Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > African Americans

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include: LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION RANGE(S):
  • E 185 African-Americans
  • E 185.61 African-Americans--Civil Rights
  • E 185.8 African-Americans--Economic Conditions
  • LC 2701-2853 African-Americans--Education
  • PS 153 .N5 American Literature--African-American Authors
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • African American Experience (db)

  • African American Writers
    Ref PS 153 .N5 A344 2001 [ Catalog Record ]

  • African-American Firsts in Science and Technology
    Q141 .W43 1999 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Afro-American writers after 1955 : dramatists and prose writers
    PS 21 .D5 1978 v.38 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Black Firsts
    Ref E 185 .B574 1994 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Blacks in Science and Medicine
    Ref Q 141 .B58 1990 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Civil rights Chronicle: The African-American Struggle for Freedom
    Ref JC 599 .U5 C558 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Companion to the Civil Rights Movement
    Ref E 185.61 .G895 1993 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights
    Ref E 185.61 .E54 1992 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of African-American civil rights : from emancipation to the present
    Ref E 185.61 .E54 1992 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
    Ref E 185 .E54 1996 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of African-American literature
    PS153.N5 E48 2007 [ Catalog Record - (GCC North Only) ]

  • Encyclopedia of Black America
    Ref E 185 .E55 1994 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights
    Ref E 185.61 .E54 2003 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature
    Ref PS 153 .N5 G73 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Encyclopedia
    REF E185.97.K5 M334 2008 [ Catalog Record - (GCC North Only) ]

  • Notable Black American Scientists
    Ref Q 141 .N726 1999 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Notable Black American Women
    Ref E 185.96 .N68 1996 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Reference Library of Black America
    Ref E 185 .R435 1994 [ Catalog Record ]

  • St. James Guide to Black Artists
    Ref N 40 .S78 1997 [ Catalog Record ]

Handbooks and Almanacs

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources for African American Studies, including books, databases, and web sites.




Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013