Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Asian Americans

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. . To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Asian American Women
  • Asian Americans
  • Asian Americans in [literature, medicine, etc.]
  • Chinese Americans
  • Filipino Americans
  • Hmong Americans
  • Japanese Americans
  • Korean Americans
  • Vietnamese Americans
Library of Congress Classification:
  • E 184 - 185.98 : Asian Americans
  • E 184 .C5 -- : Chinese Americans
  • E 184 .J3 -- : Japanese Americans
  • E 184 .K6 -- : Korean Americans
  • E 184 .V3 -- : Vietnamese Americans
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
    Ref E 184 .A1 A63448 1997 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian American Almanac
    Ref E 184 .A75 U942 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian American Biography
    Ref E 184 . A75 U943 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian American Chronology
    Ref E 184 .A75 U944 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian American Literature
    Ref PS 153 .A84 A82 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian American Voices
    Ref E 184 .A75 U945 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Asian-American Encyclopedia
    Ref E 184 .O6 A827 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
    Ref E 184 .O6 D57 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
    Ref E 184 .A1 G14 1995 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Japanese American History: An A to Z Reference from 1868 to the Present
    Ref E 184 .J3 J3355 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists basic, selected resources for Asian Americans, including books, periodical databases, and web sites. You may also want to see resources listed on the LMC Guide: American Cultures.




Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013