LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > History: United States, 1870 to Present

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword, or browse in the subject classification areas.

E Classification. This is the general area for United States history, arranged in general historical or chronological sequence, and by Presidential administration.
F Classification. Area for works about individual states, arranged by region.

E 660 - 738: Late nineteenth century, 1865-1900.
E 740 - 837.7: Twentieth century.
E 838 - 999: Later twentieth century, 1961-2000.
HC 102 - : United States Economic History/Conditions.
F 806 -820: Arizona.

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

  • Almanacs of American Life: 1946-1990
    Ref E 741 .G76 [Catalog Record]

  • Almanacs of American LIfe: Modern America, 1914-1945
    Ref E 766 .G74 [Catalog Record]

  • Almanacs of American Life: Victorian America, 1876-1913
    Ref E 168 .S55 [Catalog Record]

  • Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
    Ref HA 202 .H57 2006 [Catalog Record]

Topic Selection Resources

Listed below are some call number areas in the collection to browse.
  • E 668: Reconstruction.
  • E 713: Annexation in 1989 of Hawaii, the Philippines, and Puerto Rico.
  • E 714 - 735: War of 1898 (Spanish-American War). Also DS 679.
  • E 780: Domestic history during World War I.
    [general World War I in D 511-619; World War II in D 734-821]
  • E 801 - 806: Great Depression and the New Deal [also HB 3717 1929 for the stock market crash of Oct. 1929]
  • D 842 - 843 and E 183.8 .S65: Cold War.
  • DS 918 - 919: Korean War.
  • E 842.9: Kennedy Assassination.
  • DS 556 - 559.9: Viet Nam War.
  • E 860 - 861: Watergate Affair.
  • DS 79.72: Persian Gulf War, 1991.
  • HV 6431 - 6432.5: World Trade Center attack.
  • DS 79.76: Iraqi War
Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

Subject Librarian
Image of Librarian
Edward McKennon

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009