LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Philosophy

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Choose the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and other sources using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some databases we recommend using for this topic: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the Library Media Center (LMC) homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by a particular author, title, or subject. For subjects, search under the branch of philosophy, the philosophical movement, the philosopher, the theory or doctrine, or a particular Oriental philosophy. Some examples of subject headings include:
  • Aesthetics
  • Confucianism
  • Existentialism
  • Immanuel Kant
  • Logic
  • Reason
  • Semantics
  • Shinto
  • Skepticism
  • Socrates
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • B 1-5802: Philosophy (General)
  • BC 1-199: Logic
  • BD 10-701: Speculative Philosophy
  • BH 1-301: Aesthetics
  • BJ 1-1725: Ethics
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Listed below are many of the Reference resources on this subject. They can be found in the Reference Collection at the west end of the Main Campus LMC. Books are arranged by Library of Congress Classification numbers. Please ask for assistance when searching for a book the first time. Web Sites

Below are listed a sample of websites on this subject. To find others, please ask a librarian for assistance.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources in Philosophy, including books, periodical databases, and web sites.

Subject Librarian
Image of Librarian
Mark Floor

Guide Created By
Mark Floor



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009