LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Education

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Career Education
  • Charter Schools
  • Children of Migrant Laborers--Education
  • Education -- [subheadings]
  • Education, Bilingual
  • Education, Elementary
  • Education, Secondary
  • Home Schooling
  • Multicultural Education
  • School Choice
  • Special Education
  • Teachers -- [subheadings]
  • Wages, Effect of Education On
  • Women in Education
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • LA : History of Education
  • LB : Theory and Practice of Education
  • LB 1059.9 - 1091: Educational Psychology
  • LB 1101 - 1139: Child Study
  • LB 1139.2 - 1139.5: Early Childhood Education
  • LB 1140 - 1140.5: Preschool Education
  • LB 1141 - 1489: Kindergarten
  • LB 1501 - 1547: Primary Education
  • LB 1603 - 1696: Secondary Education. High Schools.
  • LB 1705 - 2286: Education and Training of Teachers.
  • LB 2300 - 2430: Higher Education.
  • LC 37 - 44.3: Home Education.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of Multicultural Education
    Ref LC 1099 .D53 [Catalog Record]

  • Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia
    Ref LB 1139.23 .E272 [Catalog Record]

  • Education State Rankings
    Ref LA 217.2 .E382 [Catalog Record]

  • Educational Measurement
    Ref LB 3051 .E266 2006 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of American Education
    Ref LB 17 .U54 2001 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
    Ref LC 3707 .E523 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Education
    Ref LB 15 .E47 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
    Ref LB 15 .E473 2005 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Educational Research
    Ref LB 15 .E48 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
    Ref LC 1099.3 .M58 [Catalog Record]

  • Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Ref LC 4007 .E53 [Catalog Record]

  • Greenwood Dictionary of Education
    Ref LB 15 .G68 [Catalog Record]

  • Handbook of Educational Psychology
    Ref LB 1051 .H2354 [Catalog Record]

  • Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia
    Ref LA 225 .H54 [Catalog Record]

  • Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and Practice
    Ref LC 151 .L487 [Catalog Record]

  • Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia
    Ref LB 2822.82 .S82 [Catalog Record]

  • World Education Encyclopedia
    Ref LB 15 .W87 [Catalog Record]

  • Youth, Education, and Sexualities: An International Encyclopedia
    Ref LC 192.6 .Y68 [Catalog Record]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Journals - Electronic

Also search the databases in the "Articles" section above for other journals available in full-text from the library's database subscriptions. Direct access to online journals may require a subscription or registration. Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources in education, including books, databases, and web sites. See also LMC Guide "Colleges" for directory information.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009