LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Biography

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Biographical Resources - General

Biographical Dictonaries are similar to language dictionaries - very concise entries (usually) about a person. Resources with the Library of Congress classification number are books; others are web sites. Biographical Resources: by Ethnicity or Gender

  • Contemporary Black Biography
    Ref E 185.96 .C66 [Catalog Record]

  • Dictionary of American Negro Biogrphy
    Ref E 185.96 .L6 1982 [Catalog Record]

  • Notable American Women: 1607-1950
    Ref CT 3260 .N57 [Catalog Record]

  • Notable American Women: The Modern Period
    Ref CT 3260 .N573 [Catalog Record]

  • Notable Black American Scientists
    Ref Q 141 .N726 1999 [Catalog Record]

  • Notable Black American Women
    Ref E 185.96 .N68 1996 [Catalog Record]

  • Who Was Who in Native American History
    Ref E 89 .W35 1990 [Catalog Record]

Biography Resources: by Subject Area

There are biographical resources in many subject areas - art, literature, politics, history, science, film, religion. Some examples are listed below. Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. There is not a separate biography section in the LMC. Biographies will be found in the respective subject area, i.e., biographies about athletes will be in the sports area (GV), scientists in the science area (Q), biographies about painters in the art (N) section, etc. Context: the World in which a Person Lived

These references are arranged chronologically and list events in a variety of categories, such as politics, music, art, social history, and the sciences.
  • American Chronicle: Six Decades in American Life 1920-1980
    Ref E 169.1 .G665 1987 [Catalog Record]

  • Passing Parade: A History of Popular Culture in the Twentieth Century
    Ref CB 151 .P27 1989 [Catalog Record]

  • People's Chronology: a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present
    Ref D 11 .T83 1992 [Catalog Record]

  • This Fabulous Century (8 vols.)
    Ref E 161 .T55 1985 [Catalog Record]

Indexes

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

The selected publications listed provide basic information about an individual. Call numbers are provided so that you can locate the books in the collection.




LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009