Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Music

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. Search for individuals as subject or general keyword; other general subject headings include:
  • Jazz
  • Rock Music
  • Big Band Music
  • Rap (Music)
  • Hip Hop
Library of Congress Classification:
  • M: Music (general)
  • ML: Literature on Music
  • ML 385 - 489: Biography
  • ML 3531: Hip Hop. Rap.
  • ML 3506 -: Jazz
  • ML 3534 -: Rock Music.
  • ML 3524 -: Country.
  • ML 3518 -: Swing. Big Band.
  • MT: Instruction and Study
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Baker's Dictionary of the Opera
    Ref ML 102 .O6 B26 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Billboard Book of Top 40 Hits (1955-2003)
    Ref ML 156.4 .P6 W44 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Billboard Illustrated History of the Opera
    Ref ML 102 .O6 B55 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Music Production and Engineering Terminology
    Ref ML 102 .M85 W3 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music
    Ref ML 102 .G6 E63 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Country Music
    Ref ML 102 .C7 E54 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Indie Rock
    Ref ML 102 .R6 S63 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture
    Ref ML 102 .R6 C64 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture
    Ref ML 102 .R27 .B96 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
    Ref ML 100 .G16 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of rock History
    Ref ML 3534 .G754 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
    Ref ML 102 .P66 G84 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Icons of Hip Hop
    Ref ML 394 .I26 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Icons of R&B and Soul
    Ref ML 3479 .G85 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments
    Ref ML 102 .I5 I5 [ Catalog Record ]

  • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
    Ref ML 102 .J3 N48 [ Catalog Record ]

  • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
    Ref ML 100 .N48 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Companion to the American Musical
    Ref ML 102 .M88 H593 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Dictionary of Music
    Ref ML 100 .K35 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists Music resources in the LMC. It includes books, periodicals, web sites and other useful sources for information. The library does not have an audio collection of musical works.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013