This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "Hamlet" by William Shakespeare.
Reference Books
- Masterplots, Revised Second Edition, (Ref PN 44 .M33) Volume(s):
- The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare, (Ref PR 2976 .G739 2005) Volume(s):
- Shakespeare for Students (Ref PR 2987 .S47) Volume(s):
- Shakespeare Survey (Ref PR 2888 .C3) Volume(s):
- 9: entire volume contains essays on Hamlet
- 45: Hamlet and Its Afterlife
- Shakespearean Criticism (Ref PR 2965 .S43) In addition to the volumes listed, use the indiex of the latest volume to locate specific characters, themes, etc. in the play. Volume(s):
- 1: 70-281
- 13: 268-303, 487, 523
- 16: 246-271
- 19: 330-343
- 21: 1-245
- 22: 258-270, 339, 364
- 25: 209-217, 288-295
- 28: 232-242, 280-289, 290-300, 311-324
- 32: 238-248, 284-293
- 35: 81-245-268
- 37: 241-268
- 42: 217-222, 284-300
- 44: 106-259
- 48: 195-205, 255-263
- 59: 1-88
- 71: 1-102
- 82: 1-81
- 83: 63-66, 83-100
- 92: 1-97
- 102: 63-202
- 111: 72-193
General Collection Books (may be checked out)
Note: References provide author, title, and call number location only.
- Barnet, Sylvan, ed. The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark; with new and updated critical essays and a revised bibliography. (PR 2807 .A2 B287 1998)
- Bloom, Harold. William Shakespeare's Hamlet. (PR 2807 .W456 2004) Also 1986 and 1996 editions.
- Bloom, Harold. Hamlet: Poem Unlimited. (PR 2897 .B617 2003) (4 copies)
- Bloom, Harold. Hamlet: Major Literary Characters. (PR 2807 .H26237 2004)
- Bloom, Harold. Hamlet: Shakespeare's Hamlet. (PR 2807 .W456 2004)
- Bloom, Harold. Hamlet: Shakespeare Through the Ages. (PR 2807 .H2623725 2008)
- Bradley, A. C. Shakespearean Tragedy. (PR 2983 .B7 1991)
- Corum, Richard. Understanding Hamlet: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. (PR 2807 .C67 1998)
- Dodsworth, Martin. Hamlet Closely Observed. (PR 2807 .D59 1985)
- Gilbert, Allan. The Principles and Practice of Criticism: Othello, The Merry Wives, Hamlet.. [Lectures]. (PR 2829 .G37)
- Hoy, Cyrus. Hamlet: An Autoritative Text. (PR 2807 .A2 1991)
- Knights, L.C. (Lionel Charles) Some Shakespearean Themes and an Approach to Hamlet. PR 2899 .K65 1966
- Lamb, Sidney. Shakespeare's Hamlet. Cliffs Complete. (PR 2807 .A2 L35 2000)
- McCrary, W. Thomas. Hamlet: A Guide to the Play. (PR 2807 .M28 1998)
- Prosser, Eleanor. Hamlet and Revenge. (PR 2807 .P77)
- Shakespeare, William. Hamlet: An Authoritative Text, Intellectual Backgrounds, Extracts from the Sources, Essays in Criticism. (PR 2807 .A2 H68 1991)
- Tillyard, E. M. W. Shakespeare's Problem Plays. (PR 2976 .T57)
- Watts, Cedric. Hamlet. (Twayne's New Critical Introductions to Shakespeare). (PR 2807 .W35 1988)
- West, Rebecca. The Court and the Castle. (PR 45 .W45)
- Wilson, John Dover. What Happens in Hamlet. (PR 2807 .W48 1959)
- Wormhoudt, Arthur. Hamlet's Mouse Trap: A Psychological Study of Drama. (PR 2807 .W65 1970)
E-books
- Bloom, Harold. Hamlet: Major Literary Characters. New York: Chelsea House, 1990. netLibrary
- Corum, Richard. Understanding Hamlet: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. Westport, CT: Praeger, 1998. netLibrary
- Desmet, Christy. Shakespeare and Appropriation. London: Routledge, 1999. ebrary
- Fendt, Gene. Is Hamlet a Religious Drama? An Essay on a Question in Kieregaard. Milwaukee: Marquette UP, 1998. ebrary
- Grady, Hugh. Shakespeare & Modernity: Early Modern to Milennium. London: Routledge, 2000. ebrary
- Hopkins, Lisa. Shakespeare on the Edge: Border Crossing in the Tragedies. Aldershot: Ashgate, 2005. ebrary
- Lamb, Sidney. Shakespeare's Hamlet. Cliffs Complete. New York: Hungry Minds, 2000. ebrary
- McEvoy, Sean. Shakespeare - Basics. London: Routledge, 2000. ebrary
- Mousley, Andy. Renaissance Drama & Contemporary Literary Theory. London: McMillan, 2000. ebrary
- Stockton, Carla Lynn. Cliffs Notes on Shakespeare's Hamlet. Foster City, CA: Cliffs Notes, 2000. netLibrary
- Vickers, Brian, ed. William Shakespeare, Vol.3, 1774-1801: the Critical Heritage
. London: Routledge, 1981. ebrary
- Vickers, Brian, ed. William Shakespeare, Vol. 6, 1733-1752: the Critical Heritage. London: Routledge, 1975. ebrary
DVDs and VHS
- Allen, J. B. Understanding Shakespeare: the Tragedy Series. VHS. Thousand Oaks, CA: Goldhi Home Media, 1993. (PR 2983 .U537) GENERAL COLLECTION
- Mack, Maynard. The Poisoned Kingdom. VHS. Chicago: Encyclopedia Brittanica Films, 1959. (PR 2807 .P63 1959) CIRCULATION DESK
- Mack, Maynard. The Readiness Is All. VHS. Chicago: Encyclopedia Brittanica Films, 1959. (PR 2807 .R42 1959) CIRCULATION DESK
- Mack, Maynard. What Happens in Hamlet. VHS. Chicago: Encyclopedia Brittanica Films, 1959. (PR 2807 .W45 1959) CIRCULATION DESK
Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)
- Literature Resource Center has some of the Shakespearean Criticism (Reference Book) content plus other essays. Conduct an Advanced Search for Hamlet (title), Critical Essay (document type) and All Databases.
- Literature Criticism Online does not include Shakespeare
- Literature Online . Knowledge Notes. (Search: Criticism & Reference->Reference->Hamlet (keyword) and Knowledge Notes (publication)
Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.
- Cousins, A. D. "Shakespeare's Hamlet
1.2.153." The Explicator 62 (2003): 5+ .
- Delaney, Bill L. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 58 (2000): 67
- Hinten, Marvin D. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 62 (2004): 68+.
- Gooch, Michael. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 60 (2002): 186+.
- Kumamoto, Chikako. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 64 (2006):201-4.
- Millward, Peter. "The Fourth Centenary of Hamlet." Shakespeare Newsletter 53.3 (2002): 62+.
- Person, James. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 55 (1997): 70+.
- Shapiro, Daniel. "Sahkespeare's Hamlet." 3.1.88-89." The Explicator 61 (2003): 130+.
- Smith, David. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 59 (2001): 174.
- Sterling, Eric. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 60 (2001): 2+.
- Taylor, Mark. "Shakespeare's Hamlet." The Explicator 65 (2006): 4-7.
Revised and updated by Dianne DeMeyere, Fall, 2008.
|