Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > World Cultures

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • Culture Shock [country] (e.g., Culture Shock Japan)
  • National Characteristics, [nationality] (e.g, National Characteristics, Japanese
  • Etiquette [country]
  • [Country] Social Life and Customs
  • Manners and customs
  • Intercultural Communication
  • [Country]--Description and Travel--Guidebooks
Cultural Etiquette and Manners

  • Culture Shock series more info
    General Collection - by country [ Catalog Record ]

  • Culturegrams more info
    Ref GT 150 .C85 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Do's and Taboos Around the World
    HF 5387 .D66 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Do's and Taboos Around the World for Women in Business
    G 156.5 .B86 D67 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Do's and Taboos for Hosting International Visitors
    HF 5389 .A98 [ Catalog Record ]

  • How to Be a Perfect Stranger: A Guide to Etiquette in Other People's Religious Ceremonies
    Ref BJ 2010 .M34 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Kiss, Bow or Shake hands
    Ref HF 5389 .M67 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Multicultural Manners: New Rules of Etiquette in a Changing Society
    Ref BJ 1853 .D74 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Perfect Stranger's Guide to Funerals and Grieving Practices
    Ref BJ 2071 .P47 [ Catalog Record ]

Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • Countries and Their Cultures
    Ref GN 307 .C68 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Cultural Atlas of Africa
    Ref DT 14 .M83 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Cultural Atlas of China
    Ref DS 721 .B56 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Cultural Atlas of India
    Ref DS 421 .J6 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union
    Ref DK 32 .M62 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
    Ref DC 33.7 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
    Ref DD 290.26 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture
    Ref DG 450 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
    Ref DS 822.5 .E515 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
    Ref F 1406 .E515 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
    Ref DP 233.5 .E63 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
    Ref GN 307 .E52 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
    Ref GN 333 .W67 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of World Cultures
    Ref GN 307 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
    Ref F 1218.6 .O95 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
    Ref DS 35.53 .O95 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Peoples of the Earth
    Ref GN 315 .P417 [ Catalog Record ]

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists some basic resources to locate information on cultures of the world. See also the LMC guide "International: Country, Business, and Travel."




Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013