LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Cinema, Movies and Film

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject.
Newspaper indexes are great places to find reviews of films for any given time period. Below are some typical databases:
Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Boooks and DVD/VHS and other media are shelved together. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Motion Pictures
  • Cinematography
  • [individual performers, directors, producers, etc.]
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • PN 1992 - 1998: Motion Pictures (most films in our collection on DVDs and VHS tapes are located in this area)
  • TR 845 - TR 899: Cinematography
Film Reviews

Also search the databases listed above in the Articles section, such as MasterFile Premier and Info Trac Power Search, for reviews of current films. General Reference Books

This section includes both print sources and web sites. Print sources have a Library of Congress (LC) Classification number with a link to the catalog. Web sites do not have LC Classification numbers. Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists some basic information resources for films.




LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009