Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of "The Tell-Tale Heart" by Edgar Allan Poe

Reference Books

  • Masterplots II Short Story series (Ref PN 3326 .M27) Volume: Pages:
    • 7: 4051-53
  • Short Story Criticism (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume: Pages:
    • 1: 384, 393-94, 408
    • 34: 239 -87 (essays reproduced online in Literature Criticism Online database
    • 35: 307-11, 314, 343, 345-46
    • 54: 198, 218
    • 88: 214, 219, 227 252
    • 111: 131, 158, 161, 193, 218-19
  • Short Stories for Students(Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume: Pages:
    • 4: 343-59 (Some essays reproduced in Literature Criticism Resource Center database.
  • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism(Ref PN 761 .N56) Volume: Pages
    • 78: 256-63, 265-70, 272-75, 277-86, 289-90, 294, 296-300.

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Bloom, Harold (ed.). Tales of Poe . (PS 2618. T32 T3 1987)
  • Buranelli, Vincent. Edgar Allan Poe. (PS 2638. B87 1977)
  • Carlson, Eric W. Critical Essays on Edgar Allan Poe. (PS 2638 .C75 1987)
  • Knapp, Bettina L. Edgar Allan Poe. (PS 2631. K58 1984)

E-Books

  • Hayes, Kevin J. (ed.). Cambridge companion to Edgar Allan Poe. (e-brary)
  • Magistrale, Tony. Student companion to Edgar Allan Poe. (e-brary)

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)

  • Literature Resource Center . Includes full-text reproduction of some of the essays cited above in Short Stories for Students and Short Story Criticism.
  • Literature Criticism Online. Reproduction of essays in Short Story Criticism, vol. 34, pp. 239-87.
  • Literature Online Knowledge Notes. Search: Criticism & Reference>Reference>Title>Knowledge Notes.

Articles

Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Academic OneFile, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • Kirkland, James. "The 'Tell-Tale Heart' as Evil Eye Event." Southern Folklore 56 (1999): 135-47. [Wilson OmniFile Full-Text Mega]
  • Kopley, Richard. "Hawthorne's Transplanting and Transforming 'The Tell-Tale Heart." Studies in American Fiction 23 (1995): 231+.
  • Pritchard, H. "Poe's 'The Tell-Tale Heart.'" Explicator Spring (2003): 144-47. [General OneFile, Literature Online, Masterfile Premier, and Wilson OmniFile Full-Text Mega]
Revised and updated by Kris Vanderlee, Fall, 2008.

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Tuesday December 11 2012