Accunet/AP Photo Archive This is a subscription database that contains over 50 million images from the AP archives (includes photographs, graphs, etc.).

NYPL Library Digital Gallery A searchable database from the New York Public Library. It contains 275,000 photographs and manuscripts from its collection. More will be added.

Picsearch.com "Picsearch is a search engine for pictures and images and has many features which make it unique. It has a relevancy unrivalled on the web due to it's patent-pending indexing algorithms. Also, Picsearch has a family friendliness that allows children to surf in safety as all offensive material is filtered out by our advanced filtering systems. The site is also very user friendly as it's designed to be both simple, fast and accurate. Due to all of these features, Picsearch is perfect for fun, school, business and family! Picsearch is of course free to use and can be utilised from either www.picsearch.com or from licensing partners' sites." (Picsearch)

Wikipedia A long list of places on the web to find free images by entering this space, you are in the realm of the webspace known as a "wiki"- sure, it looks like a plain old web page, but wikis are open places where any site visitor can be a site author. It sounds strange and scary until you step in.... "There are a number of sources of public domain images on the Web. The presence of a resource on this list does not guarantee that all or any of the images in it are in the public domain: you are still responsible for checking the copyright status of images before you submit them to Wikipedia." (Wikipedia)

Search Engines You can also locate image from various search engines, such as AlltheWeb, Altavista, Google and Yahoo. Some periodical databases, such as Expanded Academic ASAP and EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier, also have image files.

Related Information Box

Images and photographs are available from a variety of web sites and library databases.

This page lists a small selection of sites that may be useful to students.


Quick Links Box

Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112
Building: (GCN B) "Beshibito"
Circulation: (623) 845-4109
Reference: (623) 845-4112

Page maintained by GCC Libraries Web Advisory Team


Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Maricopa County Community College District


Last modified: Monday February 03 2014