This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "A Rose for Emily" by William Faulkner.
Reference Books
- Masterplots II Short Story Series (Ref PN 3326 .M27) Volume(s):
- Short Story Criticism (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume(s):
- 1: 147-52, 158, 162, 165, 180-81
- 35: 172
- 42: 73-135 [most essays reproduced in Literature Criticism Online database]
- Short Stories for Students (Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume(s):
Biographical Information (Reference Collection)
- American Writers, Vol. 2 (Ref PS 129 .A55)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists, 1910-1945 (Ref PS 21 .D5, vol. 9)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Humorists, 1800-1950 (Ref PS 21 .D5, vol. 11
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Screenwriters (Ref PS 21 .D5, vol. 44)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945 (Ref PS 21 .D5, vol. 102)
General Collection Books (may be checked out)
- Ferguson, James. Faulkner's Short Fiction. (PS 3511 .A86 Z78323 1991)
- Karl, Frederick R. William Faulkner: American Writeri. (PS 3511 .A86 Z8588 1989)
- O'Connor, William Van. The Tangled Fire of William Faulkner. (PS 3511 .A86 Z93)
- Reed, Joseph W. Faulkner's Narrative. (PS 3511 .A86 Z947)
- Roberts, James L. Faulkner's Short Stories: Notes. [Cliffs Notes] (PS 3511 .A86 Z9616 1997)
E-Books
- Hamblin, Robert, ed. William Faulkner Encyclopedia. ebrary
Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)
Articles
Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.
- Allen, Dennis W. "Horror and Perverse Delight: Faulkner's "A Rose for Emily.'" Modern Fiction Studies 30 (1984): 685-696. [microfiche] [Short Story Criticism, vol. 42, print]
- Burduck, Michael L. "Another View of Faulkner's Narrator in A Rose for Emily. The University of Mississippi Studies in English 8 (1990): 209-11. [Gale Literature Resource Center]
- Curry, Renee R. "Gender and Authorial Limitation in Faulkner's A Rose for Emily." The Mississippi Quarterly 47:3 (Summer, 1994): 391- (12 pp.) [General OneFile][Literature Criticism Online database]
- Davis, William V. "Another Flower for Faulkner's Bouquet: Theme and Structure in 'A Rose for Emily.'" Notes on Mississippi Writers 7.2 (Fall, 1974):34-8. [Gale Literature Resource Center]
- Dilworth, Thomas. "A Romance to Kill for: Homicidal Complicity in Faulkner's 'A Rose for Emily.'" Studies in Short Fiction 36:3 (Summer 1999): 251- (12 pp.) [MasterFILE Premier, Academic Search Premier]
- Garrison, Joseph M., Jr. "Bought Flowers in 'A Rose for Emily.'" Studies in Short Fiction 16.2 (Fall, 1979): 341-44 [Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega: Humanities and Social Sci Retro]
- Heller, Terry. "The Telltale Hair: A Critical Study of Faulkner's 'A Rose for Emily.'" Arizona Quarterly 28(1972): 301-18. [microfiche collection][Literature Criticism Online: Short Story Criticism]]
- Moore, Gene M. "Of the Time and Its Mathematical Progression...." Studies in Short Fiction 29:2 (Spring 1992): 195- (10 pp.) [MasterFILE Premier, Academic Search Premier]
Revised and updated by Shelley Mosley, Fall, 2008.
|