Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Biology

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Evolution (Biology)
  • Evolutionary Genetics
  • Extinction (Biology)
  • Genetic Engineering
  • Genetics
  • Genome, Human
  • Human Evolution
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Biology
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • QH 301 - 705.5: Biology
  • QH 359 - 425: Evolution
  • QH 426 - 470: Genetics
  • QH 471 - 489: Reproduction
  • QH 501 - 531: Life
  • QH 540 - 549.5: Ecology
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Concise Handbook of Experimental Methods for the Behavioral and Biological Sciences
    Ref QH 315 .G66 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics
    Ref QH 332 .E52 2004 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Evolution
    Ref QH 360.2 .O83 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Genetics
    Ref QH 427 .E532 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of the Life Sciences
    Ref QH 302.5 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Facts on File Dictionary of Biology
    Ref QH 302.5 .F38 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering
    Ref TP 248.16 .S84 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Dictionary of Biology
    Ref QH 302.5 .D54 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists resources about biology in the LMC. It includes books, periodicals, web sites and other useful sources for information.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013