LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "Othello" by William Shakespeare.

Reference Books

  • Drama for Students, (Ref PN 1701 .D73) Volume(s):
    • 20: 136-165
  • The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare, (Ref PR 2976 .G739 2005) Volume(s):
    • 3: 755-781
  • Masterplots, Revised Second Edition, (Ref PN 44 .M33) Volume(s):
    • 8: 4769-4772
  • Shakespeare for Students (Ref PR 2987 .S47) Volume(s):
    • 1: 411-457
    • 2: 649-687
  • Shakespeare Survey (Ref PR 2888 .C3) Volume(s):
    • 21: entire volume contains essays on Othello
  • Shakespearean Criticism (Ref PR 2965 .S43) In addition to the volumes listed, use the indiex of the latest volume to locate specific characters, themes, etc. in the play. Volume(s):
    • 4: 362-608
    • 11: 179-373
    • 13: 304-342
    • 16: 272-300
    • 19: 253-260, 276-286
    • 22: 12-22, 207-216, 339-364, 378-394
    • 28: 243-248, 330-339
    • 28: 232-242, 280-289 344-351
    • 32: 201-211, 294-302
    • 35: 246-392
    • 37: 269-282
    • 42: 203-216, 278-283
    • 53: 233-358
    • 68: 89-188
    • 79: 123-217
    • 89: 75-151
    • 99: 1-95
    • 108: 234-350

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

Note: References provide author, title, and call number location only.

  • Bradley, A. C. Shakespearean Tragedy: Lectures on Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, MacBeth. (PR 2983 .B7 1991)
  • Daileader, Celia R. Racism, Misogny, and the Othello Myth: Inter-racial Couples from Shakespeare to Spike Lee. (PR 149 .I65 D35 2005)
  • Dominic, Catherine C., ed. Shakespeare's Characters for Students. (Ref PR 2989 .S53 1997
  • McEachern, Claire, ed. The Cambridge Companion to Shakespearean Tregedy. (PR 2983 .C28 2002)
  • Gilbert, Allan H. The Principles and Practice of Criticism: Othello, The Merry Wives, Hamlet. (PR 2829 .G37)
  • Jorgenson, Paul A.William Shakespeare: the Tragedies. (PR 2983 .J67 1983)
  • Kernan, Alvin, ed. The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice. With Updated Critical Essays and a Revised Bibliography. (PR 2829 .A2 K47 1998)
  • Lamb, Sydney, ed. Shakespeare's Othello. Commentary by Kate Maurer. (PR 2829 .A2 L35 2000)
  • Mangan, Michael. A Preface to Shakespeare's Tragedies. (PR 2988 .M335 1991)
  • Nostbakken, Faith. Understanding Othello: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. (PR 2829 .N65 2000)
  • Shakespeare, William. The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice: with new and updated critical essays and a revised bibliography. (PR 2829 .A2 K47 1998)
  • Shaw, George Bernard. Shaw on Shakespeare. (PR 2976 .S35) (pp. 159-163)

E-books

  • Carey, Gary K. and Paul Jorgensen.Othello: notes, including life of Shakespeare, brief synopsis of the play, list of characters, summaries and commentaries. netLibrary
  • Calderwood, James L. The Properties of Othello. netLibrary
  • Lamb, Sidney, ed. Cliffs Complete Shakespeare's Othello. netLibrary
  • Shakespeare, William. Othello. Fully annotated, introduction by Burton Raffel; Essay by Harold Bloom. ebrary

DVDs and VHS

  • Othello. by William Shakespeare. Produced by the British Broadcasting Corp. Prod. Jonathan Miller. VHS. New York: Ambrose Video, [1982]. CIRCULATION DESK
  • Othello. by William Shakespeare. A BBC Televison Production in association with Time-Life Television. Prod. Jonathan Miller. DVD. New York: Ambrose Video, [2000-2001]. (PR 2829 .A2 B752) GENERAL COLLECTION
  • Othello. by William Shakespeare. Dakota Films/Imminent Films Production. Prod. Luc Roeg and David Barron. VHS. [Culver City, CA]: Columbia Tristar, 1998. (PR 2829 .A23 1998) CIRCULATION DESK
  • Othello. by William Shakespeare. Primetime Television. BBC Television. Royal Shakespeare Company. VHS. Princeton: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1995. (PR 2829 .A2 N86 1995). CIRCULATION DESK
  • Shakespeare, a Mirror to Man. Prod. John H. Secondari and Helen Secondari. VHS. New York: Learning Corporation of American, 1970. CIRCULATION DESK
  • Understanding Shakespeare: the Tragedy Series. VHS. Thousand Oaks, CA: Goldhil Home Media, 1993. (PR 29983 .U537 1993) CIRCULATION DESK

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases

  • Literature Resource Center has some of the Shakespearean Criticism (Reference Book) content plus other essays. Conduct an Advanced Search for Othello (title), Critical Essay (document type) and All Databases.
  • Literature Criticism Online does not include Shakespeare
  • Literature Online. A searchable archive of poems, plays, and prose works by key authors together with current and historical criticism. Knowledge Notes. (Search: Criticism & Reference->Reference->Othello (keyword) and Knowledge Notes (publication)
  • Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Academic OneFile, Wilson OmniFile FullText Mega, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • Cassal, Steve. "Shakespeare's Othello." The Explicator 61 (2003): 131+.
  • Cervo, Nathan. "Shakespeare's Othello." The Explicator 53 (1995): 189-190.
  • Doloff, Steven. "The Process of Prejudice: 'Othello' 1.iii 128-145." Notes and Queries Dec., 1994: 491-494.
  • Hassel, Chris, Jr. "Intercession, Detraction, and Just Judgment in Othello." Comparative Drama 35 (2001): 43-68.
  • Hurley, C. Harold. "Shakespeare's Othello." The Explicator 65 (2007): 197-199.
Revised and updated by Charlotte Cohen, Fall, 2008.

LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Last modified: Friday January 30 2009