LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Medicine and Nursing

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

MAGAZINE, JOURNAL and NEWSPAPER articles can be located using Periodical Indexes or Electronic Databases. These databases should normally be your first stop to search for articles in professional journals. GCC students with an active eGCC account can access these without charge.
Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases:
Books and eBooks

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Library of Congress classifications:

R: Medicine (general).
More specialized areas are:
  • RB - Pathology
  • RC - Internal Medicine
  • RD - Surgery
  • RJ - Pediatrics
  • RM - Therapeutics, Pharmacology
  • RS - Pharmacy
  • RT - Nursing
  • RX - Homeopathy
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

This section includes both print and online resources. Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Diagnostic Tests

  • Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: with Nursing Implications
    Ref RB 38.2 .S37 [Catalog Record]

  • Handbook of Diagnostic Tests
    Ref RC 71 .P76 [Catalog Record]

  • Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis
    Ref RT 486 .C385 [Catalog Record]

  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy
    Ref RC 55 .M4 [Catalog Record]

  • Prentice-Hall's Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests: with Nursing Implications
    Ref RB 38.2 .K44 [Catalog Record]

  • Professional Guide to Diseases
    Ref RT 65 .P69 [Catalog Record]

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Drugs

Journal Subscriptions

This sections contains both print (paper) and online journals. Numerous online or electronic journals are available on the web, and the links listed below direct you to some. However, e-journals may charge a fee to view or retrieve articles. The databases listed above in the "Articles..." section provide free access to full-texts of articles for GCC students with eGCC accounts.

This Glendale Community College Electronic Journals lists journals available in full-text in our databases (see "Articles") above) that are available in various subject categories.
Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists print and electronic resources in the fields of medicine and nursing. It includes links to relevant web sites. Librarians cannot interpret information provided in these sources. Consultation with a physician is recommended.




LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: April 07, 2009