LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Mythology

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and other sources by using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some databases we recommend using for this topic: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the Library Media Center (LMC) homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Mythology
  • Folklore
  • Legends
  • Gods
  • Indian Mythology (for general Native American)
  • Use subject keyword on the pull down menu to search mythology with ethnic groups. For Example, Celtic Mythology, African Mythology, Hopi Mythology, Viking Mythology, Norse Mythology, etc.
Library of Congress Classification
  • BL 300-325: Myth and Comparative Mythology
  • GR 1-950: Folklore
Reference Sources

Specialized Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks are a good source for basic information. The resources in this section can be located in the Reference collection (low shelves, west end of the Main Campus LMC). Books are arranged by Library of Congress Classification numbers.
Please ask for assistance when searching for a book the first time.
  • Anthology of American Folktales and Legends
    Ref GR105 .A67 2009 [Catalog Record - (GCC North Only)]

  • Dictionary of African Mythology
    Ref BL 2400 .S24 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
    Ref BL 900 .M445 1998 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
    Ref GR 111 .M49 C37 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore, and Symbols
    Ref GR 35 .J6 1961 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Native American Mythology
    Ref E 98 .R3 G46 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of Norse Myth and Legend
    Ref BL 860 . 73 1997 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of American Folklore
    Ref GR105 .W38 2007 [Catalog Record - (GCC North Only)]

  • Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
    Ref BL 303 .M45 [Catalog Record]

  • Goddesses in World Mythology
    Ref BL 473.5 .A66 1993 [Catalog Record]

  • Golden Bough, The
    Ref BL 310 .F72 [Catalog Record]

  • Guide to the Gods
    Ref BL 473 .C37 [Catalog Record]

  • Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology
    Ref BL 310 .G853 [Catalog Record]

  • Man, Myth, and Magic
    Ref BF 1407 .M34 1995 [Catalog Record]

  • Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs
    Ref GR 35 .M43 2000 [Catalog Record]

  • Mythology for Storytellers: Themes and Tales from Around the World
    Ref BL 312 .S54 2003 [Catalog Record]

  • Mythology of All Races
    Ref BL 25 .M8 [Catalog Record]

  • Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins: An Encyclopedia of the Little People
    Ref GR 549 .R65 1996 [Catalog Record]

  • Standard Dictionary of Folklore
    Ref GR 35 .F82 [Catalog Record]

  • World Mythology
    Ref BL 311 .W66 [Catalog Record]

Web Sites

Below are listed a sample of websites on this subject. To find others, please ask a librarian for assistance.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide list basic resources associated with the study of mythology. For more information, be sure to consult a librarian.

Subject Librarian
Image of Librarian
Mark Floor

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009