Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Religion

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Choose the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and other sources using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some databases we recommend using for this topic: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the Library Media Center (LMC) homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. Search under the name of the religion, denomination, sect, or belief system directly, or you can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some examples of other subject headings (among many) include:
  • Bhagavadgita. (Bhagavad-Gita)
  • Book of Revelation.
  • Dao de jing. (Tao Te Ching)
  • Dead Sea Scrolls.
  • Laozi. (Lao Tzu)
  • New Age movement
  • Religion and culture -- [country]
  • Santeria
  • Shaman
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • BL 1 - 2790: Religions. Mythology. Rationalism.
  • BL 1100 - 1295: Hinduism.
  • BL 2017 - 2018.7: Sikhism.
  • BM 1 - 990: Judaism.
  • BP 1 - 610: Islam. Bahai Faith.
  • BQ 1 - 9800: Buddhism.
  • BR: Christianity.
  • BS: Bible.
  • BS 701- 1830: Old Testament
  • BS 1901 - 2970: New Testament.
  • BT: Doctrinal Theology.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Listed below are many of the Reference resources on this subject. They can be found in the Reference Collection at the west end of the Main Campus LMC. Books are arranged by Library of Congress Classification numbers. Please ask for assistance when searching for a book the first time.
  • American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia
    Ref E 98 .R3 C755 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity
    Ref BX 100.7 .B53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Contemporary American Religion
    Ref BL 2525 .C65 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs
    Ref BR 66.5 .D53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
    Ref BS 440 .E44 2000 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism
    Ref BQ 128 .E62 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
    Ref BR 162.2 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
    Ref BP 40 .E525 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. Updated ed.
    Ref E 98 .R3 H73 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Religion
    Ref BL 31 .E46 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
    Ref BL 31 .E47 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Sikh Religion and Culture
    Ref BL 2017.3 .D64 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Handbook of Denominations in the United States, 11th ed.
    Ref BL 2525 .M425 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Introduction to the World's Major Religions
    Ref BL 80.3 .I58 [ Catalog Record ]

  • New Encyclopedia of Judaism
    Ref BM 50 .E63 [ Catalog Record ]

  • New Interpreter's Bible
    Ref BS 491.2 .N484 [ Catalog Record ]

  • New Strong's Expanded Concordance to the Bible
    Ref BS 425 .S8 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Religions of the World
    Ref BL 80.3 .R45 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism
    Ref BL 1840 .R68 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Science, Religion, and Controversy
    Ref BL 240.3 .S37 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
    Ref BL 80.3 .W67 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are library subscriptions to print journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in these and other related journals, use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

Web Sites

Below are listed a sample of websites on this subject. To find others, please ask a librarian for assistance.
Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources in Religion, including books, periodical databases, and web sites.

Subject Librarian
Image of Librarian
Mark Floor

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013