Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Psychology

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and Media Materials

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:

  • Self-help techniques
  • Mental Illness - Treatment
  • Phobias
  • Anxiety
  • Abnormal Psychology
  • Animal Experimentation
  • Child Psychology
  • Ego (Psychology)
  • Gestalt Psychology
  • Love
  • Personality
  • Psychology, Comparative
  • Psychotherapy
  • Schizophrenia
  • Behaviorism (Psychology)
  • Compulsive Behavior
  • Development Psychology
  • Emotion
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • Motivation
  • Psychology, Applied
  • Psychology, Industrial
  • Panic Disorders
  • Self-Destructive Behaviors

Library of Congress Classifications:
Some typical areas are listed below. Clinical and therapeutic aspects of psychology are located in the RC area.

  • BF: Psychology. (general area)
  • BF 173 - 175.5: Psychoanalysis.
  • BF 176 - 176.5: Psychological Testing.
  • BF 180 - 198.7: Experimental Psychology.
  • BF 637 .S4: Self-Actualization (Self-help, Success)
  • BF 697 - 697.5: Differential Psychology. Individuality. Self.
  • BF 698 - 698.9: Personality.
  • BF 712 - 724.85: Developmental Psychology (infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence)
  • RC 321 - 571: Neurosciences. Biological Psychiatry.
  • RC 435 - 571: Psychiatry
  • RC 500 - 571: Psychoanalysis
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists resources about Psychology in the LMC . It includes books, periodicals, web sites and other useful sources for information.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013