Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for literary criticism of "A Good Man Is Hard To Find" by Flannery O'Connor.

Reference Books

    Volume numbers in bold followed by page numbers.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism, (Ref PN 771 .C59) Volume(s):
    • 1: 251,255;
    • 2: 317
    • 3:366, 368
    • 6: 381
    • 10: 368
    • 15: 408, 412
    • 21: 256; 263, 270, 272
    • 66: 313, 330
    • 104: 105, 107, 117, 128, 138, 173, 175
  • Masterplots II Short Story Series, (Ref PN 3326 .M27)
    • 3: 1589 - 1592
  • Short Story Criticism, (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume(s):
    • 1: 339, 344, 347-49, 356, 358, 360-363, 371
    • 23: 178-241 Essays reproduced online in Literature Criticism Online database.
    • 61: 143, 146-47, 151-156; 169, 172, 186, 188-89, 197, 200, 214-216, 218, 227-30, 232, 234, 240-1
    • 82: 43-44, 50, 110, 124, 167
    • 111: 48, 50, 54, 77, 95, 99-100, 102, 106, 108
  • Short Stories for Students (Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume(s):
    • 2: 97-114 Some essays reproduced in Literature Resource Center database.
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (Ref PN 771 .T86) Volume(s):
    • 132: 227-368

Biographical Information (Reference Collection)

  • American Writers, Vol. 3 (Ref PS 129 .A55)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists Since World War II (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 2)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists Since World War II, Fourth Series (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 152)
  • Modern American Women Writers (Ref PS 151 .M54 1991)

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Baumgaertner, Jill P. Flannery O'Connor: A Proper Scaring. Wheaton, IL: Shaw, 1988. (PS 3565 .C57 Z584)
  • Bloom, Harold, ed. Flannery O'Connor. New York: Chelsea House, 1986. (PS 3565 .C57 Z6678)
  • Brinkmeyer, Robert H., Jr. The Art and Vision of Flannery O'Connor. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1989. (PS 3565 .C57 Z587 1989)
  • Friedman, Melvin J. and Beverly Lyon Clark, eds. Critical Essays on Flannery O'Connor. New York: Chelsea House, 1986. (PS 3565 .C57 Z64)
  • Kirk, Connie Ann. Critical Companion to Flannery O'Connor. New York: Facts on File, 2008. (PS 3565 .C57 Z735 2008)
  • Paulson, Suzanne, Morrow. Flannery O'Connor: A Study of the Short fiction. Boston: Twayne, 1988. (PS 3565 .C57 Z83 1988)

E-Books

  • Dibble, Terry J. O'Connor's Short Stories. Lincoln, NE: Cliffs, 1986. netLibrary

Online Resources (Reference articles and Databases)

Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • Bethea, Arthur F. "O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find." Explicator 64 (2006): 239-42. [LION - Literature Online]
  • Edgecombe, Rodney, Stenning. "O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find." The Explicator 64 (2005): 56-58. [General OneFile/Academic OneFile]
  • Keil. Katherine. "O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find.'" Explicator 65 (2006): 44-47. [LION - Literature Online]
  • Link, Alex. "Means. Meaning and mediated Space in 'A Good Man is Hard to Find.'" Southern Quarterly 44 (2007): 125-138. [LION - Literature Online]
  • Mitchell, Mark T. "The Melancholy Tyrant: Democracy and Tyranny in Flannery O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find.'" Perspectives on Political Science 34 (2005): 211-216. [General OneFile/Academic OneFile]
  • Nester, Nancy L. "O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find.'" The Explicator 64 (2006): 115-118. [General OneFile/Academic OneFile]
  • Piwinski, David J. "'Gone With the Wind' in Flannery O'Connor's 'A Good Man is Hard to Find': An anagogical biblical Allusion." English Language Notes 38 (2001): 74-76. [General OneFile/Academic OneFile]
Revised and updated by Kris Vanderlee, Fall, 2008.

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Wednesday February 20 2013