Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for library criticism of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Reference Books

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (Ref PN 771 .C59) Volume: Pages
    • 12: 34-42
    • 60: 240-250
    • 194: 81-149
  • Novels for Students (Ref PN 3385 .N68) Volume: Pages
    • 2: 285-307

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Bloom, Harold, ed. Harper Lee's 'To Kill a Mockingbird.' Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 2004. (PS 3562 .E353 T6335 2004)
  • Johnson, Claudia Durst. Understanding 'To Kill a Mockingbird': A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historic Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1994. (PS 3562 .E353 T638 1994)
  • Johnson, Claudia. 'To Kill a Mockingbird': Threatening Boundaries. New York: Twayne, 1994. (PS 3562 .E353 T634 1994)
  • Mancini, Candice. Racism in Harper Lee's 'To Kill a Mockingbird.' Detroit: Greenhaven, 2008. (PS 3562 .E353 T645)
  • Shields, Charles. Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee. New York: Henry Holt, 2006. (PS 3562 .E353 Z94 2006)

E-Books

  • Sova, Dawn. To Kill a Mockingbird. Lincoln: Cliffs Notes, 1984. netLibrary.

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)

  • Literature Resource Center An archive of biographies, Literary Criticism, Articles, Work Overviews and Additional Resources (web sites). (An Author or Title search yields useful results. Note the top tabs.)
  • Literature Online An archive of select literary works, biographies, reference, criticism, and autoritative web sites. (Quick Search: To Kill a Mockingbird. Be sure to check KnowledgeNotes™ Student Guides in the Reference section.)

Articles

Use periodical databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, JSTOR, for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • "Being Atticus Finch: The Professional Role of Empathy in 'To Kill a Mockingbird.'" Harvard Law Review 117 (2004): 1682-1702.
  • Champion, Laurie. "Lee's 'To Kill a Mockingbird.'" The Explicator 61 (2003): 234-245.
  • Crespino, Joseph. "The Strange Career of Atticus Finch." Southern Cultures 6 (2000): 9-.
  • Horvet, Theodore and Grace-Ann Howard. "'Fine Fancy Gentlemen' and 'Yappy Folk': Contending Voices in 'To Kill a Mockingbird.'" Southern Quarterly 40 (2001): 67-78.
  • Shackleford, Dean. "The Female Voice in 'To Kill a Mockingbird: Narrative Strategies in Film and Novel.': The Mississippi Quarterly 50 (1996): 101-113.

DVDs, VHS & STREAMING VIDEO

  • To Kill a Mockingbird. Screenplay by Horton Foote; a Pakula-Mulligan, Brentwood Productions picture. VHS. Universal City, Ca: Universal. (PN 1997 .T6132 1998) GENERAL COLLECTION.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird. Directed by Robert Mulligan; produced by Alan J. Pakula; screenplay by Horton Foote. VHS. Universal City, CA MCA Home Video. (PN 1997 .T613 1987) CIRCULATION DESK
  • Writing and Censorship. Production of TVOntario. Princeton, NJ. 2006. Films for the Humanities & Sciences. Electronic Resource Collection. STREAMING VIDEO.

WEB SOURCES

  • BookRags. Includes literature summaries, biographies, literary criticism, essays, encyclopedias, and eBooks. To Kill a Mockingbird. (http://www.bookrags.com/)
  • enotes. Contemporary Literary Criticism. To Kill a Mockingbird. (http://www.enotes.com/contemporary-literary-criticism/ )
  • Literary History.com. Academic, scholarly, and critical articles of American poets, novelists, playwrights, and essaysists. Harper Lee. (http://www.literaryhistory.com/20thC/Lee.htm)
Revised and updated by Charlotte Cohen, Fall, 2008.

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Tuesday December 11 2012