Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "The Chrysanthemums" by John Steinbeck.

Reference Books

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (Ref PN 771 .C59) Volume(s):
    • 9: 516, 519
    • 21: 391-392
    • 34: 415
    • 45: 382
  • Short Story Criticism (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume(s):
    • 11: 207, 210, 214, 221, 223-37, 240-41, 244
    • 37: 321-362
    • . Most essays reproduced in full text in Literature Criticism Online database.
  • Short Stories for Students (Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume(s):
    • 6: 59-82
  • Masterplots: Short Story Series (Ref PN 3326 .M27) Volume(s):
    • 2: 640-

Biographical Information (Reference Collection)

  • American Writers Vol. 4 (Ref PS 129 .A55)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Twentieth Century American Dramatists (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 7)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists, 1910-1945 (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 9)

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Beach, Joseph W. American Fiction, 1920-1940. (PS 379 .B38) (pp. 311-14)
  • Davis, Robert Murray. Steinbeck: A Collection of Critical Essays. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z625)
  • French, Warren G. John Steinbeck's Fiction Revisited. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z652 1994) (pp. 62-64)
  • Hughes, R. S. Beyond the Red Pony: A Reader's Companion to Steinbeck's Complete Short Stories.(PS 3537 .T3234 Z7146 1987) (pp. 3, 33, 52-56, 58-62, 64, 67, 97, 105, 106, 126-127)
  • Hughes, R. S. John Steinbeck: A Study of the Short Fiction. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z7147 1989) (pp. 7, 14, 15, 17, 21-27, 70, 98, 100, 116, 154-65)
  • Kempton, Kenneth. Short Stories for Study. (PN 3373 .K39) (pp. 120-24)
  • Rohrberger, Mary. "The Question of Regionalism: Limitation and Transcendence." in The American Short Story, 1900-1945. Ed. Philip Stevick (PS 374 .S5 A366) (pp. 179-80)
  • Schultz, Jeffrey and Luchen Li. Critical Companion to John Steinbeck. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z86623 2005) (pp. 50-52)
  • Swisher, Clarice, Ed. Readings on John Steinbeck. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z855 1996) (pp. 30-32, 36)
  • Timmerman, John H. The Dramatic Landscape of Steinbeck's Short Stories. (PS 3537 .T3234 Z927 1990) (pp. 12, 38, 169-177, 234, 283)

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)

Articles

Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Academic OneFile, MasterFILE Premier, and JSTOR for recent journal articles like those posted below.

Revised and updated by Russ Sears, Fall, 2008.

Updated by Allison Ringnes, Fall, 2012.


Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Tuesday December 11 2012