication Quarterly
    Paper: 1998 - ; Mfiche: Wint/85 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Communication Research Reports
    Paper: 1996 - ; Mfiche: 2/88 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Journal of Communication
    Paper: 2002-04; Mfiche: Win/80 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
    Paper: Spr/75-Wint/03 [Catalog Record ]

  • Journalism Quarterly
    Paper: 1980-1994 [Catalog Record ]

  • Modern Language Quarterly
    Paper: 6/1982 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Qualitative Research Reports in Communication
    Paper: 1/2000 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Quarterly Journal of Speech
    Micro: 1/1963 - [Catalog Record ]

  • Vital Speeches of the Day
    Paper: current year + 5 yrs [Catalog Record ]

Primary Sources - Original Texts

Topic Selection Resources

See also the links under "Web Sites" that discuss contemporary issues. Web Sites

Selected web sites that focus on contemporary issues.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources for communication, speech, and linguistics including books, periodical subscriptions, databases, and web sites.
It inlcudes print/paper and electronic sources; print editions include call numbers.




LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009