LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Sociology and Social Work

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword, or browse in the subject classification areas.
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • HM: Sociology (general).
  • HN: Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform.
  • HQ: The Family. Marriage. Women.
Directories

  • Directory of Human Services and Self Help Support Groups
    Ref RA 22 .P45 C58 [Catalog Record]

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Canadian encyclopedia of social work [electronic resource]
    HV12 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work
    Ref HV 35 .S6 2008 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Sociology
    Ref HM 425 .E5 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of sociology [electronic resource]
    Full-text available via Gale Virtual Reference Lib [Catalog Record]

  • Handbook of Empirical Social Work Practice
    Ref HV 43 .H316 [Catalog Record]

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
    H40.A2 I5 [Catalog Record]

  • Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
    Ref HN 57 .S624 2006 [Catalog Record]

  • Social Work Dictionary
    Ref HV 12 .B37 2003 [Catalog Record]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists resources related to Sociolgy and Social Work in the LMC . It includes books, periodicals, web sites and other useful sources for information.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009