LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > History: United States to 1870

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword, or browse in the subject classification areas.

E Classification. This is the general area for United States history, arranged in general historical or chronological sequence, and by Presidential administration.
F Classification. Area for works about individual states, arranged by region.

E 11 - 143: Early America.
E 75 - 99: Indians of North America. E 99: Individual tribes and cultures. E 81 - 83: Indian Wars.
E 101 - 135: Discovery and Exploration.
E 171 - 183.9: General U.S. History.
E 186 - 199: Colonial History.
E 199: French and Indian War.
E 201 - 298: Revolution, 1775 - 1783.
E 300 - 302.6: Revolution to the Civil War (general).
E 311 - 320: Washington Administration.
E 333: Louisiana Purchase.
E 337.8 - 400: Early nineteenth century, 1801/1809-1845.
E 401 - 415.2: Mexican War, 1846-1848.
E 441 - 449: Slavery. [also, E 184.5 -185.98]
E 456 - 655: Civil War period, 1861-1865.
E 668: Reconstruction.
HC 102: United States Economic History/Conditions.
F 806 -820: Arizona.

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • American Eras, 1783-1815
    Ref E 166 .A44 [Catalog Record]

  • American Eras, 1850-1877
    Ref E 166 .A48 [Catalog Record]

  • Colonial America
    Ref E 162 .C68 2006 [Catalog Record]

  • Colonial America to 1763
    Ref E 188 .P86 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of American History
    Ref E 174 .D52 2003 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of American Social History
    Ref HN 57 .E58 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
    Ref E 468 .E53 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War
    Ref E 208 .E64 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
    Ref E 404 .C93 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
    Ref E 301 .E53 2006 [Catalog Record]

  • Louisiana Purchase: A Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia
    Ref E 333 .L69 [Catalog Record]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

  • Almanac of American Life: Colonial America to 1763
    Ref E 188 .P86 1999 [Catalog Record]

  • Almanac of American Life: Revolutionary America, 1763-1800
    Ref E 162 .P86 [Catalog Record]

  • Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
    Ref HA 202 .H57 2006 [Catalog Record]

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

Subject Librarian
Image of Librarian
Edward McKennon

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009