Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "Sonny's Blues by James Baldwin"

Reference Books

Note: Bold numbers refer to volumes, pages follow.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism, (Ref PN 771 .C59) Volume(s):
    • 13: 53-54
    • 17: 33
    • 90: 2-41
    • 127: 106, 108
  • Short Story Criticism, (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume(s):
    • 10: 2-3, 5-7, 9, 12, 14-17, 21-25
    • 33: 115-157 (most essays reproduced in Literature Criticism Online)
    • 98: 160-66, 179, 184, 186, 189-191, 197-203
  • Short Stories for Students (Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume(s):
    • 2: 245-262

Biographical Information (Reference Collection)

  • African American Writers 1 (Ref PS 153 .N5 A344)
  • American Writers, Supplement 1 (Ref PS 129 .A55)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists Since World War II (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 2)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Twentieth Century American Dramatists (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 7)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Afro-American Fiction Writers After 1955 (Ref PS 21 .D5 vol. 33)

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Standley, Fred L. Critical Essays on James Baldwin. (PS 3552 .A45 Z64 1988)
  • Bloom, Harold. James Baldwin. (PS 3552 .A45 Z72 1986)
  • O'Daniel, Therman B. James Baldwin, a Critical Evaluation. (PS 3552 .A45 Z84)
  • Kinnamon, Keneth. James Baldwin: a Collection of Critical Essays. (PS 3552 .A45 Z76)

E-Books

  • King, Lovalerie and Lynn Orilla Scott, eds. James Baldwin and toni Morrison: Comparative, Critical, and Theoretical Essays. ebrary. [Sonny's Blues, pp.103-120]

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases

Articles

Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • Goldman, Suzy Berstein. "'Sonny's Blues': A Message in Music." Negro American Literature Forum 8.3 (1974): 231-33.
  • Ognibene, Elaine R. "Black Literature Revisited: 'Sonny's Blues.'" The English Journal 60.1 (1971): 36-37. [JSTOR]
  • Sherard, Tracey. "Sonny's Bebop: Baldwins's 'Blues Text' as Intracultural Critique.'" Afican American Review 32.4 (1998): 691-705. [JSTOR]
  • Tackach, James. "The Biblical foundation of James Baldwin's 'Sonny's Blues.'" Renascence: 59.2 (2007): 109-118. [Academic Search Premier]
Revised and updated by Mary Macleish, Fall, 2008.

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Tuesday December 11 2012