Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > American Cultures

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • African Americans
  • Asian Americans
  • Chinese Americans
  • Japanese Americans
  • Indians of North America
Library of Congress Classification:
  • E 75 - 99: American Indians: use Indians of North America (or individual tribal names) when searching the catalog
  • E 184 .O6 --: Asian Americans
  • E 184.5 --: African-Americans/Black Americans: E 184.5 --
  • E 184 .J6: Jewish-Americans
  • E 184 .S75: Hispanic/Latino
  • E 184 .A64: Arab-American
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • African-American Almanac
    Ref E 185 .A45 1994 [ Catalog Record ]

  • African-American Culture and History
    Ref E 185 .E54 1996 [ Catalog Record ]

  • American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
    Ref E 184 .A1 A63448 1997 [ Catalog Record ]

  • American Indians
    Ref E 76.2 .A45 [ Catalog Record ]

  • American Jewish Desk Reference
    Ref E 184. 35 .A44 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Arab-American Encyclopedia
    Ref E 184 .A65 A48 2000 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian-American Encyclopedia
    Ref E 184 .O6 A827 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Blackwell Companion of Jewish Culture
    Ref DS 102.8 .B46 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
    Ref E 76.2 .W35 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
    Ref E 184 .A1 G14 1995 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Hispanic-American Almanac
    Ref E 184 .S75 H557 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Latino Encyclopedia
    Ref E 184 .S75 L357 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia
    Ref E 76.2 .N36 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Native North American Almanac
    Ref E 75 .N397 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States
    Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Reference Library of Hispanic America
    Ref E 184 .S75 R44 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources about American cultural groups, including books, periodicals, databases, and web sites. Also check our LMC Guides for specific American cultures.




Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013