LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Nutrition, Health & Fitness

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword, or browse in the subject classification areas.
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • GV 191.2 - 200.66: Outdoor Life. Outdoor Recreation.
  • GV 201 - 555: Physical Education and Training.
  • RA 601 - 602: Food and Food Supply in Relation to Public Health.
  • RM 214 - 258: Diet Therapy. Diet Cookbooks.
  • RM 695 - 893: Physical Medicine. Physical Therapy. Includes exercise.
  • TX 341 - 641: Nutrition.
  • TX 642 - 846: Cookery.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used
    Ref TX 551 .B64 2005 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Diet Fads
    Ref RM 222.2 .B535 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
    Ref QP 141 .E526 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
    Ref RA 784 .R646 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals, and Supplements
    Ref QP 771 .E53 [Catalog Record]

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition
    Ref RA 784 .G345 2008 [Catalog Record]

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: a Guide to Health and Nutrition
    Ref RA 784 .G345 [Catalog Record]

  • Krause's Food, Nutrition & Diet Therapy
    Ref RM 216 .M285 [Catalog Record]

  • Oxford Companion to Food
    Ref TX 349 .D36 2006 [Catalog Record]

  • Oxford Dictionary of Food & Nutrition
    Ref TX 349 .B4115 2005 [Catalog Record]

  • Wellness Encyclopedia of Food & Nutrition
    Ref TX 353 .M344 [Catalog Record]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide includes LMC resources and websites related to nutrition and physical fitness.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009