This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "A Doll's House (Et dukkehjem)" by Henrik Ibsen.
Reference Books
- Masterplots, Revised Second Edition (Ref PN 44 .M33) Volume(s):
- Drama Criticism (Ref PN 1601 .D59) Volume(s):
- 2: 283, 290, 292-309, 312-16, 329, 331, 337
- Drama for Students (Ref PN 1701 .D73) Volume(s):
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (Ref PN 771 .T86) Volume(s):
- 2: 223-26, 228-30, 233, 235, 237, 240-41
- 8: 143, 146-48, 150-53
- 16: 154, 156, 169, 175, 187, 189
- 37: 219-64
- 52: 143, 155, 158, 162, 184, 191
General Collection Books (may be checked out)
Note; Reference provide author, title, and call number location only.
- Adams, Robert. Strains of Discord: Studies in Literary Openness. (PN 511 .A43 (pp. 34-51)
- Bloom, Harold, ed. Henrik Ibsen. (PT 8895 .H43 1999)
- Brandes, Georg Morris Cohen. Creative Spirits of the Nineteenth Century. (PN 766 .B6 1967) See chapter on Ibsen.
- Lucas, F. L. The Drama of Ibsen and Strindberg. (PT 8890 .L78) [A Doll's House, pp. 129-253]
- Readings on 'A Doll's House.' Ed. Hayley Mitchell. (PT 8861 .R43 1999)
- Valency, Maurice. The Flower and the Castle: Introduction to Modern Drama. (PN 1851 .V3) (pp. 149-259)
- Williams, Raymond. Drama from Ibsen to Brecht. (PN 1851 .W5 1968) (pp.47-50)
E-Books
- Blood, Harold, ed. Henrik Ibsen. Bloom's Major Dramatists Series. Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 1999. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
- Birnbaum, Phyllis. Modern Girls, Shining Stars, the Skies of Tokyo: 5 Japanese Women. New York: Columbia UP, 1999. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
- Egan, Michael, ed. Henrik Ibsen. London: Routledge, 1972 [2003]. ebrary
- Hull, Mary. Censorship in America: A Reference Handbook. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
- Ibsen, Henrik. A Doll's House: A Play. Full text available at Project Gutenberg: http:www.gutenberg.org/etext/2542.
- Innes, Christopher, ed. A Sourcebook on Naturalist Theatre. London: Routledge. ebrary. [A Doll's House, pp. 78-83]
- Schultz, Nancy Lusignan. Fear Itself: Enemies Real & Imagined in American Culture. West Lafayette, IN: Purdue UP, 1999. netLibrary
- Sturman, Marianne. Ibsen's Ghosts, An Enemy of the People, The Wild Duck. Cliffs Notes. Lincoln, NE: Cliffs Notes, 1965. netLibrary
Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)
Articles
Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.
Revised and updated by Sheila Afnan-Manns, Fall, 2008.
Updated by Allison Ringness, Fall, 2012. |