Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Help > Guides > Native Americans

Articles (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Use the “Articles & Databases” link on the library home page to retrieve articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers using the library’s databases. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. GCC ‘s general and subject-specific databases may have articles on your subject. Below are some typical databases: Books and eBooks

Use the Books and Video link on the LMC homepage to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
  • [search by individual or tribal name]
  • Indians of North America--
  • (general)
Library of Congress Classifications:
  • E 51 - 73: Pre-Columbian America. Indians.
  • E 81 - 83: Indian Wars.
  • E 99: Indian Tribes and Cultures. (sub-organized by tribe, e.g. E 99 .N3 for Navajo.
Encyclopedia and Dictionaries

  • 500 Tribes: An Illustrated History of North American Indians
    Ref E 77 .J787 [ Catalog Record ]

  • A to Z of American Indian Women
    Ref E 98 .W8 S65 [ Catalog Record ]

  • American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia
    Ref E 98 .R3 C755 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Atlas of the North American Indian
    Ref E 77 .195 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
    Ref KF 8210 .C5 E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian Culture
    Ref E 98 .C8 P37 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature
    Ref PS 153 .I52 .E53 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian Wars
    Ref E 81 .K44 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian's Contributions to the World
    Ref E 54.5 .K46 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. Updated ed.
    Ref E 98 .R3 H73 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
    Ref E 76.2 .W35 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Federal Indian Law (Felix S. Cohen)
    Ref KF 8205 .A33 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Handbook of North American Indians
    Ref E 76.2 .H36 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Indian Placenames in America
    Ref E 98 .N2 N47 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
    Ref PS 153 .I52 W47 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Native American Rights Movement
    Ref KF 8203.36 .G76 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Reference Library of Native North America
    Ref E 76.2 .R43 [ Catalog Record ]

  • Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations
    Ref E 93 .T55 [ Catalog Record ]

Journal Subscriptions

Listed below are some of the LMC subscriptions to journals in this subject area. Some of these are also available in electronic format. To search for specific articles and subjects in many journals use databases listed above in the "Articles" section. To search for specific journal titles in paper and electronic formats, use Find Journal Titles link here or on the home page. Primary Sources - Original Texts

Statistics

Web Sites

Order by:
Title | Category

Limit to:
Databases | Online |
No Limits

Display Detail:
List Only | Brief

Location:
North | Main |
No Limits

Related Links Box
Related Information Box

This guide lists resources about Native Americans in the LMC. It includes books, periodicals, web sites and other useful sources for information.

Guide Created By
Russ Sears



Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: May 06, 2013